Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egyptian Lahma Bil Basal (Beef in Rich Onion Sauce) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egyptian Lahma Bil Basal (Beef in Rich Onion Sauce)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 29, 2009

      Very good. I didn't add quite as much water and ended up with a lovely tasty sauce. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2009

      Mmmm very aromatic! I used the crock pot and a very economical cut of beef. It was fabulous. WARNING: 9 year olds who do not like onions won't eat this dish ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Great flavor. Tastes good over rice or on a pita. I will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2011

      DH trimmed out a beef tenderloin for steaks, and left a pile of chunks -- a tad less than 1 pound. I followed the recipe and simmered for about 2 1/2 hours, and it was still juicy, so let it simmer another 30 minutes without the lid, and served with mashed potatoes. Since the cut was more tender than the usual beef cubes, this almost melted in your mouth ! Very tasty -- will save to do again. Thanks for posting !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      Fantastic recipe. I cooked this uncovered for two hours and had no trouble with the consistency. It ended up with about the same consistency of beef stroganoff and everyone raved about it. We served this over wide egg noodles. Thanks for this great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Yum! Added a few big splashes of Worchestershire sauce and 2 tsp. of Aleppo pepper for a little extra kick. Served over wide egg noodles... Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Thanks for posting this incredible recipe! Sooo easy to make and sooo good to eat! I made it exactly as written with the exception of using 3T butter and no oil. I will make this in the crockpot next time to see how it works out. This will be a regular in our household.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      I am always trying new recipes and this is definately a keeper

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Wow. I wasnt sure if I should use large or small onions so I used 2 large and 1 medium. Next time I will use 4 large because it will give me more yummy sauce. My husband took leftovers to work (at a finnish steel mill) He said he had a crowd of men came to smell his lunch. They all wanted the recipe. So easy to make. I didnt have any oil other then olive so I used more butter instead of oil. I also have to uncover this dish the last 30 minutes of cooking to cook out some of the H20. I do that until I get the right consistancy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2008

      This was sooo good! I followed the recipe exactly...cooked it for 3 hours but didn't get the thick sauce I was hoping for until I uncovered it for the last 30 minutes of simmering...will maybe use less water next time to create a richer sauce? Loved it regardless...thanks for posting cooking in cairo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2007

      this was really good! I really liked the flavors. i was hoping for a thicker gravy, so I had to add a little cornstarch to get it to the consistency I wanted, but other than that everything was fabulous!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2007

      Yeah,this is great!My Egyptian Mother-in-law used to cook it and she would always serve it with white rice.Best thing is,now I finally got the recipe and I can cook this by myself! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      OH YEAH! This is so very EASY and so very WONDERFUL! I wasn't sure why it uses chicken bouillion instead of beef but went with the recipe and got EXCELLENT results! I used frozen stewing beef and white onions. I cooked it for 5 hours over low heat on my stovetop...I uncovered it the last hour to condense the sauce...I think I had more liquid than normal because I started with frozen meat. The onions just melted down into a rich sauce and the beef was so tender it just fell apart. It's also VERY FLAVORFUL. I can see how this is very popular and think it should be everywhere! Made for PAC Spring 2007.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2013

      This was very good and very easy. Next time I think I will add a little garlic and some hot sauce as another reviewer mentioned but as is it is a keeper. Served over white rice. The sauce was nice and thick with about 30 minutes of lid off cooking before we ate. Updated: We make this every few months but haven't reviewed it again. This time I used 2 pounds of stewing beef, 6 large (baseball sized - hardball not softball!) onions, 3-4 cloves garlic and about 1 tbsp of trader Joe's Chili Pepper sauce. I also used half chicken and half beef Better Than Bouillon. I think it could have used double or more of the hot sauce as heat was just barely discernible. Browned the meat and wilted the onions before throwing it all into the crockpot for 4 hours. Served over Sally's Mashed Potatoes from Allrecipes. Wonderful, easy cold weather meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2013

      My boyfriend is Egyptian and says he has never heard of this or seen it before - despite all of that it was very good! I added an extra onion (finely diced) to create more sauce and taste. The amount of water added initially was perfect - I did use a little over a pound of meat (beef stew meat) - 1.25 lbs - I also had to add a large amount of salt to flavor it. I also cooked it for about 3 hours (not that it needed it - we were just not ready to eat yet). Served w/ basmati rice and arabic bread. It was very good and I will do this again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2012

      Very yummy and easy dish! I was surprised by the little bit of sweetness that this had. Served over Health Nut Brown Rice (http://www.food.com/recipe/health-nut-brown-rice-90059) for a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      I should have reviewed this years ago! This dish is amazing! I use a cheap cut of beef roast and just keep simmering until it is fall-apart tender (about 2-3 hours). The onions turn into the most delicious sauce/gravy. We prefer to eat it by scooping it up with toasted pitas. I usually double the recipe because everyone loves it so much, especially my Egyptian husband. He told me he never ate anything this delicious when he lived in Egypt! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      This is good, the stewing beef becomes all soft and flaky. We had ours over buttered rice noodles to be gluten free. I added some peeled, diced, yellow potato near the end of cooking time to help the look of the final dish which I garnished with chopped cilantro. I used home-made chicken stock to be free of corn, gluten, etc. I used sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for WELCOME TO EGYPT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egyptian Lahma Bil Basal (Beef in Rich Onion Sauce)

    Serving Size: 1 (236 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 276.3
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    47%
    Total Fat 14.7 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 88.1 mg
    29%
    Sodium 623.3 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 26.2 g
    52%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites