28 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am the only eggplant lover in my family, but I used a large eggplant and ate it all. This is a great lo-cal recipe and has a great flavor. I also used the eggplant as a base for some mousaksa that I was preparing. This is perfect for my diet and I ate it all.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale January 16, 2003

OH WOW! This is really delicious! The garlic makes it VERY pungent...but it's heaven for us garlic lovers! I agree with the previous reviewer, it would be awesome with some fresh tomatoes and cheese...or as a luncheon side dish with cold meats and cheeses. Thanks! Great recipe! P.S. One week later I have been eating this as a low carb side all week. Just wanted to add that the pungency really mellows after a day or so. I am making more today. This is an awesome side dish or sandwich filler! One of the BEST 'zaar' recipes I have ever found!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms.susan April 18, 2007

This is now my favorite way to eat eggplant. I followed Kasha's lead and baked the eggplant slices after spraying them with Pam. This is an easy and simple way to prepare eggplant.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wenstar February 04, 2005

excellent...i added a few diced tomaoes that were marinated in olive oil & balsamic vinegar. very simple and tasty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennifer spivey7 March 08, 2004

We love eggplant, garlic, and olive oil, so this dish was right up our alley! I agree with Lennie, that the "bite" of the fresh garlic really complements the mellow flavor of the eggplant. This is absolutely delicious, and a dish we'll make year-round, although we especially like it grilled outside (we've made it both inside and outside). Really delicious dish that DH and I both enjoyed immensely. Thanks, Lennie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizzie-Babette June 30, 2003

I love eggplant so enjoyed the full recipe alone. I used organic extra virgin olive oil, freshly squeezed organic lemon juice, less organic garlic, sea salt, to taste and because it was already chopped I used fresh organic marjoram for some of the herb in a lesser quantity and organic parsley. I love fried eggplant but usually used a lot more oil!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 04, 2013

Fabulous both right away and the next day. Unbelievably delicious. I will be making this again. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Vivien October 05, 2012

Cough! Cough! Really garlic%u2013y, but soooo good...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wana-B-cook July 21, 2011

This is very good. I did salt the eggplant slices and let sit for about 30 mins. then rinsed and dried off and cooked per recipe except left out the parsley. I will make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rbjnksy July 11, 2011
Eggplant (Aubergine) With Raw Garlic