Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggs with Hats on Top Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggs with Hats on Top

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2005

      We just call this "Egg in the hole". I also fry it in butter for a richer taste. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2005

      My kids love these (I do, too)! My mom always called them "Birds Nests" and I know some people call them "Egg in a Window". If I have butter, I use that instead of oil. Depending on the pan, sometimes I need to add a little extra butter in the hole before I drop the eggs in, so they won't stick when I go to flip them. I also fry the cut-out circles for the kids to use to "Dip in".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2005

      So Easy, So Quick, So Delicious......Equals So Perfect. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      This was always something neat/special for breakfast when my boys were small. They think that I made this recipe up. They would always ask me to make it for their friends. It's amazing what simple things make your kids think you're special and this was one of those things for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2005

      I love this sandwhich and have been making it for twenty years. It always makes someone who has never had one smile. I was taught how to make this by my dear late husband when we were dating. He called them "Gas House" eggs and I think of him whenever I make these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      Hey! This is what my daughter, Cheyenne, makes for me for Mother's Day and my birthday every year! She's only 13, and she does such an awesome job of making this...VERY kid friendly...TRIVIA QUESTION: In the movie, "Moonstruck" with Cher...Her Mom (Olivia Dukakis) made this for Loretta (Cher) one morning...What was the red stuff she cooked with it? Was it roasted red peppers???

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      THANK YOU for such a wonderful recipe. It is simple, tastes great, and is fun to eat. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2005

      I love egg sandwiches, so decided to try this as a variation for breakfast this morning. After flipping the bread I put cheese around the "toad" and melted it, then garnished with some salsa. Fun, yummy, creative breakfast idea! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2005

      I love these, my grandma called them "hinky dinkies"...I have heard them called so many different things. So easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2005

      I hadn't thought of these in years, but when I read your recipe, I had to have one for breakfast! Quick, easy and simple... and it brought back fond memories. I topped mine with a little shredded cheddar cheese. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2005

      Fun food my daughter makes for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      My wife sometimes makes me one of these to cheer me and wake me up on Sunday mornings. I had never had Egg in a Hole before we were married. It is fun and delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      When my children were little, they refused to eat anything unless it had a "name". I had heard of "Toad in the Hole", but didn't really know what it was, so this recipe became our "Toad in the Hole". I, now make this for my grandchildren (and once in a while for me).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      What a nostalgic recipe! When tried a couple of times before, mine didn't turn out. I think your tip of covering the pan briefly and using medium-high heat did the trick for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      We love these and have been making them for 15 years. We call them ship eggs because on a boat this is the best way to make fried eggs w/out tearing the yoke. I really liked Kuuipo Reed's suggestion of using cookie cutters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      This recipe has been with my family for I don't know how long! We call it "Egg-in-the-hole" I don't like butter, so I cook it without and I woks just as well with a little Pam!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      I love this! I used to make this as a kid...still make them occasionally. For a fun twist for the kids (or kids at heart), cut the bread with cookie cutters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2004

      This is one of my favorite way to eat eggs! I love when kids stay over so that I can wow them with my cool eggs! My mom made them for us when we were little and we would beg her to make them every morning! She called them "Eggs In a Raft With a Life Preserver." I have also heard them called "Eggs in a Nest." We also made the hole much smaller (about the size of the yolk) and served them with the white side down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2004

      These are SO GOOD!!! We have been making them for a while because my husband's mother used to make them for him when he was young - but we call them "Eggs in the hole". My kids ask for them quite often - my oldest son pours pancake syrup on his. Very good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2004

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggs with Hats on Top

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.8
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    64%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 216.5 mg
    72%
    Sodium 300.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites