Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) Kuku (Persian Eggplant) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Kuku (Persian Eggplant)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on March 27, 2004

      Sensational recipe, Mirj, thanks for sharing. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2004

      MMMM This is great! I made a couple of changes: I used 1 teaspoon of butter to sauté the onions, and sprayed the pan with non stick cooking spray .. I also used lemon juice instead of lime (I don't like limes) .. I loved this and so did my husband (This is my new favorite recipe!) thanks for another wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      My DH and I LOOOVE eggplant in any fashion. I make some eggplant dish every week and I can't wait to explore new dishes based with eggplant. I was so exited to try this exotic dish. I did not change anything it came out really nice but we did not like the taste at all. Thank you for sharing but I will not make this dish again. I am sorry Mirj belive me I love everything you post not this time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Thanks Mirj for a very delicate and delicious recipe, I even froze some and reheated in the microwave and still enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2007

      Simply excellent. It was easy to make and delicious. I topped it off with some garam masala and some some basil to give it bit of an extra flavor

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      Like a subtle, but nuanced quiche, we all loved it. Nice and tangy from the eggplant. Changes:I did not peel the eggplant. And I did use the eggwhites, since both of those sounded like a pain. You can't notice the skins in the finished product. I had to cook the eggplant in two batches because even our large frying pan wasn't large enough. Also, I skipped the parchment paper step and sprayed pam on the baking pan and it came out fine, pun intended. I'd use a touch less oil next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      DH & I loved this recipe - turned out to be more of an eggplant quiche of sorts? We used indian eggplants (the small round ones) which turned out great & used cooking spray in our deep dish - thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      good

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2005

      We both hate eggplant. "I guess we have to add it to the I like list." Jiggled recipe of course. Lost ALL the oil. All it is in this case is a cooking method not for flavor. Now if it was Ghee yep but oil.. no. Anyone ever tried straight oil? Used garlic flavored pan spray. Subbed in Butter buds. Lost the eggs. Kept the whites. Used the equilvent of the number of eggs in whites. Since I made those changes I jiggled the spices to add a boost. I used Zaatar instead of the parsley. Tumeric in place of the saffron [if I was messing up I was NOT doing it to the tune of saffron]. The changes worked fine as you can tell by the rating. Not a dish that needs to be avoided by those avoiding fats. Also added sliced tomatoes to the top and sprinkled with a bit of Romano/Parmesan fat free cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      Its so rare to find a new recipe for eggplant! And when we get eggplants out of the garden, we have to eat them right away as they are impossible to freeze or can... but this recipe helped break the eggplant-monotony. I wish I would have had a picture of this recipe, as I have no idea what it should look like when it is finished. The mix looked so wonderful and yellow when it went into the oven, and so DISGUSTING when it came out. But it sure tasted good! I chose this recipe, because I had never used saffron before, and had found some earlier at a bargain price. I read that someone thought the saffron taste was subtle... but I think it was anything BUT subtle. I used six cloves of garlic instead of four. The family thought it tasted like oysters, and I would have to agree. Was a very very rich recipe, and when I make this again I will plan it as a side dish rather than a main. It was absolutely scrumptous, however, so thank you, thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2005

      EXCELLENTE! this is my type of recipe. i made a few changes..i halved the recipe and used lemon juice instead of lime b/c i didnt have one, i added 1/2 tsp each of cayenne and cumin...and i misread the instructions and peeled the eggplant & cut it into little strips (almost cubes) and sauteed them that way..i think it was fine that way though. imnot sure if it was supposed to be a mushy eggplant pastey consistancy (like babaganoush) but it was nice b/c the eggplant added texture and it wasnt rubbery. my favorite part was that you could actually taste the subtle saffron! i rarely cook with saffron but i was happy to open my bottle for this recipe. i woudl definitely serve this to ppl for a cold/luke warm lunch or a light summer dinner. i made a littel cucumber/yogurt salad with chopped cukes, plain yogurt, minced garlic, carroway seed, and a littel salt/pepper to go with it. perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2005

      Mirj. Thanks for the recipe. I tried it, but I've got to admit I didn't like it so much... Thanks anyway

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2005

      We went cuckoo for this kuku. I love finding a new recipe for eggplant and this one will provide a fun jumping off point from which to improvise. I added a pinch of cayenne and a teaspoon of cumin to the seasonings, which we did like. I was pretty puzzled at the instructions fo pour 4 tablespoons of oil into the lined baking pan, but did as I was told. When I took the finished dish from the oven, oil was puddled up on all four sides, and I ended up pouring it off. Next time I will just lightly grease the pan over the paper. And,I think that I will also change the very, very soft texture by adding some fresh bread crumbs to the mixture to make it more to our taste. However....after I've said all that...we definitely enjoyed this dish and I'll have fun making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Kuku (Persian Eggplant)

    Serving Size: 1 (457 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 432.0
     
    Calories from Fat 296
    68%
    Total Fat 32.8 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 211.5 mg
    70%
    Sodium 766.5 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.5 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 10.3 g
    41%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes