Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg-Free Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg-Free Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2012

      Very tasty!! And easy to make! I did as another reviewer suggested by leaving the oats whole as we like "chunky" bread. It was delicious and everyone LOVED it! We couldn't wait for it to cool completely so it didn't slice as easily as I would have liked, but I think it will once it is completely cooled. Thanks for a great quick bread recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      Good bread! As stated, it is definitely not a "sweet" bread, but adding extra honey helps (I used about 1/4 C total). Nice & hearty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      I'm baking this recipe right now. I was glad to find it because I was looking for egg-free quick breads that I could feed to our baby. I'm using maple syrup instead of honey (no honey for the baby!) and 2 small ripe bananas instead of the oil (just because the baby likes bananas). I didn't have any whole wheat flour, so I'm using white flour and substituting unprocessed bran for the rolled oats. This is the first time I'm baking with soymilk--one of our dinner guests tonight is lactose intolerant. Hope it'll be a crowd-pleaser!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      What a yummy bread! I skipped the step of grinding the oats and left them whole. I baked at 350 for about 30 minutes and the bread did gain some volume. It was perfectly moist - even the picky hubby liked it. I'll definitely try this again with cinnamon and raisins or apple chunks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2007

      This was very easy to make and tasty. I followed the suggestion to bake at 350 degrees for 40 minutes and was pleased with the results. I added raisins to it, and next time, I think I'll add a little cinnamon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      We just tried this bread and my husband said it was "yummy!" I put 3 Tablespoons of honey and I baked it at 350 for 40 min and it came out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2005

      This bread has been one of my favorite things since I was a child - but I love a really dense, whole-grain bread, and yes, in 20 years of making this, I've never gotten it to rise. My recipe, which I just made, calls for 2/3 the amount of all the ingredients listed here, and molasses instead of honey (honey sounds good, though). It also calls for patting the dough with floured hands on a greased, floured cookie sheet into a 1/2 inch circle, and then pricking it all over with a fork, baking for 10 minutes or more, and serving in wedges. I love it with crazy amounts of good butter, sharp cheddar, and tart apples.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2004

      Well, this just didn't work very well for me. I only cooked it for 25 minutes, and it was still burned when I took it out of the over - so make sure you watch it carefully. Also, the bread didn't really rise at all in the oven. Of course, it's a quick bread, so I didn't expect it to rise like a yeast bread, but this didn't rise at all. The no-rise, combined with the fact that it was in such a big pan, cause the loaf to come out quite short (about 1.5 inches). That said, the bread has a nice mellow taste, and good consistency. It's so easy to make that I'd recommend trying it, but use a smaller pan, so the batter fills nearly to the top. And watch it like a hawk while it's cooking :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg-Free Oatmeal Whole Wheat Quick Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (37 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 77.7
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    19%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.3 mg
    0%
    Sodium 153.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.7 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites