Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan

    Average Rating:

    117 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 117

    Sort by:

    • on February 19, 2004

      This is a good way to get rid of the bitterness in eggplant: After slicing the eggplant, use a salt shaker and sprinkle a goodly amount of salt on each slice. Allow to drain for thirty minutes over the sink (the salt draws the bitter juices out of the eggplant). Rinse well in cold running water and use as required.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2003

      i have made this several times and it's always a hit. i have served it with meat sauce and marinara -both are great. i have even used the egplant as a layer in regular lasagna to give it a different flare. it is wonderful!! thanks bratty!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2002

      I am always a lady in a hurry. Not being as time comsuming in preparation as other recipes did not take away from the flavor. I served this with a salad and a side of spaghetti with sauce. I intend to use the left overs for a couple of lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2003

      I thought this WAS a great way to have eggplant.Although it tasted fantastic the eggplants' skin turned me off a little. Next time I think I'll peel it.Thanks bratty_1 for something a little different!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      I followed the advice of others and peeled the eggplant and then salted the slices and laid them in a colander for 30 minutes. After that, I patted the slices with a paper towel. Then I dipped them in flour, then the egg/milk mixture, and then Italian breadcrumbs seasoned with garlic powder. After frying and draining on paper towels, I followed the rest of the instructions. They came out of the frying pan just picture perfect. I definitely recommend using the flour first which helps the breading to stick. I too had tasty, but soggy eggplant. I think what I will do next time is spray the pan with Pam, then lay down the slices, then top them with the cheese until the cheese melts and/or lightly browns. After that, I'm going to put these on top of pasta and try to get the sauce more on the pasta than on the eggplant. I think the sauce made them soggy, because they were of course nice and crispy out of the fry pan. Thank you for a tasty recipe. I look forward to trying this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      Easy, hearty, and tastes good. I sprinkled salt on the eggplant slices, let them sweat over the sink for half an hour, then rinsed them in cold water to remove the bitterness. 1 1/2 cups was at least twice as much breadcrumbs as was actually needed and 2 cups wasn't enough spaghetti sauce to really have any left to go over the pasta by the time it finished baking. I would use Italian seasoned breadcrumbs next time and would like to try it with a basil infused olive oil. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2012

      AMAZING! Made this as a side dish and enjoyed it better than the main course. I took some other reviewers advice and soaked in salt. My husband and I both loved it. Couldn't kid the kiddies to try, though :( This is definitely a new fave.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      I had never eaten eggplant before, but am trying to get more veggies into our diet. I thought it was fantastic! I cut way back on the oil used for frying, probably using a total of 1/3 cup to fry 12 slices. Used chopped mushrooms and onions in the marinara sauce, so it was a totally vegetarian dinner... something my husband wasn't accustomed to. Salad of green leaf lettuce, spinach, radishes and cucumber rounded out the meal. Delicious! Thanks, bratty!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This is the recipe I chose to use for my first eggplant adventure! I LOVED it as did most of the 7 of us. The 7year old extremely picky eater ate every bite but the 19year old said it was just OK. I am not factoring his opinion into my rating because quite frankly he was in a bad mood which surely effected his opinion! LOL I will make this again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2014

      I made this for dinner tonight following the recipe closely. The eggplant I had was a little larger so I had 12 slices. The 10x13 pan held 6 comfortably so I sauced the first layer, added the cheeses, then put another layer on with sauce and cheese on top. After about 35 minutes the top cheese just started to brown and it was done. Turned out very well and delicious. I used my own tomato sauce that I had made from roma tomatoes from my garden, can't beat that. My wife is gluten-free, so when breadcrumbs are called for I crush gluten-free rice chex, works well. This is a dish that people would think took hours, but it's quick and great, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2014

      Wonderful! Served over spaghetti with the Traditional Prego Sauce. Family loved it. Very filling and very tasty. There are three of us and this is enough for two meals.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      Excellent! Even my husband, who has to have his meat for dinner, enjoyed this vegetarian meal. The only change I made was add parmesan cheese to my breadcrumbs. Also, next time I'm going to cut down on the sauce and not completely cover the eggplant so it stays crispier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      Such an easy recipe! First-timer. Next time I will peel the eggplant as suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Very easy recipe. I made as directed, except I omitted the milk because my husband is lactose intolerant. Dipping the eggplant in the egg without the milk produced a golden fried eggplant slice, anyway. The eggplant slices I used were rather large, so I stacked them on top of one another in the baking dish, layering sauce between each slice. I also seasoned each layer of the tomato sauce with black pepper and a little sugar. I topped my half of the dish with mozzarella cheese and my husband's half with lactose-free Monterey Jack. What a delicious, company-worthy recipe! Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2013

      Very delicious! My husband even liked it and he's a meat eater. With this meal, you don't need meat. I served it with spaghetti. So yummy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Wife and kid both love it. I dont really like eggplant but this stuff rocks!!! Added 2 boneless chicken breast, precooked like the eggplant, which made this dish awesome. Will add some fresh basil next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2012

      I've never made Eggplant parm before or any other eggplant dish for that matter and decided I had to give it a try and chose this recipe. What a great chose!! I did follow Al Parosns suggestions on salting the eggplant first and then followed the directions exactly didn't change a thing. It was soooo good, I had left over spagetti sauce that I used but to save time think even the jar stuff would be good with this. It was over the top good, I was so proud of how it looked, but the flavors were wonderful. It was a bit of work with frying and then baking - but worth it. Great Italian flavor. Served with a crisp green salad, fresh bread and nice red wine - a wonderful Italian evening, that I to repeat often

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      Made this tonight, followed recipe, it was wonderful! Loved it, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2012

      Super easy to make. I followed directions exactly..did salt the eggplants as others do.

      Delicious and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Great recipe but my eggplant was bitter even though I salted and let drain for 20 min. should have let it go longer. Served with pasta and zucchini as a side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan

    Serving Size: 1 (158 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 378.9
     
    Calories from Fat 271
    71%
    Total Fat 30.2 g
    46%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 26.0 mg
    8%
    Sodium 297.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 5.1 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mozzarella-parmesan cheese blend

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes