18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very nice, but I needed to add 1/4 cup water (I scaled down to 1 serving) because the mixture seemed to be drying out during the simmer. I didn't peel the eggplant, and also added a pinch of salt, and omitted the garlic. I'll definitely make this again when I need a quick veggie side.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu May 14, 2002

I paid attention to the first review and doubled the tomatoes to help with the liquid problem. I also added a can of mushrooms and let it simmer away. Very tasty. I had leftovers so tonight I'm going to parboil some okra and add that to the pot!! Very good. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy G August 02, 2002

I love eggplant AND easy recipes and this one was great. I added a half of can of water and covered the skillet for the first 10 minutes of simmering, then removed the lid for the last 10 minutes and the eggplant was tender and moist. This is a keeper!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virginia Chandler January 25, 2004

I didn't have a problem with the eggplant drying out- I added extra tomatoes, maybe that's the key- I really liked this dish- I served it with spagetti!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shjya Instance January 07, 2003

This had good flavor,but for some reason the eggplant was tough and rubbery.I think the problem was more in the produce than the recipe.I am going to try again using a fresher smaller eggplant.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mona August 25, 2002

This was great. We added black beans at the end and heated them through. We put the mixture in a tortilla and added cheese, sour cream and salsa for a wonderful tasting burrito. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary Lou #3 November 09, 2008

I wasn't sure what to expect from this recipe since traditionally I'd only used eggplant for italian recipes. But I was pleasantly suprised! I did add some fresh chopped cilantro and served it on top of some whole wheat couscous. Served as a great side to Cilantro Chicken (#181195) to round out a healthy and tasty mexican meal! Will definately make this one again. THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcole851 September 05, 2008

I have now made this numerous times and I just wanted to add that I have changed the can of tomato's to an equal amount salsa and I use 1/2 a tsp of chili powder. This is really good stuff! I'm making it right now to go along with broiled sole. *Another update*: it's now 2 yrs later and I'm still loving this recipe. I have just added a photo of it for tonights dinner. Yummmm!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia June 25, 2008

Really tasty! I used it as a main dish with some garlic bread. I imagine it would be great over rice or pasta. As other reviewers suggested I added a little salt, sugar, and oregano and about 1/4 C salsa. Super quick and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fozziewaca June 24, 2008

We really enjoyed this simple dish as a meal. I served it with rice and it fed my family of three with no trouble. In fact, I had leftovers the next day for lunch and they were still yummy! Super quick and easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI September 05, 2007
Eggplant (Aubergine) Mexicana