Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant Casserole

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 01, 2010

      This was delicious. I made it for a family get together and most everyone really enjoyed it. (those that like vegetables!!) It went really well with grilled pork loin and chicken. I didn't use the cloves, though. I liked the flavor without them. I, too, sprinkled parmesan on top and left off the bread crumbs. I definitely will make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      I can't believe how wonderful this casserole is! Since I had a bunch of veg in my fridge that would go bad if I didn't do something with it, I scoured for a decent recipe. I hit on this one and made only a couple of substitutions. I only had red bell pepper (not green) and used Italian seasoning and allspice rather than the herbs and cloves. There is a LOT of prep work (which I find rather Zen) . But, as I was layering, I wondered how the casserole would taste with a bit of Chevre cheese dotted on a layer of the eggplant. OMG... did this EVER work out great!!! I will rave about this dish forever, I think. :) Thank you SO much, Leslie! Fantastic meal! (Attaching a photo of my version.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      This was great! I sort of incorporated this recipe with #100796 for Eggplant Parmesan Lasagna, I'll publish soon! I used a mandolin slicer (btw...a must have in the kitchen!) to cut the eggplant into thick julienne slices. I don't like big chunks of eggplant and instead of cloves I used graded nutmeg, personal preference. I skipped the bread crumbs and added no boil lasagna noodles. I sauteed the veggies and herbs first, layered everything and cooked it in my huge slow cooker. I added some cooked ground meat for DH so it wasn't totally veggie...he said it didn't need it! This was Delicious!! I love how the Parmesan cheese turned out texture wise like Ricotta cheese from #100796...awesome! Thanks for sharing this...I now have a wonderful way to eat eggplant without frying it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Very tasty casserole and the aroma while it is baking is wonderful. I got it ready in the AM and popped it in the oven an hour before dinner. I did not put buttered crumbs on top but did sprinkled a small amount of Parmesan cheese. Enjoyed by all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      This is such a flavorful dish, has sort of a mediterranean taste. I was concerned at first because the eggplant cooks down considerably, but the recipe calls for just right amount of everything. I used about 3 tablespoons Smart Balance instead of butter. There are several steps, but I did most of the prep while other things were cooking. Served with yogurt- marinated boneless chicken thighs and fresh baked bread to soak up all the broth made by the veggies. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful! I added cubed tofu and it soaked up the flavours perfectly. Thank you -- I will be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      I call this "Ratatouille", and I have what I thought was the best Ratatouille recipe on the planet. This is almost exactly like my recipe, with the exception that it calls for cloves and breadcrumbs on top. At any rate, it was delicious. It took some time to chop vegies, so I would suggest maybe doing that the nite before. I didn't have a saute pan large enough for all these vegies, so I used the pan that I cook spaghetti in, which is a huge kettle. This is an absolute winner. I'm eating and eating right now. Next helping, I'll grate a little parmesan on top and see how that is. Thanks, Leslie, for my new favorite way to fix eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2007

      Sensational!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (319 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 192.4
     
    Calories from Fat 78
    40%
    Total Fat 8.7 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 891.9 mg
    37%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.8 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 11.9 g
    47%
    Protein 5.9 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes