Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggs in Purgatory Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggs in Purgatory

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on January 01, 2004

      Great recipe! Sometimes I add some olives and capers to the tomato puree, just for a change of pace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      Made these in individual servings and finished the last step in the oven (in those small oven proof ceramic dishes). FANTASTIC. It was easier to control how each person wished to have their eggs that way. LOVE LOVE LOVE this recipe. Served with various breads, Very easy really. Can be prepared all the way till putting the eggs in the night before.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      This was easy and tastes fantastic! I luv tomatoes anyway I can have them...and this recipe really hit the spot. DH even enjoyed it and he's not crazy about tomatoes like I am. Very versatile, you can do just about anything with this and not go wrong. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      Easy and delicious eggs! I used basil fresh from the garden. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Simple and delicious. Looking fwd to make it again! thanks for sharing! I love the name!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      I used this recipe for eggs in purgatory and modified it slightly for my own taste. I love the way the egg looks at the edges with the simmering tomato sauce.. haha the edges look like flames and the bubbling tomato looks like ,,, purgatory. I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Awesome! Used diced tomatos, oh and set them on a bed of creamy grits. Like I said, awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Very good! Served these over slices of whole-grain bread. The eggs took much longer to cook than the recipe specifies, so not sure what the difference was (heat, amount of tomato puree)? But they were fantastic tasting anyway, Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

    • on June 29, 2007

      I have had this recipe simply made with eggs using canned tomatoes and have them over toast.... Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2006

      A super easy shortcut for this recipe is to substitute your favorite prepared pasta sauce, either way this is a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2006

      Basically, eggs poached in a tomato/basil sauce instead of water. What a wonderful idea! Tried it - Loved it! Will definitely be doing this on a regular basis! If you like ketchup on your eggs, you're gonna LOVE this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      These tasted great, my basil is a little sick (too cold outside) so I used about 1 tsp dried basil and the same of dried oregano. I also chopped up a little green capsicum and put it in with the garlic (no oil, just a spray of spray oil), and used 1 can of crushed Italian tomatoes with 1/2 can water. This made a lovely sauce. There was only 2 of us, so we made only 3 eggs; I think maybe I didn't have enough sauce in the pan as when I poured the eggs in, they sort of spread all over the top of the sauce and didn't make nice 'poached' shapes. Three minutes was also a little long to cook them. But I'm sure next time I make them they will be better. Oh, and like Jim I added green olives and capers and that made it super tasty! I served them as a light dinner on toasted Turkish bread rubbed with a clove of garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      Been making this for years, traditional Italian home cooking. I sometimes use leftover sauce (which is where the idea probably came from)or I'll make more than I need for a sitting. I usually serve this for dinner with good crusty Italian bread to soak up the gravy. I like the tomatoes a little chunky so I don't use pureed. I am picky about my tomatoes and the brand I like I can only get whole peeled. Nice with a side of escarole. We also like it with stmd asparagus. I sometime add thick slices of mozzarella cheese to the sauce and cook until they just start to melt. Oh, this is also good on bruschetta. Serve it on top of a grilled steak for a real treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2006

      Loved this. Works great in ramekins. Wonderful with toasted Italian bread. Thanks B.B.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2006

      Greet recipe. My tomato anything loving wife adores it. My 7 year old son dips his bread till there is no more bread to dip. Have made it for guests and the hardest part was to get them to think past the american breakfast of eggs, bacon, hash browns and toast. Needless to say they went home with the recipe. Good Stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2005

      Another great recipe! My grandfather used to make this for us when we were young. yes it is the same cook book writer, Michele Scicolone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      I found this in my copy of 1000 Italian Recipes, which I believe was written by the same person as the Sopranos cookbook, and am almost certain they're identical recipes. This is wonderful stuff, so easy to make - - a great, fast meal. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggs in Purgatory

    Serving Size: 1 (234 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.8
     
    Calories from Fat 152
    59%
    Total Fat 16.8 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 4.3 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 373.1 mg
    124%
    Sodium 196.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites