11 Reviews

I only used 3 T water instead of 5 and did not boil it first - just added it to the yeast bread dough and went on. Turned out great. I would not skip the boiling if you arent making a yeast bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nyteglori June 16, 2011

This was a recipe-saver, as I was short one egg, and it worked beautifully! This will be my go-to egg replacer! Thanks, pollen!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen January 28, 2010

Works great

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandidt April 03, 2009

I have used this in chocolate cake and it works well, though I only used 3 tbsps. of water instead of the 5. Thanks for posting, it beats using eggs all the time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Joey Z. March 07, 2009

I had 3 xtra kids over (PICKY ones) and went to make pancakes for breakfast - AHH NO eggs in the house!- with ice outside I went to Zaar for help. I found this recipe and it works PERFECTLY! I have only used flaxseed in a granola recipe that I made months ago, so I was thrilled to find this and have it work. I used milled flaxseed and heated it until bubbley, let it cool and added it to the pancake mix. All of the kids devoured it and gave it a 5 star rating which is a miracle. THANK YOU for an easy fix, and to anyone who is afraid to try this please don't be, as I am a NOVICE cook! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Myers December 09, 2008

I used this in cookie dough that I wanted to eat without cooking :) I didn't cook it, I just let the ground flax sit in hot tap water for about 10 mins before I added it to the other ingredients. I can't taste the difference and it helps to know that at least there is one thing in the cookie dough that is good for me :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominique353 December 07, 2008

Worked perfect. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelly in TO September 04, 2008

used this dozens of times but I use 1/4 cup of water ( easier to remember)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
canthelpmyself August 07, 2008

Now that I see the review by katieok, it makes more sense to me. This was a great replacer, but I had to double the cooking time on some cookies that I was making for Mamma Mia! That's a Semifreddo!.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MC Baker July 01, 2008

I used the flax seed meal (no grinding) & have tried it in several baked recipes. Muffins, cookies, pancakes. I have had to lengthen the cooking time on all recipes but it is worth it. Great substitute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katieok January 12, 2007
Egg Replacer