106 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Brings back great memories for me, as well. And just because it's not gourmet doesn't mean it doesn't deserve 5 stars. Tastes great and makes you (or me, at least) smile!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Angella25 August 28, 2006

We called them Eggs in the Hole. My mom used to serve them to us when we were little. They are kid friendly/easy to make, but would I give them a 5 star....no! (the ony reason of the high rating is probably because of memories involved)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl August 22, 2006

This is a fun recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGrunt August 21, 2006

I've been making these for years, too, and had not realized they had a name! In any event, it's a fun breakfast, for a change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte August 19, 2006

We call this a "frog (or toad) in the hole"... and the kids loved 'em. I butter the bread before cutting the hole out w/ a cookie cutter... using a plate rather than a cutting board. Looking forward to making them for my grandchildren!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna August 19, 2006

I LOVE this recipe and have been making it for years!! When my son was little, we got him to eat eggs by calling it "Biddies on a Raft." Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineaux August 18, 2006

we call them toads in a hole too??? i like to sprinkle crumbled, crisp bacon over the egg on the last side toasted. and boy do kids like toads. i forgot all about these and have grandchildren who haven't had any. chef 249610

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swartzakitty July 28, 2006

This recipe brings back memories. My mom made these all the time for me, but she called them Toad in the Hole. Don't ask me why.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely July 26, 2006

Eggs in a whole, wonderful and very good!!! It is one of my favorite comfort foods, since my mom used to cook it for us all the time. Cxstitcher

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cxstitcher July 18, 2006

Ive had this ever sense i can remember but we always called it eggs in a hole

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trulyabaker March 30, 2006
Eggs with Hats on Top