Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Eggplant (Aubergine) and Feta Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Eggplant (Aubergine) and Feta Casserole

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2013

      Although I didn't add the cilantro this time, I felt this was a great GF dish. I "fried" the eggplant in the oven at 450 degrees after spritzing the slices with oil and putting them on parchement paper. If you cook the casserole covered for more time (I did 40 minutes), then the onions are not crunchy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      This was really good! I am not a fan of cilantro so I omitted and I used a can of crushed tomatoes, everything else I kept the same and it was awesome. I did think it was a little heavy on the onion but it was still great. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      Loved the mix of flavors and a wonderful way to use the frozen, breaded eggplant slices I already have in my freezer! I also precooked the onions a bit first. Even using petite diced canned tomatoes, it was wonderful! Will definately make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2011

      Pretty tasty way to make eggplant! I loved all the fresh herbs and spices. It reminds me a lot of a frittata with the egg baking on top. Very light and fresh! I added a jalapeno to spice it up and my boyfriend loved it! It did take awhile to get the egg mixture to set...probably at least an hour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      Deliscious dish, only a little moisty for me, left in the oven almost one hour. Thank you for post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Outstanding dish!! When I told my DH we were having eggplant for dinner, he said (with a sly grin) "I'm allergic to eggplant"......NOT!! He just THOUGHT he didn't like eggplant until he tried this wonderful dish. A perfect blend of flavors. I can't wait to make it again, it was thoroughly enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      Oh boy this was good! I used fresh tomatoes roughly cut and omitted the cilantro, did not have. This dish kind of reminded me of frittata, but without so much egg. I was a bit leery of the spice mixture, but it was really good. Be careful with the sage, it can overpower a dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Brought this to a collaborative supper with our neighbors, and we all enjoyed it very much. I did saute the onions a little to soften them first. Great combination of herbs and spices!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      We made this casserole for dinner tonight and liked it. It is not difficult to prepare and worked well as a weeknight meal. I served with an arugula salad with feta cheese and pomegranate-infused balsamic vinegar (purchased at Fustinis in Traverse City). I liked that this had a subtle spicy flavor. While we liked it, we didn't love it. Thanks for a quick, easy, veggie meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      If you like eggplant or quiche, you will LOVE this. I did. easy to make and super tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2008

      I love this. I found it a great recipe to bring to a potluck.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      I couldn't wait to review this! I have an odd-take on this dish. First, I used lowfat ingredients and had to sub with dried herbs which I would easily do again. More interesting: I actually found this dish to be good served immediately.. but *outstanding* when chilled and served as a cold-salad of sorts the following day! What a great side dish for a warm-summer evening to jazz up a grilled chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Very tasty, and very easy to put together. My husband forgot to buy the Feta at the store, so I used a combination of mozzarella and parmesan. Definitely would have been better with the Feta, but it was still tasty. I would not categorize this as a main dish, but if you added grilled chicken strips or something like that, it could serve as a meal. I think the key ingredient is the fresh cilantro. It adds such a wonderfully bright flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      This is the first time I have tried eggplant and I must say that this is a fantastic dish! I did add four eggs instead of three as it didn't seem like it would be enough to cover - I am glad that I did. Other than that I didn't change anything, although next time I think I will add some garlic to this very Italian tasting dish. Thanks for making my first time eating eggplant a less scary prospect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      I enjoyed this a lot - it's very flavourful and a great combo of ingredients. It was nice and easy to make and the directions were spot on. This isn't quite 5 star for me because personally I felt it was a little too tomatoey. I couldn't find stewed tomatoes so used regular canned (as previous reviewers have) and, while I don't think this would really have affected the taste, I wonder if I shouldn't have drained them first as it was very watery and, as I say, a bit overpowering. I'll probably make this again but I'll be making a couple of amendments. Thanks Engrossed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      Very good! I liked it. It was easy to prepare. The taste reminded me of dish my mom use to make.It was nice to eat warm, but even better cold. When warm the taste of onion is little bit overpowering, but I didn't mind, because I like onions. Day after, eating it cold, it was much better, since all flavors just blended wonderfully. And it's very nice looking dish, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2007

      I'm a great fan of the combination of eggplant and tomatoes, but this was a new and unusual combination of seasonings for me. It was truly declicious. (I used canned diced tomatores rather than stewed, but I doubt that changed the taste experience much.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Wonderful Eggplant recipe and I love cilantro so this was great for me, you can really taste the flavour. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      Wow! A great new way to fix eggplant! Those fresh herbs and feta really give this casserole spectacular flavor. My eggplants were the very long, slender chinese eggplants, so I used 3 of them for this recipe. I may have gone a little heavier on the feta ;) but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Thanx for posting this. It's a real keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      Delicious! I followed the recipe exact except I could not find fresh cilantro this time of year in Alaska so I used dried. Even my husband who doesn't care for eggplant ate it and liked it. Easy to put together, wonderful blend of flavors. Another winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Eggplant (Aubergine) and Feta Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 143.4
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    44%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 110.8 mg
    36%
    Sodium 628.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 8.0 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes