Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) Appetizer - Romanian Style - (Vinete) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) Appetizer - Romanian Style - (Vinete)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 12, 2009

      I rate this recipe based on having eaten this dish countless times in my life; it's great with French bread and slices of tomato. To improve color, cut back on some of the salt and oil and add some mayonnaise instead. Make sure it's real mayo. This will really lighten up the color (it will look similar to guacamole) and add a little "something" to the taste. Also using metal utensils tends to darken the color, so try and use only plastic or wood bowls and utensils. When I bring eggplants home from the store, I pierce each with a fork several times, put them in the oven on the middle rack, turn the oven to about 400F and leave them to roast for about 1 hr. You can tell they're done if when you insert a fork or knife in them you meet no resistance after you pierce the skin. I usually leave them in the oven to cool, then take them to the sink, peel the skin off, place the eggplant on a cutting board, position it such that the juices drain in the sink and let them drain a little bit. When roasted properly, they should mash easily with a spoon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2005

      I have not made your recipe, but my recipe is the same, except that I do not use lemon juice. My recipe is #80148 and in Romanian it is called PUTTLAJEL. It is delicious. Alan Leonetti

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      It was just OK for me, maybe too much onion. And it was a bit runny. Perhaps I should strain the eggplant next time and get rid of the excess liquid? I'll probably look for another recipe to try in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I can never have enough of this! I leave out the lemon juice and I wrap the eggplant in a paper towel to cool off and the skin peels of easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      Ok, I followed the recipe and had a few issues to begin with. The eggplant didn't seem to mash up nicely - there were lots of big hunks...maybe I didn't roast long enough - not sure bc the direction didn't say...I don't think it presents that well either because the color is just not that pleasing to the eye. I have to say, this was the most interesting thing I have tried with eggplant. I am always trying to find new ways to use it. I tasted it and it was pretty good. I did a test run to see if I might take it as an appetizer to a party in a few weeks, but decided that most people there aren't too adventuresome and likely would skip right over it (based on how it looks). I do have to say though, the flavor is very interesting. My batch had lots of onion, which I liked and I kept eating and eating it. It isn't something I would make again, but I would eat it again if someone else made it! Maybe it is just an aquired taste. I like the very different way to use eggplant and the flavor was good. I do suggest using a salty craker with it. I think that enhances the flavor a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2007

      I love this dish. My Romanian friend sometimes replaces the oil and lemon juice with the same amount of homemade mayonnaise (made with just egg yolks, sunflower oil, and salt). She also stresses that the grated onions should be squeezed pretty dry before adding to the eggplant. Eat with fresh tomatoes and good bread! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      This is truly fantastic! I make it with extra-virgin olive oil and add chopped green pepper. However you make it it's great! This time I added a pinch of crushed red pepper flakes. I am so glad you shared this! Everytime, we eat or serve this dish, it reminds me of my father and grandfather, they both loved eggplant prepared this way! Thanks again Toolie, Diane :=)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2006

      I just loved this. It was made with garden fresh eggplant, red onion and olive oil came out so sweet and creamy! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2006

      The best sort of recipe--very simple, making the most out of each ingredient and combining simple ingredients in such a way as to make a whole that is far greater than its parts. There is a faint taste of char, just enough, the lemon is present but not pronounced, the oil smoooths but is not unctuous. A delight, Toolie! And thank goodness I resisted the temptation to add garlic et al.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2005

      Yum! This was fantastic! I served it with some french bread that I drizzled with EVOO and some crushed garlic. YUM! Thanks Toolie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2005

      GREAT !! We have this at our home often. My husband is romanian & this is his favorite! I first made it this way & now add mayonnaise instead of oil. I do think this is an acquired taste as most of my extended family & friends dont like it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2005

      This is what I grew up on! Fantastic as is I added 1 teaspoon mayo and after I spread it on bread I topped it with sliced tomatoes divine. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) Appetizer - Romanian Style - (Vinete)

    Serving Size: 1 (89 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 109.7
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    76%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.5 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites