9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

It smelled wonderful cooking. It just needed more of a kick. I will double up on the spices next time. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest July 20, 2009

this is a wonderful and very repeatable dish. my husband loves this as a substitute for whenever i dont have the time or energy to cook a fullscale biryani for him (for that i only use fresh veggies so takes much longer). i made this with some minor modifications: i omitted the coconut milk powder (since i didnt have any), and used an assortment of mixed veg instead of peas alone. i also left out the tomatoes in step #2 and just threw them on top of the rice at the end, after which i baked it in the oven for a ~15mins...just because i wanted to. also, i didn't need to drain the rice, as i fried it along with the onions and veggies, added just enough water, so it dehydrated itself. end result was gobbled up and am amazed it existed long enough for me to even take a photo of it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood November 25, 2004

Very yummy, excellent leftovers, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StaceyRabbitFace December 29, 2008

This came out very good. I didn't add in the coconut milk powder and I baked the potatoes instead of deep frying them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah November 11, 2008

Made this for a potluck dinner recently. Everyone loved it,especially my hubby who was shocked that i fried the potatoes in ghee. Will make it again, maybe by baking the potaoes instead :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jolly_mimosa January 28, 2008

Everyone in my family loved this dish. I left out the potatoes but followed the rest of the ingredients exactly. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumari June 11, 2006

Wonderful! I made 4 cups of rice but used the same ingredients. I didn't have coconut milk powder so I used dessicated coconut powder instead. At first I thought that maybe my rice was undercooked, so I too stuck it in the oven at the end and it came out just perfect! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browniepie April 17, 2006

I can't believe it has taken me so long to get around to reviewing this! I have made this dish so many times since coming across it on recipezaar. It is really wonderful! Each time I have made it I follow the directions exactly. It comes out perfect everytime! My husband loves it. Most of the time we eat it as a main dish. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmHumza February 24, 2006

This is awesome! We added tvp (soya protein) and I copied Varsha and popped it in the oven at the end. The best biryani - and just what's needed on a cold UK winter night! Thanks Charishma!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tina and Dave January 29, 2006
Egg Pulao