Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg in the Basket Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg in the Basket

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on August 26, 2007

      This is a quick and easy breakfast. My mom used to bake this for her 6 kids. Sometimes we would have grape jelly on them. Other times they were drizzled with creamy white sauce, with grated cheese or not. We ate them with syrup or powdered sugar. About 3 minutes before she'd take them out, she'd sprinkle with grated cheese. These are so versatile. I make these for my kids in an upside down bagel. I butter the cut side of the bagel and put it buttered side down on the pan. After they ared baked, we then put a Tblspn of veggie cream cheese on the bagel. Oh, we serve them cut side up. They become upside down egg bagels. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      A Saturday morning favorite. I always butter the "holes" and fry them in the pan along with the eggs in a basket. I'm afraid they'd get lost in my toaster! LOL!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      really simple yet really tasty. I buttered both sides first & it made it really crispy & yummy. I've never had these before, but I will definately be making them again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      I love to make this on the George Foreman, quick

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      So wonderful! I've had this before, but this is the first time I've made it and i gotta say, this was much better than the ones I've had before. I added some bacon bits to the top side of the egg and it only cooked on the flip, but it gave an almost Smokey flavor throughout. Truly awesome breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2013

      Good tips thanks my bf loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      I don't like runny yolks... but my kids love them and LOVED this for breakfast. I enjoy making sure they get something with staying power before school. My husband thought it was good, but nothing special to him.

      I also like recipes like this for a quick dinner in a pinch.

      Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      Quite tasty. I spread some blueberry jelly on top and had it for a quick supper. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2008

      Ever since I first made this, it's become one of my favorite meals to make when either in a hurry or in the mood for something really yummy. I've made this possibly 25 times since I first had it in August, and I'm really getting my technique down. It feels nice making something that others look at and go "Man that's cool and looks really good!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      this is one of the most delicious and simple things ive ever eaten! LOVE IT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2008

      my kids thought this was SO cool! They ate every last bite of them! And this was a very easy breakfast to hand off to my husband on his way out the door to go to work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2007

      I used to make this for my breakfast when I was younger. It is good. I also liked to pour syrup over top when it was done and eat it sort of like french toast. Thanks for reminding me of this great and easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Family Favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2006

      i make this all the time, love it, its my favorite way of eating eggs. i usually use two pieces of multi-grain bread and two eggs in the larger hole. i tend to put a thin layer of jam over the basket, or a little bit of browned canadian bacon under it. after im done cooking the basket, i butter and toast the holes in the skillet, and place them on top of the basket.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2006

      This was so delicious - my roommate and I made them tonight. Not the usual eggs and toast - much more exciting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      If you would like to bump it up a notch to my liking:) you might do the following: *I couldn't tell from the picture or exactly from the instructions but I like to cook the egg 'over medium well' but definately not hard and *Add powderd sugar & cinnamon to the last pan toasted side and I butter both sides from the very start. The end result is the most yoke you can get from the well done whites that is nestled in a sea of buttered toasted bread that has melted powered sugar and a touch of cinnamon that all adds up to yes, I would like to have two please, take care. Goes great w/ a cold glass of milk:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      Wonderful! Speak of nostalgia, My Gram taught me to make these when I was 5 or 6 years old, 60+ years ago. She called them 'One-eyed Sandwiches'. For the remainder of the time I lived with my folks, my Mom complained she couldn't keep eggs in the house. I usually butter the bread on both sides and pan-toast one side before turning over and adding the egg. This recipe is a perfect place to start teaching kids, girls and boys alike, not to be afraid of the kitchen. Thanx for posting this great recipe! Pierre

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      Made this for my DS this past weekend and he devoured it. Had to make it twice as I broke the yolk on the first attempt (sighing). Very easy and quick to make for a simple breakfast. Choose this recipe as there was no photo of it and I was able to add one. Thanks Barbara for a good simple recipe! Enjoy the pic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg in the Basket

    Serving Size: 1 (44 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites