106 Reviews

Thanks for a tasty, easy recipe! I used our favorite wheat bread and did not cover the skillet... we like the yolks a little moist.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews November 11, 2007

Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FriskyKitty November 02, 2007

We called this brunch special a "Birds Nest" at our restaurant, it was ALWAYS a huge hit. If no one has ever had it, seen it, or heard about it, it's pretty impressive, especially for the simplicity of it. At home I use Hellmann's Mayo., spread onto the bread (after cutting it out with the glass) instead of the butter in the pan. Served with thick cut bacon, and fresh garden tomato's, it's a great thing. Thanks for sharing Sheri-BDB!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Chad C. Davis October 13, 2007

A friend of mine always raves about this and now I know why!!!Too easy and even great with syrup. I am going to try it next with just the egg white to make it a little better for me, plus the kiddos were not so crazy about the egg yolk. Thanks..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dancingbride October 02, 2007

i really like this very much i learned this in girl scouts we called it frog in a hole and my hubby calls it eggs in a basket but what ever you call them it is good eats thank for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycara August 17, 2007

I spent part of my childhood in England, where these were called Eggs in the Hole. I love them! So little trouble to make and so good to eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juniperwoman August 16, 2007

Wow, I have been having these since I was a child and have always loved them...only difference is the name Frog On a Lily Pad :). I am giving this five stars and hope it shows...I am a new member and for some reason my stars aren't showing up. Great recipe for anyone especially great with kids.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Prissy in Central Ohio August 15, 2007

My husband had these as a kid and introduced me to them. So yummy and cute too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 January 18, 2007

These are great! Very easy to make. I used to have these as a kid. Sometimes I make the bread like french toast and add the scrambled egg in the middle. Topped with syrup or eaten plain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chinda December 21, 2006

This is buttery, delicious and so quick and easy. I used whole-wheat bread and seasoned the eggs with salt and pepper. Using cookie cutters to make the whole different shapes would be cute for kids. Thank you, Sheri. I think this will become a regular breakfast for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
forthefunofit December 16, 2006
Eggs with Hats on Top