15 Reviews

Well, it's not bad if you like lemon. I triple checked the amount of lemon it said to add because I thought it sounded like a lot, but as they always say when trying a new recipe, follow it exactly the first time. I went with this recipe just based on the star rating, but I should have read the reviews so I would have known to reduce the lemon juice amount. I give this recipe two stars instead of one because it was still edible, even with the overwhelming lemon flavor. This should come with a warning. Eggs Benedict is my husband's favorite breakfast dish and he couldn't even finish this. Disappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
holland3626 September 22, 2013

delicious!! I made these for my husband for fathers day, and it was delicious! It is my first time poaching eggs in a pan of water (turned out pretty good!) and my first go at hollandaise sauce....it also was delicious! I did reduce the lemon juice to 1/2TBSP (as mentioned by other reviewers) and it was perfect! Thanks for this yummy recipe! I think we will have it again, although it was VERY rich for us as we don't usually eat this sort of thing. Maybe once a year or so. :-) But it was DELICIOUS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sconehead June 16, 2013

The recipe was very good, but I do have to agree that the lemon is very overpowering... I would cut the amount in half at the least.. When making this.. I recommend tasting it as you add the lemon so you have it to your liking.. I know some people prefer a heavy lemon flavor.. I do not though :( Overall though the consistency of the sauce was perfect.. I will be making this again but next time cutting back on the lemon..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laouli October 15, 2011

This is our first time trying eggs benedict, and first time trying hollandaise sauce. I'm giving it a 3 star, only because we were thrown back by how lemony it was. I messed up the first batch by placing the sauce on heat, and it curdled. But the second batch came out like it should. If it didn't have such a strong lemon taste, it would be something we would make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mmsanchez09 September 23, 2010

This is really a scrumptious recipe. I made this for my mother since it is her favorite breakfast dish of all time. I was going solo on this one so I cheated and did my poached eggs in the microwave. I used the Microwave Poached Eggs #118761. I found that by cooking them only 50 sec. it cooked them to our satisfaction. The sauce was so simple. I eyeballed the lemon juice but only used maybe 1/2-1 tablespoons (we like our sauce a little runnier). Thank you for posting a fab recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Samantha the Chefette January 10, 2010

This is the best!!! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathyMattsson December 05, 2009

This was great. I did not measure my lemon juice and over did it a bit. Next time I will add it a little bit at a time till I like it. I will also be trying it over scrabled eggs next time as i tried to poach the eggs in boiling water and it was very hard. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wobin November 22, 2009

This is some good eating. It was enjoyed by all. We plan to make it again. We only used the sauce part of this recipe. My DW gave it two thumbs up. One of our crew had it scrambled rather than poached eggs. We increased the amount of egg yolk, butter and lemon juice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorldFamousBigB January 01, 2009

This is a great recipe! Easier than it looks. When I'm running short on time, I poach the eggs in the microwave (recipezaar Microwave Poached Eggs). Simple and delicious recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dramacydal July 10, 2008

This was pretty good but I did not like the sauce. Thanks for the recipe. ~Chris~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChrisM July 05, 2008
Eggs Benedict