85 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Two years later, I had to come back and re-review these cookies because of the memory of their wonderful flavor! I used Pumpkinhead's method with a #40 cookie scoop to make them round and sprinkled them with a "pinch" of red and green sugar to make them festive. My kids ate so many, I had to make a second batch for my church's cookie exchange! Marvelous! Thanks RecipeNut.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
acerast December 05, 2004

I cut the recipe in half but still accidently used 2 egg yolks. I also used half butter, half margerine, and kept the cinnamon the same (I like cinnamon). Still tasted excellent. I found that it was more difficult to remove the cookies from the sheet the cooler they got. I don't know if it is from my inexperience/ineptitude as a baker, or if it is b/c the cookie sheets i use are rather old (yeah, that's it... blame the cookware ;-)). Anyway, excellent cookies, even my chocolate-loving family likes them.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trc December 22, 2002

I thought these had a good flavor but a bit too much nutmeg. I would cut it to 1/2 tsp rather than the full tsp. and maybe increase the cinnamon instead but were very good if you love eggnog!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bikelap9 December 21, 2002

I just could not resist adding a bag of chocolate chunks to this one. They were so rich it should be illegal!! Paul

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paul Turcott December 08, 2002

These were so delish! I love eggnog, and had some to use. They were more fluffy than I expected, but quite yummy! Thanks for a recipe that I know I will use again soon! ;)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Miss Diggy*~ November 26, 2002

the cookies came out great!!! 10 stars all the way! i sent a batch to my new in-laws and they loved them!!!! these are going in my Christmas cookie batch from now on!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melmabob December 19, 2010

Absolutely fantastic!!! These are definitely going into my Christmas cookie rotation! I took another reviewers advice and added the eggnog frosting (1 1/2 cups powder sugar 3 tbs eggnog...added few sprinkles of nutmeg and cinnamon into the frosting and again on top while drying on cookie) I did half with half without and the frosting takes these cookies to another level! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenniferElizabeth December 22, 2009

They were a bit too heavy with regular egg nog. I also made them with soynog, and despite that soynog doesn't taste as good as eggnog straight, these cookies tasted better with soynog. The soynog icing is a must- again, better than the eggnog icing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alexsummer123 December 29, 2010

Added these cookies to my christmas baking. They were alright. Gave it four stars because one of my sons liked them because they tasted like egg nog and he loves egg nog. I did not like these cookies at all compared to all of the other yummy treats we made and they were the last to go. The consistancy of the cookie is not appetizing and the flavor is nothing to write home about. Don't think we will make again especially with all the great cookie recipes we have found on Zaar!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Uniqleeme January 02, 2010

These are so tasty and so simple and the smell when you are cooking them will drive you crazy! Made them for my cookies exchange, the only thing I did differently was use a cookie scoop so they ended up beautiful and round. thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pumpkie December 07, 2003
Eggnog Cookies