11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I think this recipe is a bit misleading. You hardly notice the eggplant at all. It's more like a stuffing with vegetables. I added a little extra eggplant, but it was still masked by the stuffing. I always use Specialty Soup Substitutes - Cream for the cream soups, so I used the mushroom version. This would be great to disguise eggplant for those who don't care for it. Thanx for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* November 19, 2014

This was AWESOME. Even the leftovers were good. I only used a 2 oz. jar of pimientos and that was plenty. I also waited to put the cheese on until 30 minutes into the baking time. Next time I might try mixing 1/2 of the cheese into the casserole and putting the other 1/2 on top.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheryl S. August 30, 2008

I definitely agree with "Parsley" that this is eggplant stuffing and you can not taste the eggplant. It did not say whether or not you were supposed to peel the eggplant or not, so, I didnt . Big mistake. The eggplant had tough to chew edges. I didn't have any cheese so I didn't put it in. I'm glad that I didn't use the cheese because it would have been a waste. I thought that it would make a good main course, what a waste. <br/>I don't understand how everyone can give this a good rating. Are people afraid to post something bad when it is true?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CynthiaA123 November 21, 2014

Delicious recipe using fresh eggplant from my garden. I use Broccoli Cheese soup instead of mushroom and add half a can of milk instead of the pimentos. I also use home made croutons from left over bread instead of the stuffing mix. Absolutely yummy, and my husband often asks me to make it. I sometimes let it cool, cut it into 6 pieces, freeze individually and take to work for a quick and easy lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loraineangel December 11, 2010

I have been looking for an eggplant recipe similar to the one I ate at a cafeteria years ago, much as you stated. This is a GREAT recipe - I love cheese, but I would probably cut the cheese in half, or mix it in as a previous review suggested. Overall - great taste and although the chopping can be a little time consuming, very easy to make! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troys.toy January 12, 2010

Interesting casserole, easy to make, & somewhat tasty, but I have mixed feelings as to how much I really liked this. I think it is a great recipe for when you are loaded with eggplant and want something alittle different to make. Next summer, I plan to try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joani R. October 17, 2009

Excellent. Very easy to put together, it even tastes good cold. I had no pimientos so I used 1/4 cup extra red bell pepper. I served this with roast chicken, mashed potatoes & gravy and baked butternut squash.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
herbsnflowers September 29, 2009

I agree! This was simply an outstanding dish and very easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wlamla August 14, 2009

Many thanks Kerriedoll for a wonderful recipe! A 5 star recipe.M Sutphen

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m sutphen February 13, 2008

gonna give it a try tonight . . .then give my review. However, the recipe sounds like it's a winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ChezGery October 16, 2007
Eggplant Casserole