45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love eggnog, so I was skeptical about how this would taste. It is delicious!! Now I can drink eggnog year-round and not wait for the commercial eggnog that is sold only in Nov. and Dec. (I never made homemade eggnog using eggs because of concerns over salmonella.) Thanks for the recipe!!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimar September 09, 2002

I was very skeptical but hopeful about this recipe, since I love eggnog. I made it with soy milk and held off on that extra sugar till the end to see if it really needed it. It did. I also added an extra pinch of nutmeg. This is a fantastic substitute to eggy eggnog! We all loved it and will be drinking it throughout the holidays. Bottoms up!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama December 09, 2002

This was really yummy, and so easy to make! I've had a package of vanilla instant pudding at home for absolutely ages now, without any use for it, because the pudding on its own is too sweet for anyone's tastebuds at home. I was a little wary of adding the sugar because I thought it would be too sweet, but it turned out just right. The nutmeg and vanilla flavours are perfect together. I haven't been able to spend much time at Zaar lately, but every time I make one of these recipes, I know why this place rocks! Thanks Mirjam!

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anu July 28, 2002

Wow, Wow, Wow! I Love eggnog. Egg nog, egg nog ice cream, egg nog in my coffee, egg nog shakes. I am so sad to see it leave the grocer shelves and stock up to satisfy my craves later. I would never "make" eggnog because I will not use raw eggs in anything. I made this with high hopes. I am not disappointed! Taste great! I mixed half the milk with the dry ingredients in the blender and then added the "nog" to the rest of the milk.(my blender won't hold 8 cups) Remember to give it a shake before drinking! I Like this so much I'm mixing it up in Christmas baggies to give with my holiday cookies! (and I can make sugar free nog for my Grandma)

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
princess buttercup December 21, 2002

THANK YOU!!! I am living in Germany and cannot get eggnog even when it's Christmas...plus, I'm pregnant and do not want anything with raw eggs in it. So, I'm enjoying a glass of "eggnog" in February!!!! Delicious!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momofpjc March 01, 2003

Ok, I've made this about a half-dozen times since first trying it and found it delicious. I make it in a double batch, and store it in the milk jug I just emptied. Two batches of this can fill a one-gallon milk jug, with about 1 cup leftover for instant gratification. This is extremely easy, and the chore of making this recipe has now passed onto my 12 and 14 year olds. It's less sweet than the store bought version, as well as less thick.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla Jones December 31, 2003

LOVE IT! I like mine thicker so I added more pudding but no more sugar. I didn't have nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice. Our local dairy has the best eggnog in full fat, lite and fat free. Tastes very similar to the light!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vixoffer October 21, 2009

My original review from 2003: "Very good. I used sugar free pudding and splenda and skim milk. I was making this in anticipation of my fil's arrival as he is allergic to eggs and is a diabetic. I also used my immersion blender and that worked well. Yum." This year I decided I wanted some for Thanksgiving. I used cheesecake pudding because it's what I had and 1/2 splenda and 1/2 sugar. Oh so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit November 24, 2006

I originally gave this recipe stars...I thought about it afterwards, and I feel that perhaps it isnt fair to rate this recipe with stars, because my milkshake didnt get thick...I think it was the brand I bought, next time I would buy jello brand pudding instead of generic. I think this didnt turn out due to quality of product.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chef FIFI November 30, 2004

Thanks Mirj for a wonderful recipe. We can't get eggnog over here in England, or at least I havn't been able to find it, and this was a wonderful taste of home for me. It has definitly gone on my list of Christmas favorites and I will make this every year from now on. Easy, inexpensive and tasty! What more could you ask for?

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieRynr December 27, 2003
Eggless Eggnog