Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Peeling for Egg Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Peeling for Egg Salad

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 20, 2014

      Worked like a charm! Thanks for teaching me an easier way to peel eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2011

      I had to use the dozen eggs in my fridge before they hatched.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2010

      Wow! This worked brilliantly! It's a couple extra steps from what I normally do, but these eggs are perfect and well worth it! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      My daughter sent me this recipe as I ALWAYS struggle with peeling hard boiled eggs. I must say I was skeptical since I've tried so many tricks to make peeling eggs easier - I needn't have been - with the exception of the first egg I tried (and I believe that was because the egg wasn't given a proper chance to cool down after 2nd time in the boiling water) all the eggs peeled like a dream. I will ONLY prepare my hard boiled eggs this way in the future - thank you so very much for sharing - you've ended years of aggravation & frustration.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      Don't know how I could have gone wrong, but out of 6 eggs, two came completely apart, the shells broke into tiny pieces and was hard to remove. I will try this again before I give up. But according to other reviewers this is wonderful. My eggs were not fresh either, so it is a mystery to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2008

      Wow - this couldn't be any easier. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      This clearly proves that you can teach an old dog new tricks!! I really put it to a test using fresh eggs. I have never seen eggs peel so easily. I guess I missed that section in the Joy of Cooking! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful technique that I will use many, many times in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Will definately be the only way I will be cooking hard boiled eggs in the future. They peeled so easily - what can I say? Made for Healthy Choices ABC 2008. Thank you newtocookingm&m.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2008

      At first I thought, "this is not working!" but then when I rolled the egg a little, the shell came right off! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2008

      It truly works! My MIL told me that you needed to use older eggs so that they would peel more easily. I only had fresh eggs and I wanted egg salad. I gave this a try and WOW! The peels came off without any problems. I will use this method always! Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      This did work very well, being a Joy Of Cooking recipe I did not doubt that it would! Here on the prairies one of the favorite sandwich fillings is egg salad, so along with the bowls and bowls of salad I have made for my family - I have peeled my fair share of eggs for both community functions and tea and bake sales ... while the Joy of Cooking works I have to stay with the method I have been using - it is just so much easier and makes short work of boiling and peeling the eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      WOW! It works! I'm shocked! Thanks for the great tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2007

      OH Thank you soooooo much! I have "fresh" eggs and it worked perfectly!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!! Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      Excellent concept....works like a charm! I

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      This worked like a charm, I have never had the shell come off so easily. One note - higher elevation 5500 ft boil for 13-15 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Thank you so much! Every X-mas my mother in law make deviled eggs and they look like the devil himself got to them. Now we won't have that problem.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Finally a foolproof way of ensuring an easy-peeling hard-boiled egg! In the past for me it has always been hit and miss, and those mangled misses were very frustrating. Just made egg salad with six eggs and on every one the shell came off in almost one piece. This is a great tip. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Our Family Secret is to add 1 tsp. Salt to the water before it comes to a boil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2006

      I also read in one of Martha Stewart's earlier cookbooks that in the case of making deviled eggs you should stir the eggs in the water frequently so that upon peeling the eggs and cutting them in half the yolk will be in the middle. She also mentioned what H-Ko said about the age of the eggs. You'd be amazed what a difference these details made. Thanks for the tip! I think I'll make an egg salad now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      hi good idea on peeling eggs. dee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Peeling for Egg Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (50 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 71.5
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    59%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 1.5 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 186.0 mg
    62%
    Sodium 71.0 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.3 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hot water

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes