Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) -Spinach Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) -Spinach Curry

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2008

      We served this curry as part of a dinner for a vegan friend of ours along with some whole wheat flat bread. We omitted the yogurt at the end, and added the spinach when it was still partially frozen due to time constraints, but otherwise followed the recipe. It has an enjoyable blend of flavours and textures - thanks for sharing such a gem!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      This recipe was good although not exceptional. I made a few adaptations. For one, usually in Indian cooking the mustard seeds are cooked with the main food - not separately and added in the end – nor are so many used. I used half the amount (1 Tbs.) which was itself a lot and cooked them in the oil until they started to pop. I then added the onion mixture and cooked till it was a light brown before adding the spinach (I used 1 head of fresh chopped spinach) and fresh cut tomatoes. I cooked this for about 10-15 minutes before adding the steamed eggplant and then cooked the eggplant in the spice mix for some time to absorb the flavors. I also added a little Indian style raw sugar (jaggery) which was nice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2006

      Really good spice blend. Was nervous about 2 tbsp mustard seed but trusted the recipe and it's great! I recommend two things: add the spinach at the end with the eggplant to keep it's bright color (or even better use fresh spinach) and put the yogurt on top. Mine was a bit dry so I added 2-3 tbsp tomato sauce before simmering.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2006

      What a GREAT, healthy veg curry recipe!!Awesome flavor! Being indian myself, I find it so hard to find healthy ways to make curry dishes w/o sacrificing taste and texture. Since I didn't have ground clove on hand, I ground whole cloves, (and not too well), and i found that I ran into some of those bits while eating and it gave a very bitter tatse. Next time will obtain the powder form. Also, I don't think I steamed the eggplant for long enough b/c it was a bit "crunchy". Nevertheless, DH ate it with some whole wheat naan, but said he preferred to having the eggplant mushy (and vitamin depleted like any typical epplant curry recipe!). Thanks for posting!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

    • on August 24, 2008

      This recipe is great! I added a small can of tomato paste. Tasted like the real deal!! Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      A really lovely recipe. I used ¼ tsp hot chilli powder in place of the cayenne and used two tins of tomatoes as we like a really "saucy" curry. I also added the yoghurt as a garnish rather than mixed through. Served with stuffed potato paratha, it was a really lovely meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      I really liked this recipe. It made a lot so I put some in the freezer in hopes that it will freeze well. Thank you for adding another healthy entree to my repertoire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      WOW!!!! I am not a hughe fan of eggplant, but this was amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) -Spinach Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.3
     
    Calories from Fat 87
    38%
    Total Fat 9.6 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 4.7 mg
    1%
    Sodium 1190.8 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 11.3 g
    45%
    Sugars 13.5 g
    54%
    Protein 10.3 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    diced tomatoes

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes