Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Salad Sandwiches Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Salad Sandwiches

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on March 01, 2003

      We thought this was good. I didn't add any of the "other ingredients", but did add a squirt of Kraft horseradish sauce and yellow mustard, which is something that I always put in egg salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2003

      I never had Mrs Peterson's sandwiches but these were pretty good. I used Hellman's Light & added onions - didn't have any celery but I'll try that next time. I would never have thought to add butter - thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2003

      Very good egg salad. I had never heard of adding butter to the egg! I found the addition of melted butter really helped to hold the egg salad mixture together once it was chilled and therefore they were less "messy" than most egg salad sandwiches. The butter also adds a nice rich flavour. I added a few chopped onions, a tiny bit of Dijon mustard and also used Hellman's mayonnaise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2003

      This is the most delicious egg salad I have ever tasted and will now be my standard recipe. I wanted to use up a bunch of Easter eggs I had lying around, so I thought I would give this new recipe a try and I am so glad I did. I did leave out dill weed and celery salt as I had neither in the house and I also did not add any of the optional ingredients. I used garlic powder, not garlic salt, and just adjusted the regular salt measurement accordingly. I think the flavors of the seasoned salt, the garlic, and most especially the melted butter really made for a superior flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2011

      Can't say enough about this recipe! Wow! I loved, loved, the butter in this. I have never thought of using such ~ and this just enhanced the creaminess, and helped keep everything together without adding tons of salad dressing (mayo/miracle whip). I used a lot of the optional ingredients except for olives, well....cause' durn - it, we didn't have any, but otherwise I would of used that too. I used the onion, but grated it through a grater (about 1 tsp.) and we have enjoyed this immensely. This very unique, but thoroughly delightful egg salad is so amazing, and tasty. Thanks, Charlotte!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      I was about to be really discourteous with this rating because it was SO SALTY but I took another look and realized that Zaar didn't cut the seasoning in half like the eggs when I changed the servings (I don't know why, it's the 1st time that ever happened). I did like the creaminess of the butter, I might try it again but even half the salt is too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2012

      Great sandwiches! A note if you are reducing the recipe--food.com does not reliably reduce the measurements of the seasonings so you might get a very salty result! I used garlic powder rather than garlic salt and also reduced the amount of salt a bit, but had not noticed that the amounts were not reduced before I made the recipe so mine was still a tad salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2010

      This makes really great egg salad sandwiches even using lite mayo. I added the suggested celery instead of celery salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      We loved it. I have always liked egg salad but this one I love and it is now the only one I'll make. In fact, my husband, who normally will not touch egg salad, loves it. We didn't have the celery salt so didn't add and I cut back on the others. I also used fat free Miracle Whip. The best thing to do I found is to make it the night before and let it sit in the fridge overnight. The flavors really blend together well then. Thank you for submitting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2013

      Glad I used a recipe this time because its totally worth it! I tasted the sauce before i added the eggs and it was pretty powerful but once you add everything together it tastes perfectly seasoned! I added celery, and celery seed instead of celery salt and it turned out perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2004

      Yum! This was so good and very easy to make. I loved the addition of the butter and will definitely be using this as my egg salad recipe from now on. I didn't use any of the optional ingredients or the celery salt. I also enjoyed this on croissants instead of bread. Thanks for a great recipe, Charlotte!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      I really thought I'd like this, but unfortunately I didn't. I could taste the butter and not much else. I did add sweet relish. I followed the recipe exactly as written. I'm so sorry for having to give this a lower rating, but it ended up getting thrown out. It just wasn't for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2014

      I chose this recipe at random and it turned out to be delicious. It is kind of salty but I don't mind that. The only extra item I added was the 2 T. of chopped onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2014

      Very goog just as it is

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2013

      this is a wonderful recipe and shall hence forth be known as "the church lady's egg salad" in this hive :)......it's a great base to start with then add your preferences......i used mayo instead of miracle whip, added no regular salt, sprinkled with dried onion and added a splash of Worcestershire sauce, and cut the butter in half...all other seasonings were added as written.....next time i think i will add celery, maybe green onion instead of dried, the combos are endless!!! and btw, who would have though of adding butter???? but it made it great....thanks so much, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2013

      I give this 4 stars only because it was way too salty and I only put a tiny bit of the seasoning salt and celery salt in the recipe. I did not add the regular salt and I used garlic powder in place of the garlic salt so I am sure it would be way over the top salty for us if I had used all the salt. Next time I am going to use unsalted butter, celery seed, garlic powder, seasoning salt and the rest of the seasoning ingredients. I did not add the "other" ingredients either. This is probably one of the best egg salad recipes I've ever made. Thank you for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2012

      Best. Egg Salad. Ever.

      I love egg salad in general, but usually find that most is either too heavy in mustard or onion. This is neither. It's perfect. Sublime. The butter is the piece de resistance. Seasonings are exceptional! I added green onion and celery to mine. Thanks so much for posting this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      I love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2012

      First of all I am not giving this review stars because of my substitutions. Still, it was a more than 5 * recipe to me. I did halve the recipe, using 3 eggs. I used unsalted butter, mayonnaise (not Miracle Whip), Johnny's seasoning salt, garlic powder, celery seed and dill weed. I left out the regular salt and even with using garlic powder and celery seed, it was plenty salty and seasoned for me. I did enjoy this with saltine crackers and Triscuits. I prefer egg salad, tuna salad and chicken salad with crackers. I will make this again, using Lawry's Seasoned Salt and celery salt, but my other substitutions will be repeated. I really love this recipe and fully expect to still love it when I prepare it again. Yummy! Thanks Charlotte J!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2012

      very good. I didn't have relish or dill or celery salt. I only used 2 tablespoons butter but really shouldn't have used any--waste of calories. Used mayo because no miracle whip on hand. Added 2 green onions, half a teaspoon of mustard powder, some celery seed & chopped jalapenos (to help make up for the missing dill). It was very runny--maybe cuz I didn't chill it. Maybe cuz the butter, but it was tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Salad Sandwiches

    Serving Size: 1 (135 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 298.7
     
    Calories from Fat 137
    46%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 5.8 g
    29%
    Cholesterol 158.9 mg
    52%
    Sodium 761.3 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 8.8 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Lawry's Seasoned Salt

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites