Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggs with Hats on Top Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggs with Hats on Top

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2006

      These are great my DH introduced me and our daughter to these..We call then eggs in a basket.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      Love these! Always a special breakfast treat at my house. The best part is the little, toasty "hat".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      He he... I make these for my son all the time. We call them "toad in the holes" :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2006

      This is a wonderful recipe I remember my mother making for me as a child - she called them popeye's. As an adult I still make them once in a while for my husband and I - only a slightly more grown up version, using hearty whole wheat bread and some herbs & seasonings. Lovely to see this recipe posted!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2006

      These were appealing and tasty. Next time though I will use a denser bread, used a soft white and the butter from the top melted down through the bottom, so I didn't achieved browning on the bottom before flipping. A 2-3/4" biscuit cutter was a perfect size and I'm using the 'hole' to use a crustless sandwich for my DS's lunchbox. For my DH's I topped his w/american cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      I was just thinking of making these this morning after I dropped a basket of eggs, cracking three of them. When I was a child we were never scolded by my father for accidentally breaking the occasional one while gathering eggs. Instead, he'd make "egg-in-the-hole" for us. So guess what I had for breakfast? A very tasty trip down memory lane, Dee.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2006

      Easy, flavorful, and a kid pleaser. A triple play!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I learned to make these in High School. Which I don't mind saying was a FEW years ago. We called them Eggs in a Nest. I had forgot about them. Thanks for reminding me I think I will make them for my kids soon!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2006

      DH makes these all the time. His dad taught him the trick. FIL calls these Shirley Palmer Eggs after his high school sweetheart's mother. These eggs are a tradition for my siblings whenever DH is around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2006

      One of my favorite ways to eat eggs & toast, with a side of crispy bacon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Cute recipe. My husband loved them so much he made them for me this weekend. He used my heart cookie cutter instead of the glass. It gave the hats a very sweet and romantic breakfast in bed look.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      Thank you for the quick-n-easy recipe. I only had one egg, that is why I added the ham. It really hit the spot this morning!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2006

      Thanks for this fun recipe. It was nostalgic for my husband, his father used to make this and called it a "one-eyed sandwich." DH got a kick out of the "hat" part of this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2006

      Made this for my wife this morning and she is still telling me how great and different it was. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      I combined this with French Toast (French Toast...I'm not a fan of French Toast but this one is a must try!) and it was excellent. I definately will be making this again...thanks for the post!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      I made this morning for my 2 1/2 year old granddaughter who is not big on breakfast. I dipped the bread for french toast. Making some for grandpa otherwise I wouldn't do it special. Then at the end before I put the top hat I put some cheese on the egg. She gobbled it up. That's says alot. My little one gave it 5 stars and so do I for being cute, fun, tasty and effective.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2005

      I just finished making this and it was so easy and fast. It made me feel as though I was making breakfast for my family, rather than just pouring milk over cereal. Delicious and wonderful - thanks, Sheri!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2005

    • on October 22, 2005

      Growing up I knew this as a "One-Eyed Egyptian". We also use butter not oil. I've found if you put the bread in the skillet and brown it, then flip it over and then add the egg, the bread is toasty on both sides. My daughter always toasts her bread in the toaster before making these. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2005

      I've always known these as "eggs in the basket" and my mom made these a lot while I was grwoing up. She would always fry the little cut-out also to cover the eggs with (so it's covered in a basket) and then smothered it in cheese, green peppers and onions. Thanks for reminding me about this simple dish and giving me an excuse to make it again. :D I made it the way my mother always did and the kids loved it. Zaar Wrold Tour 05

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggs with Hats on Top

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.8
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    64%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 216.5 mg
    72%
    Sodium 300.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes