Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) With Raw Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) With Raw Garlic

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on January 16, 2003

      I am the only eggplant lover in my family, but I used a large eggplant and ate it all. This is a great lo-cal recipe and has a great flavor. I also used the eggplant as a base for some mousaksa that I was preparing. This is perfect for my diet and I ate it all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2007

      OH WOW! This is really delicious! The garlic makes it VERY pungent...but it's heaven for us garlic lovers! I agree with the previous reviewer, it would be awesome with some fresh tomatoes and cheese...or as a luncheon side dish with cold meats and cheeses. Thanks! Great recipe! P.S. One week later I have been eating this as a low carb side all week. Just wanted to add that the pungency really mellows after a day or so. I am making more today. This is an awesome side dish or sandwich filler! One of the BEST 'zaar' recipes I have ever found!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      This is now my favorite way to eat eggplant. I followed Kasha's lead and baked the eggplant slices after spraying them with Pam. This is an easy and simple way to prepare eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2004

      excellent...i added a few diced tomaoes that were marinated in olive oil & balsamic vinegar. very simple and tasty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2003

      We love eggplant, garlic, and olive oil, so this dish was right up our alley! I agree with Lennie, that the "bite" of the fresh garlic really complements the mellow flavor of the eggplant. This is absolutely delicious, and a dish we'll make year-round, although we especially like it grilled outside (we've made it both inside and outside). Really delicious dish that DH and I both enjoyed immensely. Thanks, Lennie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      I love eggplant so enjoyed the full recipe alone. I used organic extra virgin olive oil, freshly squeezed organic lemon juice, less organic garlic, sea salt, to taste and because it was already chopped I used fresh organic marjoram for some of the herb in a lesser quantity and organic parsley. I love fried eggplant but usually used a lot more oil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      Fabulous both right away and the next day. Unbelievably delicious. I will be making this again. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2011

      Cough! Cough! Really garlic%u2013y, but soooo good...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      This is very good. I did salt the eggplant slices and let sit for about 30 mins. then rinsed and dried off and cooked per recipe except left out the parsley. I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

    • on May 27, 2010

      Amazing!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      This is the first time I've used eggplant in cooking. It was a very easy recipe, The lemon juice gives it a "pickled" flavor--a little too strong for my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      Absolutely marvelous!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      This recipe inspired me to make something fairly similar with some Japanese eggplant (long and slender). I cut off the stems and partly peeled them. Then I drizzled them with olive oil and salt and layered them on a broiler pan. I put them under a low broiler, which gave them the opportunity to cook and brown at the same time (5 mins ea. side). While this was cooking up, I made a marinade similar to yours. I mashed two cloves garlic and 1/4 of a jalapeno with some salt. Next I added about 1/2 tsp cumin, 1tspn vinegar, 2 or 3 tbsp olive oil, some black pepper, and the juice half a lemon. I threw this in a bowl with some freshly chopped mint and parsley. I tossed the eggplants in the marinade when they came out of the oven and then I layered in a serving plate. I plan on serving it at room temperature tonight for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2008

      Lennie, I was searching for a new eggplant recipe and I am so glad i found this one. I love the garlic in it. Thanks! Al

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was simple to prepare and delicious. A word of warning though: your breath will be quite garlicky for a while. :) Thanks for sharing a fantastic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

    • on April 23, 2008

      I made and reviewed this before, but the first time I made it, I left out the parsley. This time I added it, and it was SO good. Last time it was tasty, but this time around, I was blown away by how delicious this was! It must all be in the ingredients. I used a really tasty extra virgin olive oil and lime juice this time around. I also added some black pepper. I would cut the amount of oil by half next time. Half a tablespoon would've been plenty for the 3 Japanese eggplants that I used. I can't wait to make it again! I love how you can get such great results from very simple, yet good quality ingredients. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Outstanding! Been wanting to cook something from the salad deli that looks like this, and this recipe and outcome is as close as it gets, and even better. Followed recipe as is except I salted it out first to wash the bitter taste. I also doubled the recipe but next time, I'll cut out on the salt if ever doubled.Thanks, I'll be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      Wonderful combination of flavors. The rich olive oil and tart lemon juice (not to mention all that wonderful garlic) formed a simple but perfect complement to the eggplant! I chickened out on the raw garlic, since I knew that a couple members of my family would dislike it, and sauteed it instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) With Raw Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.5
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    46%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 588.9 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites