Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) Mexicana Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Mexicana

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 14, 2002

      Very nice, but I needed to add 1/4 cup water (I scaled down to 1 serving) because the mixture seemed to be drying out during the simmer. I didn't peel the eggplant, and also added a pinch of salt, and omitted the garlic. I'll definitely make this again when I need a quick veggie side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      I paid attention to the first review and doubled the tomatoes to help with the liquid problem. I also added a can of mushrooms and let it simmer away. Very tasty. I had leftovers so tonight I'm going to parboil some okra and add that to the pot!! Very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2004

      I love eggplant AND easy recipes and this one was great. I added a half of can of water and covered the skillet for the first 10 minutes of simmering, then removed the lid for the last 10 minutes and the eggplant was tender and moist. This is a keeper!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2003

      I didn't have a problem with the eggplant drying out- I added extra tomatoes, maybe that's the key- I really liked this dish- I served it with spagetti!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      This had good flavor,but for some reason the eggplant was tough and rubbery.I think the problem was more in the produce than the recipe.I am going to try again using a fresher smaller eggplant.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      This was great. We added black beans at the end and heated them through. We put the mixture in a tortilla and added cheese, sour cream and salsa for a wonderful tasting burrito. Will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      I wasn't sure what to expect from this recipe since traditionally I'd only used eggplant for italian recipes. But I was pleasantly suprised! I did add some fresh chopped cilantro and served it on top of some whole wheat couscous. Served as a great side to Cilantro Chicken (#181195) to round out a healthy and tasty mexican meal! Will definately make this one again. THANKS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      I have now made this numerous times and I just wanted to add that I have changed the can of tomato's to an equal amount salsa and I use 1/2 a tsp of chili powder. This is really good stuff! I'm making it right now to go along with broiled sole. *Another update*: it's now 2 yrs later and I'm still loving this recipe. I have just added a photo of it for tonights dinner. Yummmm!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Really tasty! I used it as a main dish with some garlic bread. I imagine it would be great over rice or pasta. As other reviewers suggested I added a little salt, sugar, and oregano and about 1/4 C salsa. Super quick and easy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2007

      We really enjoyed this simple dish as a meal. I served it with rice and it fed my family of three with no trouble. In fact, I had leftovers the next day for lunch and they were still yummy! Super quick and easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2007

      Had this the other night...the kids really liked it (ages 4.5 and 3 years). Served with white rice, another of the kids' favorites. Even my husband, who does NOT care for eggplant at all, ate it without complaints...he DID supplement the flavors with added sour cream and salsa!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      Tebo, this is a winner! I used 4 small Japanese eggplant and added some sliced button mushrooms. Otherwise followed recipe and we loved it.I will serve the left overs (only 2 of us) tomorrow over some steamed rice.Yummy stuff. Thanks for a real keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      This was really tasty and my husband who is a bit picky about aubergine (eggplant) really liked it too. We didn't peel the aubergine either and we did serve it with pasta too which went really well. It was about 15 minutes until it was nicely cooked - lovely thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      Super easy, supar tasty, and look at those nutritionals! I used fresh tomatoes and so added some water, and after five minutes it was quite well done. But it's fine with me! I don't know why that is, but fifteen would've obliterated it. I think this mix would be good with pasta, or added to tomato sauce. I'm definitely going to be buying more eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      I used 1/2 salsa & 1/2 diced tomatoes and it was very delicious. I will definitely use this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2005

      Very nice. Easy to make, quick and one of my favorite things, eggplant. I added a touch af cayenne too for a little bite and boy was it good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2004

      We loved this eggplant recipe. It was delicious and moist. Not soupy moist but moist enough to have a nice texture. I was torn between using chili powder or chile powder (pure). I went with the chili powder because it has oregano in it. I did add an extra 1/2tsp. Mexican oregano which was very, very good. Definately a wonderful recipe to add to my t&t collection. You did it again, Tebo,.....thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      I have been looking for this - a healthier version of what my grandma used to prepare. I love this and have made it 5-6 times since I found the recipe a couple weeks ago. I like it best with double the tomatoes, double the seasonings, and a little salt, oregano and sugar. Top it off with a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese. Yummy and healthy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Mexicana

    Serving Size: 1 (159 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 36.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    12%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 6.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes