Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggs with Hats on Top Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggs with Hats on Top

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2006

      I've been making these for a long time too. I think we call them ducks or frogs on a pond. You throw a slice of cheese on top for a "Hat" too. I've used American and thin slices of brie but there are many that would be great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      I was so excited to see this! I'd always made this back in high school. Topped with fresh cracked pepper, this is so easy and simple, yet tastes better than regular toast & fried eggs. And it is cute, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

    • on October 13, 2006

      This was super easy for me! I am usually not that great at flipping fried eggs, but this simplified it! I typically have toast with my eggs anyways, so why not mix it. Great recipe, will use again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      Very good, very easy. I used potato bread for mine. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      I have had this when I was younger except my moms version was baked in the oven. This version was quick and simple! I sprinkled the final product with adobo and enjoyed my breakfast:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      I love to read all of the names people call this recipe! Makes me wonder who was the first to come up with it and what the original was. This is one breakfast my dad would make us as kids. He called it "toad in the hole" and I will soon be making my daughter's first of many.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2006

      I made this egg dish since it had a little different cooking method than the one I usually make. It was good . My husband loved the butter but next time I will add a little less butter to mine. Thanks sweetiebarbara for a new way to cook this dish. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2006

      Good grief these are good ! And so simple and fast to make. Thanks for a new breakfast idea !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      it been a family favorite for years. esspecially on bbq..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Brings back great memories for me, as well. And just because it's not gourmet doesn't mean it doesn't deserve 5 stars. Tastes great and makes you (or me, at least) smile!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2006

      We called them Eggs in the Hole. My mom used to serve them to us when we were little. They are kid friendly/easy to make, but would I give them a 5 star....no! (the ony reason of the high rating is probably because of memories involved)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      This is a fun recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      I've been making these for years, too, and had not realized they had a name! In any event, it's a fun breakfast, for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      We call this a "frog (or toad) in the hole"... and the kids loved 'em. I butter the bread before cutting the hole out w/ a cookie cutter... using a plate rather than a cutting board. Looking forward to making them for my grandchildren!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2006

      I LOVE this recipe and have been making it for years!! When my son was little, we got him to eat eggs by calling it "Biddies on a Raft." Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2006

      we call them toads in a hole too??? i like to sprinkle crumbled, crisp bacon over the egg on the last side toasted. and boy do kids like toads. i forgot all about these and have grandchildren who haven't had any. chef 249610

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      This recipe brings back memories. My mom made these all the time for me, but she called them Toad in the Hole. Don't ask me why.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      Eggs in a whole, wonderful and very good!!! It is one of my favorite comfort foods, since my mom used to cook it for us all the time. Cxstitcher

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      Ive had this ever sense i can remember but we always called it eggs in a hole

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggs with Hats on Top

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 239.8
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    64%
    Total Fat 17.1 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 9.0 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 216.5 mg
    72%
    Sodium 300.1 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 8.3 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes