Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Yolk Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Yolk Cookies

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on July 04, 2009

      Great way to use up left-over egg yolks. These cookies are very good. I had five egg yolks in the freezer and added one fresh yolk (froze the white for use later on). I did not have the extracts but since we love ginger I used three dessert spoons ginger syrup and four teaspoons ginger powder. (no, they were not too gingery at all). Furthermore I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup margarine and since I discovered that I was almost out of flour I used two cups flour and 1/2 cup quick-cooking rolled oats. I got 52 cookies and they baked for almost 11 minutes. The cookies were crisp around the edge and nice and soft in the center. In short, delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2011

      I had leftover egg yolks and didn't want to waste them so I made these cookies but changed a few things. These are way high in fat and carbs. I don't eat a lot of fatty things. So, to make these lower in sugar and fat. I replaced all the sugar with same amount of replacement sugar that does not cause stomach upset! I replaced 1/2 the fat with 1/2 applesauce (baby food style) and 1/2 butter. All of this worked well. The cookies are not terribly sweet which I love and the lower fat made me feel better about eating these. They're filling too. Next, I plan to find a way to lower all the fat. Oh, and I didn't have any orange extract so I used orange zest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This recipe was really easy to do (I did with my 9 year old daughter), they turned out great, and my entire family loved them. I only had 3 yolks that I needed to use up so I made a half batch. I didn't have any orange or lemon so I substitued for 1 tsp almond, also I had to add some more flour to recipe as it seemed too loose. I will definately make this again with my leftover egg yolks - thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2013

      Turned out great. Used lemon and vanilla. Got 21 out of half a recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      I agree, it's a great way to use left-over egg yolks. I did not have lemon or orange extracts so I experimented with coconut and pineapple extracts. Instead of rolling them in sugar I patted them with sweetened coconut. I got 50 cookies and cooked them in a conve=ction oven for 8 minutes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2012

      Awesome recipe. I omitted the vanilla, doubled the lemon and orange extracts, used half white and half brown sugar, and added 1 tsp lemon peel and 1 cup dried cranberries... to really amp up the flavor. Will make an almond version next.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This recipe is super easy, is a great way to use up egg yolk and the basis uses things that you most certainly have on hand in your kitchen. I did not use the lemon and orange extract, because I didn't have it. I did one batch with 1t of vanilla extract and 1t of rum extract. And I did one batch with 1t of vanilla and 1t of strawberry extract. I rolled the rum ones in plain white sugar and the strawberry ones in a mixture of white and red sugar, 'cause it's Christmastime. The rums ones are better than the strawberry, but both were good. Easy recipe to be able to tweak to what you have in the house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      I did not try the recipe exactly as written, but it inspired me to make a cookie more suited for fall. I used vanilla and almond extracts, and I used a mixture of cinnamon and sugar to roll them in before baking. AMAZING. I used half butter/half shortening, too, and I replaced about a third of the flour with whole wheat white flour. You can't even tell. YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Yummy!!! I didn't have shortening or the lemon or orange extracts, so I used butter and 2 tsp of vanilla. They were great!! Tasted like snicker-doodles minus the cinnamon. I'm making more today and I'll roll them in cinnamon-sugar instead! Thanks so much for this recipe, I can't stand wasting food and I had so many yolks left from the angel food cake I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      These were great. Added a few white chocolate chips but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Downside - these are terribly unhealthy - so I'll be eating the egg whites in my diet and baking these sinful goodies and giving them away to use my yolks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      These are great! My younger daughter and I went searching for a good cookie recipe to use up lots of egg yolks after my older daughter made a double batch of meringues earlier this afternoon.

      These Egg Yolk Cookies are nice and crispy, but also tender. They were very easy to make with my six year old baking partner! I used butter, one stick with salt and one stick without salt. We added a half of a package of strawberry jello for flavor and pink color, mixing it in with the egg yolks and the vanilla and letting the mixture sit for 5 minutes to allow the gelatin to absorb the liquids-- I didn't have lemon or orange essence on hand, hence the switch in flavoring tactics. They are also pink in honor of Valentine's Day and because it's my younger daughter's favorite color right now! I doubled the vanilla to 2 tsp to try to keep the same amount of wetness.

      We mixed in a bag of white chocolate chips, too at the very end. Cooking them for 8 minutes was perfect (so that the pink wouldn't become brown). These cookies are very soft when you first take them out of the oven, but they crunch up nicely after the melted sugar in the mix cools and re-hardens. The cookies spread slightly, but not as much as I thought that they might. They still stayed fairly thick. I would definitely make these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      I made these delicious cookies (called biscuits in South Africa) using 3 egg yolks, 1/2 tsp vanilla essence, 1 heaped teaspoon each of lemon and orange rind as I did not have any extracts. The biscuits did not have to go into the fridge as they were not sticky at all and I am thrilled with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      These are like little bites of sunshine. I really love the subtle citrus flavor in these. I used egg yolks only and will be using the whites for another cookie recipe later this evening. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      YUM... I just made these cookies, (doubled the batch, because I had a dozen yolks from making an angel food cake) I can't stop eating them! I will freeze half of the dough for later. Used 1/2 butter & 1/2 shortening. This is a keeper! I bet it would make a great fruit pizza crust.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2010

      This recipe is the BEST! I used the egg yolk only version, they were just like soft delicious sugar cookies! They are one of my favorite cookies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      This is the 3rd time I've made these, and the 1st time with whole eggs. Both ways produce such super cookies. My 14 yr. old DS inhales them. Cindy Lynn is right to suggest chilling the dough before rolling. The dough can be very sticky. I like to freeze some of the dough as it defrosts quickly and warm and fresh cookies are just minutes away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

      Absolutely fantastic! I've been making this recipe constantly for the past six months, and everybody (including me) has gobbled these down like a pack of hungry wolves! The lemon and orange flavoring was a fantastic idea! I have found, however, that when you use 3 whole eggs instead of just egg yolks, the cookies are a lot chewier and softer. The ones with just egg yolks tend to spread out a lot more and get harder and crispier more quickly. Since I prefer my cookies soft & chewy, I usually make mine with whole eggs. I have to bake these a little longer (the full 10 minutes at least). Anyways, with all of that out of the way, I would just like to congratulate (and thank) you for posting my friends' (and I mean all of my friends) favorite cookie recipe of all time! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      awesome! I omitted the orange and lemon extracts and used vanilla extract, almond extract and fresh lemon and orange zest instead. deliciously light and flavorful. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2009

      Oh WoW...what a great cookie! used lemon and vanilla and mixed in sugar with green sugar..mmmm

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2009

      Indeed great way to use leftover egg yolks. Just did it with my kids, 48 cookies, delicious. Thanks for the great suggestion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Yolk Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (15 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 60

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 70.8
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    44%
    Total Fat 3.5 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 24.7 mg
    8%
    Sodium 48.9 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites