Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) Lasagna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Lasagna

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      Great recipe. I added one egg white to the ricotta cheese and used low fat cheese. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2002

      This was so delicious, if I hadn't made it i wouldn't know eggplant was even in there. I added an egg to the ricotta and a layer of mozerella in the middle. I also used a non-stick fry pan instead of a griller to brown the eggplant. I used Classico Tomato/pesto sauce (jar and a half) instead of making sauce to quicken it up. It was wonderful, even your non-vegetarian friends will like it! Having a mandolin to cut the eggplant evenly at 1/8 inch makes it much easier if you are lucky enough to have one. Next time I will peel the eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2002

      This was great! Tastes like "regular" lasagna w/out the guilt. I used fat free cottage cheese instead of ricotta. The metric conversations were a little tedious. Will make it again, soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      So delicious! My FR (fabulous roommate) simply loved it. I read that some reviews found it too runny so I cooked the sauce down a bit before I put it together and it was perfect! I didn't have any basil so I used an Italian spice mix in the sauce and it was great. I didn't get the layering right (new cook, go figure) and ended up with a lot of extra bread crumbs. I layered the crumbs and mozz on top to use it up and it made a delicious crispy crust on top. Two thumbs up!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      this took quite a bit of time with breading the aubergine and frying it, but tasted really good, even though i had to substitute afew things.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2009

    • on September 02, 2008

      Made tonight for a healthy supper and happy that I did. I found that my eggplant wasn't quite done enough for our tastes, so I'd broil just a little longer - Instead of canned tomatoes, I used 3 medium fresh tomatoes and they were a fab addition. I did not use an egg like some other reviewers suggested and didn't feel like it really needed it - maybe it would have helped spread the thick ricotta cheese around a bit though. Like other reviewers noted, the end result was a bit runny, even after I let it sit on the counter for 10 minutes before cutting. Runny or not, it was very tasty and I think I'd make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This lasagna was phenomenal. I am not a vegetarian and wanted a healthier lasagna without the pasta. I browned very lean ground beef, drained what fat there was, and added it to just my favorite jarred pasta sauce. I also doubled the amounts of cheeses and left out half of the bread crumbs since I wanted as little starch in this as possible, and added an egg and salt to my whole milk ricotta for better texture and to bring out the flavor. I ended up with a very flavorful lasagna with lean protein and lots of veggies. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2007

      Was really easy to make, it was delicious! Will def make this again :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      FABULUCIOUS!!!! Really enjoyed this! DO NOT...SO NOT give this recipe a miss! Used 200 g pesto puree, 200 g tomato puree as hand on hand, TRUE! NOTE: ate it right out of the oven as couldn't wait (due to terrific smell) too! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I will never make eggplant parmesan again. This was so much easier and came out tasting the same. I too used pre-made spaghetti sauce. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2007

    • on August 11, 2006

      We liked this dish. It is a lot like Eggplant Parmesan. I used a little more riotta cheese otherwise made as written. Thanks Gidget. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      This tastes great! It reminds of fresh chunky style Prego sauce with mozzarella. One thing that will help:Before doing the recipe chop and peel the eggplant. Submerse it in a bowl of saltwater for 20 min. This leeches the bitter taste out of it so that it will adapt to the flavor of your recipe.You will actually see brown water in 20 min time! Just drain it, rinse it, pat it dry and proceed with recipe. Another thing I did was use garlic olive oil..it really enhances the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2006

      I actually did not care for this recipe much. I think it mainly boiled down to a texture issue. It was runny and maybe even a little bit slimy. Perhaps adding the eggwhite as others suggested would be helpful to solidify things. I even used extra breadcrumbs. I love eggplant parmesan, but this I just didn't care for. Husband and daughter didn't really like it much either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2005

      i am on the fence about this recipe but DH liked it a lot - i guess i am a lot more of a picky eater than he is. i left out the mozz as i too feared it might be too rich, but i don't think that changed anything.the parmesan and ricotta clashed a bit too much for me, i should have followed the reviewer suggestions and thrown in an egg into the ricotta then it might have set more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      This recipe has good potential. Because I'm lactose intolerant, I substituted a package (12 oz) of firm tofu for the ricotta cheese. It made the dish pretty 'goopy.' I think it would have worked better it I had thought to mix an egg into the tofu & maybe used extra firm instead of firm. I found the 1/2 tsp of cayenne to be a bit too spicey, but not outrageously so. Next time I will cut back to 1/4/ tsp. I used my favorite shredded cheese substitute, so that wasn't a problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2005

      Very good! I used japanese eggplants and cottage cheese instead of the ricotta, which made it a bit runny but still delicious! A good diabetic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      The cayenne adds the perfect amount of bite to this lasagne. It is really enjoyable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2004

      Awesome. I followed the recipe as written except I used an indoor George-foreman type grill. This was so tasty and worth the time it took to make!! The hint of spiciness is yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Lasagna

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 329.1
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    42%
    Total Fat 15.5 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.3 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 37.7 mg
    12%
    Sodium 442.8 mg
    18%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 8.4 g
    33%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 17.4 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites