13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Sensational recipe, Mirj, thanks for sharing. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fernandinho March 27, 2004

MMMM This is great! I made a couple of changes: I used 1 teaspoon of butter to sauté the onions, and sprayed the pan with non stick cooking spray .. I also used lemon juice instead of lime (I don't like limes) .. I loved this and so did my husband (This is my new favorite recipe!) thanks for another wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa February 17, 2004

My DH and I LOOOVE eggplant in any fashion. I make some eggplant dish every week and I can't wait to explore new dishes based with eggplant. I was so exited to try this exotic dish. I did not change anything it came out really nice but we did not like the taste at all. Thank you for sharing but I will not make this dish again. I am sorry Mirj belive me I love everything you post not this time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef h&h September 09, 2008

Thanks Mirj for a very delicate and delicious recipe, I even froze some and reheated in the microwave and still enjoyed it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becki in Israel June 26, 2008

Simply excellent. It was easy to make and delicious. I topped it off with some garam masala and some some basil to give it bit of an extra flavor

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
desilva_jennifer August 01, 2007

Like a subtle, but nuanced quiche, we all loved it. Nice and tangy from the eggplant. Changes:I did not peel the eggplant. And I did use the eggwhites, since both of those sounded like a pain. You can't notice the skins in the finished product. I had to cook the eggplant in two batches because even our large frying pan wasn't large enough. Also, I skipped the parchment paper step and sprayed pam on the baking pan and it came out fine, pun intended. I'd use a touch less oil next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rob King November 24, 2006

DH & I loved this recipe - turned out to be more of an eggplant quiche of sorts? We used indian eggplants (the small round ones) which turned out great & used cooking spray in our deep dish - thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet'n'Spicy Chef July 11, 2006

good

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rabia February 07, 2006

We both hate eggplant. "I guess we have to add it to the I like list." Jiggled recipe of course. Lost ALL the oil. All it is in this case is a cooking method not for flavor. Now if it was Ghee yep but oil.. no. Anyone ever tried straight oil? Used garlic flavored pan spray. Subbed in Butter buds. Lost the eggs. Kept the whites. Used the equilvent of the number of eggs in whites. Since I made those changes I jiggled the spices to add a boost. I used Zaatar instead of the parsley. Tumeric in place of the saffron [if I was messing up I was NOT doing it to the tune of saffron]. The changes worked fine as you can tell by the rating. Not a dish that needs to be avoided by those avoiding fats. Also added sliced tomatoes to the top and sprinkled with a bit of Romano/Parmesan fat free cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drhousespcatcher September 05, 2005

Its so rare to find a new recipe for eggplant! And when we get eggplants out of the garden, we have to eat them right away as they are impossible to freeze or can... but this recipe helped break the eggplant-monotony. I wish I would have had a picture of this recipe, as I have no idea what it should look like when it is finished. The mix looked so wonderful and yellow when it went into the oven, and so DISGUSTING when it came out. But it sure tasted good! I chose this recipe, because I had never used saffron before, and had found some earlier at a bargain price. I read that someone thought the saffron taste was subtle... but I think it was anything BUT subtle. I used six cloves of garlic instead of four. The family thought it tasted like oysters, and I would have to agree. Was a very very rich recipe, and when I make this again I will plan it as a side dish rather than a main. It was absolutely scrumptous, however, so thank you, thank you, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Captain Naz August 17, 2005
Eggplant (Aubergine) Kuku (Persian Eggplant)