119 Reviews

This is a good way to get rid of the bitterness in eggplant: After slicing the eggplant, use a salt shaker and sprinkle a goodly amount of salt on each slice. Allow to drain for thirty minutes over the sink (the salt draws the bitter juices out of the eggplant). Rinse well in cold running water and use as required.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Al Parsons February 19, 2004

i have made this several times and it's always a hit. i have served it with meat sauce and marinara -both are great. i have even used the egplant as a layer in regular lasagna to give it a different flare. it is wonderful!! thanks bratty!!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
polly salama April 07, 2003

I am always a lady in a hurry. Not being as time comsuming in preparation as other recipes did not take away from the flavor. I served this with a salad and a side of spaghetti with sauce. I intend to use the left overs for a couple of lunches.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol23 Hudacek August 05, 2002

I thought this WAS a great way to have eggplant.Although it tasted fantastic the eggplants' skin turned me off a little. Next time I think I'll peel it.Thanks bratty_1 for something a little different!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray G July 26, 2003

I followed the advice of others and peeled the eggplant and then salted the slices and laid them in a colander for 30 minutes. After that, I patted the slices with a paper towel. Then I dipped them in flour, then the egg/milk mixture, and then Italian breadcrumbs seasoned with garlic powder. After frying and draining on paper towels, I followed the rest of the instructions. They came out of the frying pan just picture perfect. I definitely recommend using the flour first which helps the breading to stick. I too had tasty, but soggy eggplant. I think what I will do next time is spray the pan with Pam, then lay down the slices, then top them with the cheese until the cheese melts and/or lightly browns. After that, I'm going to put these on top of pasta and try to get the sauce more on the pasta than on the eggplant. I think the sauce made them soggy, because they were of course nice and crispy out of the fry pan. Thank you for a tasty recipe. I look forward to trying this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zoesmama October 27, 2009

Easy, hearty, and tastes good. I sprinkled salt on the eggplant slices, let them sweat over the sink for half an hour, then rinsed them in cold water to remove the bitterness. 1 1/2 cups was at least twice as much breadcrumbs as was actually needed and 2 cups wasn't enough spaghetti sauce to really have any left to go over the pasta by the time it finished baking. I would use Italian seasoned breadcrumbs next time and would like to try it with a basil infused olive oil. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 06, 2009

AMAZING! Made this as a side dish and enjoyed it better than the main course. I took some other reviewers advice and soaked in salt. My husband and I both loved it. Couldn't kid the kiddies to try, though :( This is definitely a new fave.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlowens July 14, 2012

I had never eaten eggplant before, but am trying to get more veggies into our diet. I thought it was fantastic! I cut way back on the oil used for frying, probably using a total of 1/3 cup to fry 12 slices. Used chopped mushrooms and onions in the marinara sauce, so it was a totally vegetarian dinner... something my husband wasn't accustomed to. Salad of green leaf lettuce, spinach, radishes and cucumber rounded out the meal. Delicious! Thanks, bratty!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babes_Mom February 12, 2012

This is the recipe I chose to use for my first eggplant adventure! I LOVED it as did most of the 7 of us. The 7year old extremely picky eater ate every bite but the 19year old said it was just OK. I am not factoring his opinion into my rating because quite frankly he was in a bad mood which surely effected his opinion! LOL I will make this again. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momof6hungrykids February 23, 2011

This recipe is amazing! I took someone else's advice and peeled and then cut the eggplant into 1/2 inch think slices. After that I soaked the eggplant in a salt coating for 30 mins. After that I rinse the eggplant well with water. Then I shake the eggplant off and coat it in a flour, salt and pepper mixture. Next, I dip the eggplant into the egg bath then lastly the bread crumbs. After frying the eggplant patties I coat the caserole dish with Pam with olive oil. The first time I cooked this recipe I coated the eggplant with 2 plus table spoons of sauce on each patty. And topped it with the cheese mixture but personally I thought it was too much cheese and sauce so this time I used a tablespoon of sauce and then topped it with just fresh mozzarella the last few minutes. I would highly recommend dabbing the fresh mozzarella with a paper towel since the fresh mozzarella has excess water.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather C. July 31, 2015
Eggplant (Aubergine) Parmesan