42 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a good recipe with one exception, too much salt. Next time I make this I will use 1/4 teaspoon. I added 1 teaspoon baking powder and cut down on the sugar by adding agave nectar. moist recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bettycrockernot June 03, 2012

Awesome Recipe! I am new to baking and have already fallen in love with it! Followed every letter of this recipe and the bread turned out great!! Thanks:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krush9288 July 11, 2014

Was looking for any sweet treat with the word "Eggless" in it and this is what peaked my interest when I searched. My daughter is allergic to both soy and eggs. I made the following substitutions; reduced sugar by 1/4 cup (and used 1/4 cup white and 1/4 cup brown). I upped the vanilla to 1/2 teaspoon. I was almost out of all purpose flour (and had no wheat) so used 1 cup AP and 1/2 cup bread flour. We used 1/2 cup Enjoy Life Chocolate mini chips (no soy) and wow, what a hit! It tasted heavenly...thank you so much! Oh, I also sprinkled the top with a little raw sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa December 05, 2013

This turned out really well. :) I didn't have applesauce, so I used cranberry sauce instead. Everything else, I used the ingredients as listed, except I didn't have the nuts and choc. chips to add, so ours was pretty simple. :) I was out of eggs, so it was nice to find a recipe I can use when I'm running pretty short on groceries. It always takes my oven a really long time to get this type of bread done in the middle, so I had to cook it longer... hubby enjoyed it and wants to take some in his lunch tomorrow.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbcm November 21, 2013

As I am a stickler for following a recipe as written the first time, this review is based on just that--the recipe as written. And it was WAY too salty, for my taste. My gut was nagging at me the entire time I measured and dumped a whole teaspoon of salt into the batter, but what can I say? I'm a stickler! <br/><br/>That said, I think the consistency of this bread is good and moist, and being that there are not a ton of options out there for my kiddo who is allergic to eggs, I will most definitely be making this recipe again. With about half the salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ebaldes October 18, 2013

I love this recipe! I made it last night with great success in muffin form. Today I'm making it as a birthday cake for my husband. The only thing I change is the sugar..I always cut back on the sugar a bit with banana breads because I find the really ripe bananas add their own sweetness.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa_Barnes August 07, 2013

This is my new favorite banana bread recipe, and I have tried MANY different recipes, with or without eggs. This is the best! I first searched for an eggless banana bread when I ran out off eggs. The first recipe I tried was okay, but had a weird consistency when I replaced some of the butter with applesauce. So when I found this recipe I knew that I would have to give it a try. The second time I made this I even forgot to add the butter, but it came out great! From now on I won't even add it any more. Saves money and calories!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A.'s Kitchen March 06, 2013

This is a great recipe for a healthy and filling breakfast or snack during the day. Nice banana flavour heightened by the walnuts. A bit too much sugar, could reduce it by 1/4 of the measurement. I left out the chocolate but may try it with some cranberries next time. If you find the bananas are not as ripe as you'd like once you've peeled them, add one more - it really adds to the moistness of the bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roticanai January 07, 2013

What a fantastic recipe! My son has severe food allergies to eggs & dairy, but loves cooking and eating ;). It's not always easy to find recipes that are dairy/egg free that everyone will like, but when I saw all of the positive reviews I had to try this recipe. We will be making this again and again I'm sure. Thank you so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Effis April 03, 2011

This is, hands-down, my favorite banana bread recipe that I have found thus far. I have shared it with everyone at work and I have made it probably at least once a month for the past 6 months or so. I came across it when I had some ripe bananas and no eggs, so I searched for an eggless banana bread and found this one. It is SUPER moist, has great flavor, and I use dark chocolate chunks instead of chips. Seriously, the best!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ksoriano March 13, 2011
Eggless Banana Bread