Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg-free Milk-free Chocolate Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg-free Milk-free Chocolate Cake

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2001

      I just tried this recipe this week, but I upped the cocoa to a full 1/4 cup and instead of water used soy milk for a richer flavor. I am definitely going to make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2002

      yum! nice to have a cake with such simple ingredients, and sooo fast to make. I made this for a birthday party and everyone scarfed it down with many compliments to the cook. I did use 1/2 cup of cocoa because i really like chocolate, and it worked out well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2002

      I've made this before - easy and excellent results: very moist. I have also been known to add a teasp of instant coffee for a subtle "mocha" flavor...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2002

      I've been making this cake for over 30 years and it works every time. My recipie calls to grease the pan and put the dry ingredients in and stir them around. Make a hollow and put in the liquids. Stir till well mixed. No need to mess up a clean bowl. I admit I try not to scrape the bottom too much, but it doesn't seem to matter. I've had this out and it's been called "Fudge Cake" and "Rich chocolate Cake". I've been really disappointed when I think I'm getting something really exotic and it turns out to be the same old Vinegar and Oil cake I make at home and they charge $3.50 for a little, tiny slice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2002

      This is a wonderful mosit cake. I've made this many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      CHOCOHOLIC!! My cupboard and fridge were bare -no eggs or milk - THIS RECIPE SAVED ME!! This chocoholic cheated with this recipe adding melted dark chocolate!! I served it warm with thickened cream - OH WOW!!!! I'll never use eggs again to make choc cake!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      I baked this cake for my little boy's 2nd birthday. I wanted something dairy free as a good friend of his is allergic to dairy. I followed the recipe except for swapping the water for soy milk and it was amazing! Everyone raved about this cake. It was light fluffy and moist and chocolatey. You'd never have known it was 'missing' anything like some of the egg free or dairy free cakes out there. Thanks a mill! This recipe is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2010

      Loved this cake! My oldest son is allergic to eggs and milk, so we are hard pressed for the occasional treat. I tried this recipe last week and everyone loved it, including my husband who didn't even know there was no milk or egg in it. I used Almond milk instead of water and followed other recommendations of increasing the cocoa to 1/4 cup. We have family coming in this weekend and I plan on using this recipe for a breakfast cake, swapping out the cocoa for cinnamon to go with morning coffee.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2004

      A quick and easy, one-bowl vegan chocolate cake. Very dark, moist and tasty. Main drawback was that the cake was quite crumbly and was falling apart as I tried to cut it. I would probably only serve this cake for people with dietary restrictions. 9 servings.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      I was so excited to make my Godson's very first chocolate cake!! He has egg & milk allergies...this was perfect! Very nice and moist! Now if only I could find the perfect frosting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2012

      My little niece is allergic to milk, eggs, and nuts and this recipe is PERFECT for her! She loves it, we love it! Everyone is happy! :) I am going to try crushing up oreos and mixing them in the batter next batch. Oreos are also milk free, dairy free, nut free.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Great recipe. Its unbelievable that a cake can be so moist and not contain milk, eggs or butter. I made this cake because I was out of eggs and butter and my little one wanted chocolate cake. Now i will be making it even if I have the eggs and butter. I took the 1 cup of water and divided it half adding 1 tsp of instant espresso to the half and adding it to the mix to intensify the chocolate flavor. Once the cake was done I frosted it with the easiest fudge sour cream chocolate frosting I have ever made. It tasted like a devils food cake from one of the major store brands.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      I haven't baked for over a year, not since I found out my baby was allergic to Nuts, Eggs, Wheat, Dairy. She's now outgrown her wheat and dairy allergies and I was really nervous about baking a cake on the eve of her 2nd birthday, but it has turned out brilliantly. Definately recommend this as a no fail receipe for the rusty baker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Just like chocolate cake from the store! Delicious! Really rich and moist! I served it for my mom's birthday, and my whole fmaily raved about it! I have 2 Type 1 diabetics in my house, so I used it with shawnajean's sugar-free frosting, and it was great! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I had tried this cake from this recipe many months ago when my son's allergies were first diagnosed. I thought it was yummy but a little gooey. Then someone gave me another version of it for his birthday party - with 1 1/2 cups of flour. What a difference. Still delicious but no longer gooey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This was a great recipe! My son is allergic to eggs and I have been trying to tailor my cooking to accomodate this. I upped the cocoa to 1/4 cup as another reviewer mentioned. I do prefer cake made with eggs, but as far egg-free baking goes, this one is a definate keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      I made this for my niece's birthday who has to avoid eggs - as my son and I have to avoid gluten I used my GF Flour instead of all-purpose. It came out beautifully; moist and was hugely popular with everyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2009

      This cake was so helpful ! On st. patrick's day I didn't have eggs or milk so this recipe really helped!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      this is the best eggfree cake recipe. my son has an allergy to eggs so i've tried many recipes, but this is the best! he is not allergic to milk so i substituted the water with whole milk. i served it at his birthday party and everyone loved it! no one even knew it was eggless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Top cake! I ahve made this cake as it is posted and it is fabulous! Would echo what others have said too and have also made it using rice milk instead of water, self raising flour instead of plain, but kept the raising agents in too. Also added a teaspoon of strong coffee to wet ingredients. When still warm I used a skewer to make holes all over top (not all way through) and spooned over dissolved coffee and cocoa. Topped with raspberries dusted with icing sugar and served with a raspberry coulis. It came out around 2 inches high, so no problems with rising and I have to say it was incredible! Have made this cake so many times...my son is allergic to eggs and cows milk protein and I am breastfeeding, so it has saved me from despair on many an occaision! Thanks you SO much for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg-free Milk-free Chocolate Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.7
     
    Calories from Fat 112
    34%
    Total Fat 12.5 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 466.1 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 51.0 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 33.4 g
    133%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites