13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent instructions and I especially liked the idea of using a tuna can for an egg ring, in case someone might not have one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare October 13, 2012

I have been making this recipe for years, and while it is a great egg sandwich, it fell a little short of a clone of the egg McMuffin... the egg was not quite right. I recently found the answer... After adding the egg to the egg ring and piercing the yolk, put 1 or 2 medium sized pieces of Ice next to the ring(s) and cover with a large lid. I set my griddle set between 325 & 350... the ice melts and poaches the eggs, cooking the top of the egg. (No need to flip) A perfect restaurant duplicate. I have also found that cutting the slice of cheese into 4 strips, and placing 2 strips in an "X" pattern is the perfect amount of cheese for a sandwich of this size.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bandalore September 22, 2012

I make mock 2 "egg mcmuffins" just about every morning. I do not use an egg ring but I shape my eggs while they cook. I also do not like useing the "ham". Found sharp chedder or 2% single slices work very well for the cheese. =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hockeyme99 September 09, 2011

A small flat microwave-safe bowl sprayed with cooking spray also works for the egg and makes it McDonald's-like. Microwave egg in bowl for one minute while the muffin is toasting and then an extra 30 seconds or so with the Canadian bacon and cheese on top. The muffin will be done now and the egg pops right out onto it! I also find that the butter is not needed. The cheese is enough fat for me! Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dingobully September 29, 2010

Great - tastes just like, or perhaps even better than, the McDonalds version. I made it in a regular pan without the egg ring/can and it came out fine. Very easy and quick. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ulysses May 10, 2009

All three of my kids devoured this...even the one that refuses to eat any kind of bread!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch August 30, 2008

Nothing like an Egg McMuffin for breakfast. I made this in under 10 minutes! Great breakfast!! Pam

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam-I-Am April 03, 2007

I make these all the time for breakfast. It couldn't be simpler nor more tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
potions February 19, 2007

I gave this 3 stars. My family liked these. My fiance suggested I try sausage patties next time I make these. Thanks for posting this recipe. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut February 18, 2007

Thanks for this wonderful recipe! I followed this recipe to the letter and it turned out fantastic. I made one for my wife using sausage patties and one for myself using thin sliced ham. Both had a wonderful flavor and texture. I had to cut the egg ring using a tuna can and it worked perfectly for the egg. It was better than the McDonald's version.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LeftyGman January 21, 2007
Egg Mcmuffin