32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Being English, this is a sandwich that I know and love! I loved the added addition of the black pepper and also the idea if using a piece of baguette too. A delicious sandwich what I made today for lunch using a large slice of Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread that I had made this morning. I used home-made mayonnaise and plenty of black pepper with a smidge of sea salt. I am usually a "mash it all together gal" for the egg and tomatoes, but the flavours were still wonderful. Made for Veg'N'Swap and enjoyed very much. Merci Starry, FT:-)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart March 29, 2010

Wonderful...try adding a layer of lettuce and a couple of slices of bacon...So yummy!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
socrmom0410 July 16, 2013

Locally made 9-grain bread, local eggs, local heirloom tomatoes! I added a little
bit of baby arugula to each sandwich but either way with or without greens this is good! One slice of bread was spread with mayo and the other with yellow mustard. I also
sprinkled on salt and freshly cracked black pepper. One thing I should mention is that it is best to prepare the sandwiches right before eating; the tomato juice makes the bread soggy quickly. I will make this again soon because we still have quite a surplus of fresh heirlooms on hand. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Tag/September.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl September 05, 2012

Awesome, I've had mayo and tomato or tomato and egg, but never mayo, egg and tomato in one sandwich! Very nice combination, we liked it a lot. Thanks for sharing!
Made for ZWT 8 / Great Britain for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany August 20, 2012

This is really tasty. I liked using a baguette and the black pepper. It made a filling breakfast. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT8.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 August 19, 2012

I made this especially for DH's post-workout lunch. I love that this is so simple and uses ingredients I always have on hand - I keep HB eggs on hand so that if we're running late for work or need a perfect-protein snack, we can just grab one and go. DH really liked it too - except for the bread! He is not a huge bread fan anymore, always looking to cut bread out when he can - but that is his personal preference. I'll try this for him again on those little "sandwich thins" - that will satisfy his bread issue. Thanks for posting Starry - this is a recipe I will use often for my husband as it's quick, easy and very portable for his workout schedule. Made for ZWT8 and the Herbaceous Curvaceous Honeys! Photo to follow...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FloridaNative August 18, 2012

A simple little sandwich with big flavor! I used our favorite pumpernickle rolls and added salt to the tomatoes and pepper to the eggs. Bought some potato salad to serve along side our sandwich and enjoyed a wonderful lunch. Made and reviewed for ZWT8 - 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lauralie41 August 17, 2012

Yum, yum, yum. Starrynews this is indeed yummy. I can't believe how well boiled eggs, tomatoe, black pepper and mayonaise compliment one another. It reminds me of egg salad with tomatoes...so good. I used a mini cabiatta loaf for my sandwich, fresh cracked black pepper and a little sea salt, mayo, heirloom tomatoes and a jumbo egg. Perfection. My egg was soft boiled instead of hard, personal preference only, it worked really well in your dish. A little messy, but hey, grab an extra napkin and dig in. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT-8 - India

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato August 15, 2012
Egg & Tomato Sandwich