58 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made this for dinner, topped with your easy hollandaise sauce. I let it soak overnight. If I make it again, I won't let it soak as long or I will toast the muffins before assembling. They were a little soggy. A good eggs benedict alternative, but we'll probably stick to the real thing.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom April 03, 2012

This was a great make ahead breakfast and a change of pace from other breakfast casseroles. I didn't make the hollanaise sauce but used Knorr packaged mix for convenience. If you use the mix, add 1-2 teaspoons of lemon juice.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GramCracker April 02, 2012

Very easy and good. I halved this recipe because there was only my hubby and myself. I had enough for a second breakfast. I made it in the morning so it didn't soak over night and it only took 40 minutes total to bake. I made my sauce from a envelope mix. I woll be making this again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Sherry from Iowa

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherertz February 04, 2012

This was a hit, but I would make some changes to it. I used Knorr's hollandaise sauce and it was really easy. I would add salt, pepper, and a dash of maybe cayenne next time. I did not add cheese as others did. I toasted the muffins and they were just a tiny bit soft, so I would imagine had I not done that they would be really soggy. I made this and french toast casserole Christmas morning and the eggs benny was definitely the biggest hit!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reggiesmommy December 28, 2011

This was very good; however in no way reminded me of Eggs Benedict.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annheim November 25, 2011

This is one of three casseroles I used for our Christmas Brunch this past year and everyone seemed to love it. I used electric food warmers to keep casseroles warm and an electric candle warmer with a tall creamer to keep the Hollandaise Sauce warm. This will definitely be on our next Chistmas Brunch.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sandy1045 October 01, 2011

I made this recipe for Sunday School at church, and it was a big hit! I tried another user's version of Hollandaise, and that is an experience I won't try again... Next time I'll just use a pre-made mix, like the Knorr package. But this base casserole is excellent, even without the sauce! In fact, if you're a fan of southwestern flavors, loading up with salsa, jalapenos, etc would be a really yummy touch!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allysonenglert January 10, 2013

My husband LOVED this recipe. It's definately a do again. I admit I prefer poached eggs on my bennys but this is a VERY good alternative and quite easy to do. Next time I may experiment and try separating the eggs and adding the unbroken yolks on top in the last minute or so of cooking. Thanks so very much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hunkle December 28, 2012

Easy to make and tastes very good. I used Knorr dry packets for the Hollandaise sauce - 4 packets total so there was extra on hand. Got a very good response at pitch-in : ) Directions are not that clear in terms of when to add the sauce (but it makes sense you just pour on top at the end). I would make this a staple dish to bring to a breakfast - it's a unique choice and nice break from the usual sausage and egg dish.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cclark1970 December 21, 2012

Made this for Easter brunch and we all enjoyed it! I toasted the English muffins first but otherwise followed the directions exactly. It turned out a little dry, but that may have been because my oven runs hot. I'll definately make this again, but I'll reduce the oven temp a little!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hkcurry April 27, 2011
Eggs Benedict Casserole