58 Reviews

This recipe is fabulous IF you read all the comments and incorporate the suggestions. My first attempt didn't rise and was dry.

The second time I added moisture (extra applesauce) and apple cider vinegar and it worked perfectly.

All the 5-star reviews contain modifications to the original recipe, so be sure to read them before you start baking.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tejup June 04, 2012

these were really good. Even when i left them in the fridge for 2 days they were still moist. I did have to add more water and some rice milk. My batter was really dry. And i also added some ap cider vinegar to make sure they rise.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
valgal123 October 05, 2008

I actually would give thses a 4.5. The only think I thought was off, at least for my taste was the nutmeg. It was a little strong. Next time I will use only a 1/4 tsp instead. Very moist, and rose nicely while cooked. These do not rise too much though, so fill the pans about 3/4 the way full. Thanks for posting such a healthy snack.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
knaylor76 January 02, 2008

I soooo loved this carrot cake. I added another 1/2 cup of apple sauce. I also made a frosting of vegan margarine, coconut, icing sugar, lemon juice and vanilla essence. To die for! Even my male colleagues who oppose my vegan lifestyle liked it. Will definitely make it again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EvaNZ March 23, 2008

Super easy and delicious! I made these for a group 1st birthday party and the parents and babies devoured them! Not even the husbands minded that they were healthy, that is a strong compliment! I made basic cream cheese frosting with 4c powdered sugar, a splash of vanilla and an 8oz cream cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
InspiredByLife April 17, 2010

I read the reviews and did what a lot of people said. I added another half cup of applesauce and used a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar. These cupcakes are beyond amazing!! They came out perfect!! I used the recipe for vegan cream cheese frosting and yum!! I gave a few to my neighbor across the street that is not a vegan fan, and he fell in love! I will be making these again and again!! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chosengirl817 October 20, 2015

Wow this recipe is amazing. I read through the comments first and made a few changes because I wanted this to turn out correct. I've never made anything vegan before and was extremely apprehensive but I will definitely make this one again. The only thing I changed was adding another 1/2 cup of unsweetend applesauce and used the whole 20 oz can of crushed pineapple with juice. They didn't rise very much so be sure to fill the cupcake liner almost to the top but with the changes they were so moist. I also tried one with icing and one without and honestly it tastes so much better without! This was originally made for a celebration for a vegan friend of mine who requested carrot cake cupcakes but my brother is allergic to eggs and milk and I will definitely have to make these for him as well. Definitely will have to make these again!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Racheal F. October 08, 2015

nope! don't waste your ingredients. the mixture comes out SO dry!! i tried following some of the suggestions in the comments, but it never seemed like batter and the "cupcakes" turned out mediocre AT BEST!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heather M. August 16, 2015

I just made these and they were pretty delicious for a vegan cupcake. I followed the advise of some of the previous post and added 2 cups of applesauce as opposed to 1, and 1 teaspoon of apple cider vinegar to ensure they would rise. I also omitted the nutmeg. They were moist and I will definitely make them again using raisins and walnuts.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
higherfaith101 July 20, 2015

My one year old loves them and so do the adults too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alecia Pearl February 10, 2013
Eggless Vegan Carrot Cake Cupcakes