26 Reviews

I made this to the letter, and it was wonderful. I am an eggnog fan, but I have lots of family that isn't. They didn't even know the difference! It tastes like a denser butter pound cake. I also prepared these ahead of time and froze them. They were just as wonderful defrosted as they were straight out of the oven. It was a great option for last minute holiday get-togethers.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kriggsbee June 03, 2010

I made this bread for Thanksgiving, though I used my own eggnog (since I had none, lol). Every single person who ate this bread asked for a recipe, and one of the families had theirs the next morning in french toast. A hit all around and very reminiscent of Challah but MUCH easier. To make without eggnog, use 1 cup water, 1/3 cup dried milk powder (OR 1 cup milk), 1 extra tablespoon vanilla, an extra egg, and an extra 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg. This is incredible, for sure.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildheart November 26, 2006

I made this for a Christmas buffet today and found it to be a very easy recipe and also very tasty. I don't care for rum flavoring so I used a little extra vanilla.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla in California December 25, 2003

I am rating this review AFTER I made a couple adjustments. This bread was a little dry so I decreased the flour to 1 3/4 c. I also increased the nutmeg to 1/2 tsp. The flavor was fantastic and the bread was moist and delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wallstreet7 December 08, 2015

Delish! I'm not a baker but found this very easy to make. Thanks HDMac for a nice keeper. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme November 28, 2013

Delicious and easy! I used a low-fat dairy eggnog, and it still was perfect. Very much like a pound cake in texture and pleasing to all in flavor. Thanks for posting this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! February 09, 2010

Great recipe, very easy! I added some cinnamon based on previous reviewers' suggestions and it tastes great. Also took my oven some extra time, about 1 hour to cook. Results were delicious - will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pixie0428 January 04, 2010

Very nice! It wasn't exactly what I was expecting - it came out more like a pound cake than a bread, and I'd like more eggnog flavor. But it turned out well, and it tasted good, and I think it will make nice Christmas gifts. The only change I made was to use rum instead of rum extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunkie68 December 23, 2009

Fabulous right out of the oven! My son and I loved it. I didn't have any rum extract, so just used 3 tsp. vanilla. Very good...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
punkarooni December 07, 2009

This is very good bread. I made it before, but again this morning. I love to have it during the holidays. Haven't tried to freeze eggnog but will have to try it this year. Great with coffee or tea as a snack or desert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 22, 2008
Eggnog Quick Bread