Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg & Tomato Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg & Tomato Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    32 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 32

    Sort by:

    • on March 29, 2010

      Being English, this is a sandwich that I know and love! I loved the added addition of the black pepper and also the idea if using a piece of baguette too. A delicious sandwich what I made today for lunch using a large slice of Marianne Baguette - Traditional Rustic French Bread that I had made this morning. I used home-made mayonnaise and plenty of black pepper with a smidge of sea salt. I am usually a "mash it all together gal" for the egg and tomatoes, but the flavours were still wonderful. Made for Veg'N'Swap and enjoyed very much. Merci Starry, FT:-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I've always loved tomato and mayo sandwiches. Eggs are an excellent addition. I used fresh tomatoes from my garden, How to Make Perfect Hard Boiled Eggs to cook the eggs and Crock Pot Herb Bread instead of a baguette. Made for Veggie Swap 38

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2013

      Wonderful...try adding a layer of lettuce and a couple of slices of bacon...So yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2013

    • on September 05, 2012

      Locally made 9-grain bread, local eggs, local heirloom tomatoes! I added a little
      bit of baby arugula to each sandwich but either way with or without greens this is good! One slice of bread was spread with mayo and the other with yellow mustard. I also
      sprinkled on salt and freshly cracked black pepper. One thing I should mention is that it is best to prepare the sandwiches right before eating; the tomato juice makes the bread soggy quickly. I will make this again soon because we still have quite a surplus of fresh heirlooms on hand. Thanks for posting! Reviewed for Veg Tag/September.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2012

      Awesome, I've had mayo and tomato or tomato and egg, but never mayo, egg and tomato in one sandwich! Very nice combination, we liked it a lot. Thanks for sharing!
      Made for ZWT 8 / Great Britain for the Lively Lemon Lovelies

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2012

      This is really tasty. I liked using a baguette and the black pepper. It made a filling breakfast. Thanks for sharing. Made for ZWT8.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      I made this especially for DH's post-workout lunch. I love that this is so simple and uses ingredients I always have on hand - I keep HB eggs on hand so that if we're running late for work or need a perfect-protein snack, we can just grab one and go. DH really liked it too - except for the bread! He is not a huge bread fan anymore, always looking to cut bread out when he can - but that is his personal preference. I'll try this for him again on those little "sandwich thins" - that will satisfy his bread issue. Thanks for posting Starry - this is a recipe I will use often for my husband as it's quick, easy and very portable for his workout schedule. Made for ZWT8 and the Herbaceous Curvaceous Honeys! Photo to follow...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      A simple little sandwich with big flavor! I used our favorite pumpernickle rolls and added salt to the tomatoes and pepper to the eggs. Bought some potato salad to serve along side our sandwich and enjoyed a wonderful lunch. Made and reviewed for ZWT8 - 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      Yum, yum, yum. Starrynews this is indeed yummy. I can't believe how well boiled eggs, tomatoe, black pepper and mayonaise compliment one another. It reminds me of egg salad with tomatoes...so good. I used a mini cabiatta loaf for my sandwich, fresh cracked black pepper and a little sea salt, mayo, heirloom tomatoes and a jumbo egg. Perfection. My egg was soft boiled instead of hard, personal preference only, it worked really well in your dish. A little messy, but hey, grab an extra napkin and dig in. Made for the Fearless Red Dragons - ZWT-8 - India

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      Sometimes simple is best and this is an excellent example of that. Classic great taste that is so easy you'd wait in line at a fast food place longer that it takes to make this (once the eggs are cooked, which can be done well ahead). I can only agree with everyone else, it's a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Nice little sandwich. A bit messy to eat, but tasty. Made for Everyday Holiday Tag. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2010

      Egg sandwiches are one of my favs. Thanks for reminding me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2010

      Delicious! one of my favorite things is mayo and tomato together and usually I'd eat this with a fried egg but the boiled egg sliced was surprisingly yummy . I served this open faced on gfree brown rice bread. Simple and satisfying. Thank you :) Made for Ramadan Tag 2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Delisious! I didn't have a baguette so used light rye and subbed cream cheese for the mayo

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2010

      Simple but elegant. I followed the lead of some other reviewers and used toasted homemade bread. I think that was a mistake, because the crispness of the toast made it a bit messy to eat. I used a jumbo egg and sprinkled with pepper after adding the tomato and egg. These simple tastes go very well together. I usually don't like tomato on a sandwich, but this was very good. Don't skimp on the pepper! Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      Lovely sandwich! I enjoyed this with a sourdough baguette. This is a perfect example that simple does not mean low in flavor. Thanks Starry for a great sandwich! Made for Holiday tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      This is a very easy sandwich to put together, but to me, it just cried out for a piece of bacon! However, I resisted the urge and ate it exactly as posted. I did use a generous amount of black pepper, and served it on some of French Tart's Homemade bread! Thanks for sharing, Starry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Absolutely love this sandwich! You can't beat the combination of egg and tomato in my opinion. Personally though, I prefer to mash up the egg and mix it with the mayonnaise, but it's a great flavour combination this way too. Thanks Starry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      So good!!! Easy to prepare and super tasty. Perfection in my book. I used multigrain boule as that's what I had on hand. I bet some sliced avocado would do well atop this sandwich as well. Thanks for a winner of a breakfast this morning :) Made for Veg*n Swap Jan 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg & Tomato Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (220 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.4
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    38%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 189.8 mg
    63%
    Sodium 345.8 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.2 g
    8%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes