18 Reviews

SUPER EASY TO MAKE. About the making: I used golden raisins (personal preference), fresh nutmeg (because it ROCKS), and sprinkled suger on top of the muffins before baking (I do that when making any muffin recipe- we like the crispy top). TASTEY. Subtle in flavor, you wouldn't expect these to be so addictive... but they are. They came out of the oven and into mouthes. The whole batch of 18 muffins were gone within an hour. Met all of my 5 star requirements. My family thanks you, Inez, for adding a new munchy to our Christmas day menu.

20 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BothFex November 08, 2002

light, eggnogy taste, very easy to make, yields 16 medium-sized muffins would make them again!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
woodland hues December 17, 2002

I am eating one of these tasty morsels right now.They are very nice!I used vanilla eggnog and also added 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the batter.I omitted the salt.I toasted the pecans before I added them to the batter.It enhances the nuttiness.I also sprinkled the tops with cinnamon sugar mixture that I had left over from another recipe.These make a great tasting light and fluffy muffin.Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny December 28, 2008

Oh my god, I loved these. I think I ate like 7 as soon as they got out of the oven. I excluded the golden raisins, but WOW. Definitely 5 stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roosie March 09, 2003

YUMMMMMMY!!! I made these during the week of Christmas. I loved the subtle eggnog and wonderful nutmeg flavor. The raisins and nuts were tasty additions. We ate them warm right out of the oven. Wonderful treat. Thanks Nurse Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jillian L January 01, 2003

I made these on Christmas morning. The smell was so "come hither", that everyone gathered in the kitchen and wouldn't go away until they were ready. Very light and tender in texture. We thought it tasted like a cup of eggnog and the nutmeg made it fabulous. Thanks Nurse Di for another great one.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes December 29, 2002

My whole family thought these muffins were incredible. I made them for breakfast on Christmas morning. Very soft and tender texture. Lovely nutmeg eggnog flavor. I think we have a new tradition starting. Thanks Nurse Di.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 December 26, 2002

Heeyyyyy - Wow... we sure love these muffins !!! Have read all the reviews... and some tips that I'll try. I bought & froze 2 gallons of eggnog... so am all fixed up for the winter season (after the eggnog goes off the shelf). 'Sharing' is just FABULOUS I think. :) rickie

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rickie November 12, 2008

The first time I made these I wasn't happy with the too mild taste but they were moist. This time I made several changes. Used 1/2 wheat and 1/2 white flour. Added a 28 oz. can of mixed fruit, well drained and then coated with 2 Tlb of flour. I soaked then raisins in a liquor overnight. Added 3/4 c ground flax seed. I doubled the recipe then stirred in the raisins, mixed fruit and nuts. I filled the muffin tins and got 36 muffins. They are moist and very flavorful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH March 22, 2008

Made these with pumpkin eggnog. The kids did not want the raisins or nuts - maybe that would have made them more flavorful. I think they also needed a little more sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WorkingMom2three January 16, 2008
Eggnog Muffins