Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggs & Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggs & Rice

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2007

      I enjoyed this as a child but as Silver Surfer 3001 had described it. Hot buttered rice with an over easy egg. Instead of the Ketchup though, I grew up using Soy sauce....shoyu. Being Japanese, soy sauce was a stand in for salt, in my house, when eating eggs. I always have to bring a little package of it when I go out for breakfast and "grrrr" if I forget.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2013

      I hate wasting food, any food, even rice. This was a great way to use it up. Quick, easy, and tasty. I used 1 cup of rice, half a T. of butter and two eggs and it was just the right amount for a good sized serving for me. I topped it off with chopped tomato and onion. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Outstanding! Simple and satisfying, but with some style. The first couple times I made this I stayed with the recipe, just varying the proportions of rice to eggs a little. Six eggs to a cup works for me, but I love omelets, and some people would say my version becomes almost a "rice omelet." Fine with me! You might want to scatter some fresh parsley over it. Make sure all the individual rice kernels are well-coated with hot butter in the pan. (Rockamama's right -- the hot rice "cooks" the eggs.) This morning I added a rounded teaspoon of minced black truffles in oil to the eggs before adding them to the rice. That was a Very Good Idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      I'm in love with this recipe!!!! I love things that are simple and easy to make but taste great!! I added some red chili powder since I love spicy food, onion powder and garlic salt as my spices. I would have added some real sautéed onions but the onion powder sufficed. And my honey used the suggestion of soy sauce instead of salt. I also added pieces of fresh bacon on top to eat with every bite. Delicious!!! This is my new got to recipe for breakfast. A little goes a LONG LONG LONG way and fills you up which is even better. Thanks for this recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      Simple and tasty, great use of left over rice. I added homemade salsa and some shredded cheddar chees and it was a winner - lends itself easily to adaptions for personal preferences.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2013

      I had some leftover rice to use up, so I decided to try this. I also baked a ham yesterday, so I threw some of that in there. Topped with a little bit of cheese. I only used two eggs mixed with some black pepper. Topped with little drops of sirracha. Pretty good! The scramble was good, but next time, I am gonna try over easy. I can see how this is used as a filler. Ended up making a lot.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      Made for DH for breakfasts. Can't beat this on a tight budget! He loves it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      My Japanese mother would serve us hot rice mixed with a raw egg for breakfast. The scrambled egg "cooks" in the hot rice. She would sprinkle a little soy sauce over each serving. I am 60 years old, and to this day, this dish is still my "go-to" comfort food! My adult children and grandchildren love this dish, too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      An excellent recipe with simple steps.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2014

      I thought this was just okay. It was very bland. I did not like the texture of the rice with the eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2012

      There were times we got Eggs & Rice for breakfast when our Mother would forget to buy the grits. The eggs were runny rather than scrambled.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I used wild rice and added a clove of garlic and fresh parsley it came out really good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2011

      This is a lifesaver! Growing up Jewish my comfort food was matzoh brei, which is dry crackers fried in eggs. Recently I've been searching for a substitute because matzoh is very expensive, doesn't taste like it used to (I tried several brands), and for political reasons. I just tried this recipe and it works for me. I made it plain, but in the future I'll try the various suggestions people have posted. Thank you for saving my comfort food yens, my wallet, and my conscience. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2011

      I had never heard of anyone doing this until my stepdad made it for us all one morning when I was young, using leftover white rice from our Chinese takeout the night before. I was like, "Well, that's just totally weird and gross." Haha. It's actually really good! The way I make it is just whisk the eggs (as if to scramble them), spray a pan with cooking spray, and pour the eggs in. Then I pour the rice over it right away, and I just scramble it all together at once. I don't put anything on it but soy sauce. It's basically like fried rice with a ton of egg. Good breakfast. Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      WOW was THIS little recipe a surprise!!! It was GOOD! I just added Parmesan cheese and voila! YUMMY! Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      This is a nice, tasty dish that you can add all kinds of things to. I like mushrooms, green onions, and soy sauce. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2009

      Made for Pick-A-Chef Spring 2009. First time I had ever heard of eggs and rice was while watching Justin Wilson's TV cooking show years and years ago. I always make extra rice to use in this way for breakfast and some for fried rice for dinner. I scrambled my eggs in per your recipe with some Frank's hot sauce on top. This is a good, simple way to dress up your scrambled eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      This was really good! I made this for our weekly office breakfast. It was my turn to bring breakfast and I wanted to bring something different. I did add sauteed chopped green bell pwpper and some shredded cheddar cheese, but I'm sure it would have been just as good as originally written. Thanks for posting, I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This is a great comfort food! Growing up without a lot of money, the rice was used as an extender for many many many things in our house. Our family twist on the recipe is that rather than scrambling eggs into the rice, we would simply cook regular steamed rice, and then fry the eggs to a perfect over medium (over easy could work for this dish as well - even for the squeamish). Place the fried egg(s) atop the rice, and chop them up and mix thoroughly, so that the yolk flows through the rice, and you'll think you've died and gone to heaven. If you feel really daring, and want to experience it the way we did as I was growing up, you could add a dash of ketchup to the dish as well.... Great recipe! Glad to know I'm not the only one in this great big old world with "funny" tastes in confort food...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      This is realey great I did like sugarpea and tryed a lot of different things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggs & Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 158.1
     
    Calories from Fat 116
    73%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.9 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 294.2 mg
    98%
    Sodium 157.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.5 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes