Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on August 21, 2002

      do u peel the plant? i did not, but it was homegrown. was very good. i put in some garlic, of course

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2010

      This recipe came out okay. A little too much cracker, and it sort of washed out everything else. Also had trouble with too much liquid, so I would cut back on the milk. Alternatively, it could be because it should go in a larger dish to bake, but since no size guide was given I guessed. Could not taste the cheese, so next time I will wait until the end and sprinkle it on top. Hopefully it will turn out better next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Loved this! This recipe could get anyone to eat eggplant, IMO. I used one large eggplant for this (it was more than 2 cups). I used Ritz cracker crumbs. Thanx for shring this great eggplant recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      This was pretty good. We topped it with toasted french onions and that really made the dish for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2012

      I really loved this. In fact, I made it 2 days in a row. I took the first batch to a brunch, and the second to a family dinner. It was a big hit with all. I used skinny Italian eggplants, did not peel or salt them and there was no bitterness. I also used a yellow brick cheese instead of cheddar and garlic/herb seasoned bread crumbs instead of crackers. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Crispy and irresistable! You just can't get enough of this delicious casserole!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      Tasty way to serve eggplant. I made as is, except used a little over 3 cups of eggplant, used only about 1/2 tsp oil, and added extra cheese. It was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Great basic recipe. Make this the first time exactly how the recipe reads then you could put any twist on it you desire.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      I am overwhelmed with eggplant out of the garden. I had 16 sitting in the kitchen. I sliced and froze 8 of them. I was going to throw out the rest but decided to try your recipe. It is wonderful. I did peel my eggplant and used a whole one so it was extra. Now I will be freezing the rest. Oh well! It is delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      I love eggplant but this recipe was just "ok". The milk and eggs make it more eggy than I personally like. This would be better as a breakfast stratta than a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2007

      YUM!! Thanks for a delicious dish. I diced the eggplat, salted it, and drained it for 30 minutes, then rinsed them with cold water. I followed the recipe, except I used butter and shallots instead of margarine and onions. I used breadcrumbs instead of cracker crumbs. I also topped the mixture with more breadcrumbs and butter before putting it in the oven. I baked this at 350 fahrenheit for only 30 minutes. It had a perfect creamy, buttery texture. I will most definately make this again. You made eggplant my new favorite vegetable(:

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Excellent eggplant dish. sliced and salted eggplants for couple of hours. Removed skin and diced eggplant, added diced calabasa. omitted pepper. This dish was great. Served with cilantro pesto pork tenderloin and new potatoes in asiago cream sause. Will definately have this dish again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2007

      Since this has a rather soft texture, I think it makes a better side dish than main. Regardless, the flavour is very good. I salted the eggplant for one hour then drained, rinsed and patted it dry, used butter in place of the margarine, added some sea salt and plenty of cracked black pepper, and otherwise followed the recipe. I used Ritz crackers, and I sprayed some light olive oil onto the casserole dish before adding the eggplant mixture. I baked the dish for approximately 55 minutes, which was perfect. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2007

      EXCELLENT!! Very easy yet very very tasty! I added some oregano and garlic to the mix, to give it some spunk. Will definitely make this one again. Might try it with different cheeses, such as mozzarella or feta .

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I love this recipe, I omitted the milk and added a can of mushroom soup instead. I mashed the eggplant and onion with butter,In a casserole dish, First layered the vedgies, then the cheese mixture, then cracker crumbs. and repeated for a second layer. topped with butter. Everyone loved it! Thanks KJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2006

      I went to the farmers market yesterday and made this cassarole this morning. It is definatly a keeper and reminded me of a quiche. I used butter crackers as that's all I had at the time. Next time I would dice the onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2006

      I made this before with Italian breadcrumbs and didn't like the results at all. This time I used buttery crackers and it was much better. When I reheated the leftovers, I topped it with pepperjack cheese and this was yummy, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      I loved this recipe, how ever I added 1 cup of summer squash and i cup of zuccini and sauted them along with the eggplant and onion. I also added a little more cheese and I used bread crumbs instead of crackers. It turned out great. It is always good to have a basic recipe that you can add too. Thank you for this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2004

      This was fabulous. I will cut the amount of butter in half next time I think. We loved the creamy texture and the flavor this casserole had. I used half saltine carckers and half buttery flavored crackers cause that's what I had and it tasted great. This will join the ranks of eggplant recipes I make all the time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (152 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.7
     
    Calories from Fat 247
    56%
    Total Fat 27.4 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 11.1 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 134.4 mg
    44%
    Sodium 366.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes