32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow, this was good! I veganized this by substituting chopped seitan for the meat and sauteing it with the onions, and it was delicious. I rinsed the eggplant after sweating it, and only lightly sprinkled salt on the seitan-onion mixture, and it was fine, as the seitan is flavorful enough on it's own. Even my teenager thought it was great! Thank you for posting this, we'll be enjoying this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mangomom May 19, 2010

We enjoyed this very much. Dh loves eggplant, but ds and I can't have dairy so his fav eggplant parmesan is out. I didn't have clove (i have whole cloves only) so i looked at some other recipes and saw a few using cinnamon and nutmeg. I did 1/2 tsp nutmeg and 1 tsp cinnamon- and i would double that next time! also, i would add a bit of garlic powder to the meat/onion/garlic mix. That being said, I will definitely make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newmama April 15, 2008

We didn't care much for the very sweet taste of the meat w/the cinammon. I reduced the cloves by 1/2, maybe that made it even sweeter?
Also, I wonder why it needs to cook for 1 hr at 450. Other eggplant casseroles recipes are done in 1/2 the time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verodcook January 31, 2012

This is one of two eggplant casseroles (the other one is Twissis' Eggplant Casserole - (Melitzanes Me Kreas Sti Katsarola)) that I've tried on 'Zaar and really love. My partner came home from work last night and said, "It smells really good in here, what are we having?" Always a good thing! I cut my eggplant into roughly 1 inch cubes. I also added one red bell pepper (capsicum). Served this over brown rice to the delight of my dear partner. We both had to have seconds. Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef-Boy-I-Be Illinois September 02, 2009

This was a great recipe! I took the suggestion of some here and put a 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese on top--I also added an 8 oz can of tomato sauce to the chopped tomato and threw in a little nutmeg and cayenne pepper. I'm giving it four stars because there was no mention of how big a casserole dish was needed and I ended up switching dishes after I started to assemble the first layer. I ended up using a 3qt dish. I also suggest putting a pan under the baking dish to catch any bubbling liquids.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sahaffie August 02, 2009

So tasty! I used only 2 ts of salt (sprinkled 1 ts on the eggplant slices and combined 1 ts with the tomatoes). Also used 1 tbls of olive oil instead of butter. Baked this in a lasagne dish covered with foil. Ah, delicious!! Thank you so much for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee February 02, 2008

Sorry, but this one didn't work for me. Don't care at all for the way the flavors cooked together. I'm trying to think how to salvage it so I don't throw it out. The cinnamon just didn't work in this for me. Normally I like Mid - Eastern flavors so not sure what went wrong. Won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie December 26, 2013

Didn't like the cinnamon with the meat flavour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I love spicy food April 06, 2013

I thought that this was a bit bland. I used 28 oz of tomatoes (they don't come in 22 oz cans here) which I drained. The recipe didn't specify, but it would have been a disaster if I hadn't done so. Since I used reconstituted freeze-dried ground beef (don't ask), I saut?ed the onions and garlic in some olive oil. I also greased the pan with olive oil rather than butter. The eggplant turned out the perfect texture and not at all watery, so the salting and also the cooking time were perfect. I just would have liked a bit more seasoning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch December 03, 2012

Oh my, this was delicious -- exactly how I hoped it would taste. I do think there's a tad too much salt in it, though; did you perhaps mean 1 teaspoon rather than 1 tablespoon? At any rate, I used beef (our supermarket refuses to carry ground lamb, since it doesn't sell enough), and the largest eggplant we could find weighed in at 1-1/2 pounds rather than 2. Maybe did heaping portions of the spices, just because we like spicy, but otherwise followed the recipe to the letter. Oh yes, fire-roasted tomatoes, always a good idea for extra flavor. Hubby hadn't expected to like it as much as he did; we ended up eating 2/3 of it tonight, so will have to serve it with something else (a salad, probably) when we reheat it. As we say in Maine, "some good!" Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l'ecole June 27, 2012
Eggplant (Aubergine) Fit for a Sheik (Sheik Al Mihshee)