25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this and it is excellent... took me longer than specified but worth the time for sure ... also looks wonderful in the jars ... Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teresa Vandiver August 30, 2002

This is excellent !! I put up several quarts each year. The only changes I've made is using fresh oregano & parsley since I never seem to have basil available in my garden when I need it & cut the sugar to 1/4 cup.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bayouwings October 10, 2009

This is an excellent recipe! It has the flavor of eggplant parmesan without the cheese. Easy to follow instructions.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb Wolf August 04, 2010

This was so good! I've made it several times and used as a pasta sauce, pizza sauce and most recently in ravioli casserole. I like it better than homemade tomato sauce, which tends to be more acidic. I'm not experienced canning eggplant so I froze several containers of this instead. I used white wine instead of red-that's just what I cook with-but I really think this recipe is great as written. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaarin October 20, 2008

Excellent! I made it almost exactly as written. I cannot use onion, so I chopped a similar amount of zucchini and added some onion powder when I sauteed it. I used cooking wine, because I couldn't get to the liquor store to buy any real wine, but the sauce is fantastic. My tomatoes were beautifully ripe and sweet, so I could have gotten away with less sugar, so I'll be sure and taste the sauce before adding sugar next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jckamen October 10, 2008

This is a great sauce recipe! We changed it some instead of 2lbs eggplant, we used 1lb eggplant and 1lb zucchini. Also we puree'd and seeded the tomatoes and added an extra can of paste came out delicious. More of a marinara sauce this way

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meodes September 04, 2008

This is delicious! My son calls it garden sauce because everything other than the S&P, sugar, and wine came from the garden ;-) I haven't had a chance to can this recipe yet. Ended up splitting the pot with some friends that stopped by while I was cooking. Thank you for a great summer and winter recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Q June 02, 2008

Let me add my 5 stars for this great recipe. I put eggplant in my garden this year, and boy do they produce. So I was looking for a recipe to use some of them up, and I also wanted to try my hand at canning. It was quite an experience! But I have made several more quarts with better (and faster) results. This is a wonderful (and healthy) addition to my pantry for the long cold winter months ahead. I love Barb's recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefmopotts August 31, 2007

Wonderful sauce and very easy to put together and can! Love it! I used already canned tomatoes to equal 8 cups since the best tomatoes are out of season here. They worked just fine with the only difference resulting in 6.5 pints instead of 7. The half pint will be perfect for a breadstick dipping sauce. Thanks for a great recipe Barb!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) November 29, 2006

I can't believe I didn't rate this, but I will now. Great marinara. I've used it on pasta, in lasagna, etc, etc... I followed the directions exactly and didn't change a thing. Thanks, Barb.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess July 31, 2006
Eggplant (Aubergine) Sauce for Pasta