85 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I came across this recipe and being a HUGE fan of eggnog thought I must try these. Finally had time yesterday. Barely waited for them to cool, took a bit and thought "what's all the fuss"? Weren't bad but not killer. Then this morning grabbed one with my coffee... OMG... you absolutely MUST let these sit a day. Was only going to give these 3 stars yesterday, luckily I didn't have time to review them... I would now like to give more then 5 stars. Thank you THANK you for this awesome cookie recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podapo December 24, 2005

Made these the other day and they were good. One thing is that this recipe did not make 6 dozen, but only 3 dozen and I made them pretty small. Alot different then the same ol' chocolate or nut cookies. Thanks for the post. I will be making them again and they just might make it to work (unless I eat them all).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smilyn December 22, 2005

These are great! I couldn't keep my kids out of them. I didn't make any adjustments and they turned out perfect. I will be making these again! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ms24tex December 21, 2005

I like these, and I don't like eggnog. Curiously, my father loves eggnog, but doesn't really care for these. Why? Because they taste more like gingerbread! I like the flavor and these were easy to make, but I'm only giving three stars because I had a terrible time trying to get these off the cookie sheets. I even used no-stick cookie sheets, and these were impossible to remove without them crumbling to pieces!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coconutcream December 20, 2005

Terrific subtle eggnog flavor! I sprinkled cinnamon on top instead of nutmeg and they are terrific. My DS ate two before I told them it was an egg nog cookie. He just loves them. A cookie I will now make every year during the Holidays. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
E.A. December 20, 2005

Made these with my 4 year old GD and we just couldn't stay out of them. Another batch made today (3 days after original)...they too are almost gone! Moist cookie that improves with flavor if you don't eat them all the first day. Thanks for a great recipe that we will make again and again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CindiJ December 11, 2005

These cookies did not turn out great for me however I’m not a very experienced baker. I think I used too much batter per cookie because they were rather large and puffy when I was done, kind of like a biscuit not a cookie. However, I think that this texture is interesting and would like to try the same recipe with other flavors because I did not really enjoy the taste of the eggnog in the end (the eggnog I used was from the supermarket). Next time I would add savory flavors, maybe caramelized onions, pears and raisins sautéed in a little butter and pureed slightly, instead of the eggnog.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chez Desirée December 11, 2005

These cookies are tasty. Because of comments, I did not put in the full amount of nutmeg. However, the dough is so soft I was unable to use a cookie scoop and I did refrigerate the dough for an hour. They certainly are not the nicest looking cookies I have made.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 December 11, 2005

I was a bit hesitant about using a tsp. of nutmeg so I cut it to 1/2 tsp. and that worked out nicely. I did add a pinch of nutmeg to the top of the cookies after they came out of the oven...delicious ! Lovely, mild eggnog flavour....nothing was overwhelming! I am making these for a cookie exchange at work so wanted to try them out first.....very happy I did.....they are the right choice for my cookie exchange and will be a big hit next week at the office! thanks for posting....I love an unusual cookie !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cfletcher December 11, 2005

I was very suprised that we didn't like this cookie(many great reviews). I found the nutmeg taste overwhelming. The texture of the cookie was doughy even though I left them in a minute longer than suggested. I don't know what I did wrong, but will not make this cookie again. Sorry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stuckinarut December 02, 2005
Eggnog Cookies