16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A very tasty way to start the Holiday weekend, made using homemade eggnog and the walnut oil (highly recommend) suggest in the header instead of the sesame oil. I cut the recipe in half and had plenty for DH and myself, the batter was I bit thick which is ok with us because we like our pancakes to be a bit on the thick side. Thanks for the post.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 24, 2011

I'm not sure what the writer of this recipe wanted with the sesame oil. It overpowers the entire pancake and it tasted like Asian eggnog pancakes. You could barely taste the eggnog. I think if you omit the sesame oil there is a good chance these would taste great. They are a heavier pancake and if you like that sort of thing than these are good without sesame oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
juliecooks4u December 13, 2014

Annacia these pancakes are wonderful, light, fluffy and chewy, with just a hint of eggnog. I made my own eggnog, it worked great in the recipe. I also used the sesame oil option and I added 1/2 cup of milk to the pancake mixture to thin it out a bit, (personal preference only) These are some of the best pancakes I have ever tried. The flavour from the sesame oil and eggnog really take this to another dimension...although, next time I make them, I will use a little less oil, it was the strongest flavor....I heated up the maple syrup and really enjoyed the way, it totally covered and glazed the pancakes. Kudos to you my friend for another great pancake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato May 27, 2013

These were real good pancakes although we thought that it could of used a little more eggnog in it. These did have great flavor, as the oils are a great combo, as long as the amount of syrup. Made for PRMR tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weekend cooker January 03, 2010

These were very tasty. I must say I doubled the recipe since it said that it serves 2-4. I ended up with way too much, so I think the recipe actually serves 5. I added a whole lot of milk at the end to thin out the batter. As other reviewers said, you do have to cook them on a low temp or they brown super fast. Halfway through I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter, too, for extra flavor. YUMMY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin December 20, 2009

Yum! We really enjoyed these! Used Horizon organic lowfat eggnog, my favorite. Not overpoweringly spicy or eggy, but the hint of eggnog was definitely there. And they smelled delicious! Followed the recipe as stated including the sesame oil which did add a nice flavor. Batter is thick which made the pancakes fluffy and wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LonghornMama February 03, 2009

These are a delicious way to use up the leftover, holiday eggnog. The kids couldn't get enough of them! I used the sesame oil but did not find that it added much so will use canola next time. I too thinned the batter (with milk) as they are very thick. They are rich and golden due to all of the eggs so they have a tendancy to brown quickly - so keep your eye on them on the griddle. Actually, keep your eye on your plate too or someone might swipe yours! Thanks Annacia.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acerast January 11, 2009

Really nice pancakes, and a great addition to my collection on how to use up leftover eggnog :) I added a dash of nutmeg before pouring out the pancakes. I also wasn't paying close enough attention and made a little mistake, but they turned out fluffy and delicious, so perhaps I should keep making the same mistake! I accidentally overlooked the 1 t sesame oil and added the 2 T vegetable oil to the batter in the first step. This meant that the batter was very pourable and easy to work with. I used some non-stick cooking spray to cook the pancakes on the stovetop, instead of adding more oil, and it worked beautifully. I also halved the recipe and found that it made plenty for two of us (two pancakes each). Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews January 01, 2009

i'm not a huge eggnog fan, but these came out good - a little bit of flavor and sweetness - no syrup needed

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ December 16, 2008
Eggnog Pancakes