24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will put this recipe in my cookbook for the moment, but after reading Jan S.'s review and comment on peeling all the eggs i wanted to let you all know of a little trick i found for peeling. Unfortunately, it only works when the eggs are still hot, but put up to a dozen in a PLASTIC pasta strainer and (holding them above the kitchen sink) bounce them gently in the strainer. The eggs will bounce up and down and bump into each other, cracking the shells. Within just a couple minutes the shells will be falling off the eggs in very large, almost whole pieces. The best part is, if they're for deviled eggs there is very little chance of having broken or gouged whites.

16 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** April 14, 2002

This was a nice recipe. I made it with 5 dozen eggs, but only used 3 sticks of celery, as I thought it might over power the dish and I used sour cream instead of yoghurt (that's all I had). A good easy recipe, altough peeling all those eggs made me wish for an "egg peeler".

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS April 12, 2002

Easy, quick and delicious!! ( I skipped the dill at my wife's suggestion however.) Thanks Tish.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jim St.Peter July 04, 2002

I loved this recipe, it is easily adaptable yet wonderful just as it is. I have made it before even substituting celery seed when I was out of celery and it was still good!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathryn Trueblood June 27, 2002

My family and I love this recipe. We made one little change though. Instead of whole grained mustard we found that mustard seeds work great. They give it a nice little pop.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charlie J. July 15, 2011

I made two bowls, one with mayo and one with yogurt. Both were yummy! I did cut the salt by half though

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2MMCJ January 12, 2011

Easy and good egg salad. I used green onions rather than the red and served it open faced on a slice of sourdough and lettuce. Thanks Tish for a nice lunch. Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme July 07, 2010

I was looking for an egg salad recipe, with fresh dill as an ingredient, and tried yours. (There aren't too many, with dill, BTW) Anyway, I made 1/4 of the recipe, using mayo, and left out the lemon juice. I also left out the salt, til the end, because of the reviews. I served it on lightly toasted wheat bread, with lettuce and tomato, and salt and pepper. Fast and yummy; thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Belinda in Austin, TX July 24, 2009

I thought that this salad was good and well balanced. I made it the day before to have for supper after work. I got the typical kid results (daughter doesn't like raw onions but liked it and son wasn't even interested enough to eat at all). After the second day it extruded extra liquid which stirred back in fine. I couldn't get fresh dill so used 2 tsp. dried and liked the flavor (very unique). This tasted good plain, on Triscuits, and on Saltines (no one has made a sandwich with it yet.) I used whole milk yogurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch June 09, 2009

I made this and had to add potatoes because it was too salty. I used mayonnaise instead of plain yogurt and wonder if that would have made a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myloobug April 16, 2009
Egg Salad