55 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this several times and failed to review or rate the recipe. The time has come the walrus said.......This is a wonderful soup. I had to use the billion cubes so I omitted the salt. I also cut back on the number of eggs as I only had two but it was fun watching them cook when they hit the hot broth. I am making this again tonight as I have a cold and it sounds so good. I'm adding shrimp, green onion and the last carrot(shredded). Thanks for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka January 13, 2011

Truly loved the simplicity of this recipe. The whole family loved this. I chose this recipe because of the ginger and was not disappointed, it brought a nice fresh flavor to the soup. I will use this recipe for years to come. Thanks for sharing it.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChristaLee January 30, 2010

WOW!! This is a great recipe. I did add a few drops of yellow food coloring to it and it looked just like a restaurant version. I also added green onions chopped at the very end. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing. I will never buy egg drop soup again!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alanurse January 10, 2010

Well this was a HUGE success! DH said it's the best he's ever had and ate 4 bowls! :) I think 2 eggs would have been plenty (I used 2). I used homemade chicken stock that had some soy sauce in it, and DH really loved that flavor in there as well. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I have a feeling I'll be making this again!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Radish4ever November 24, 2009

Easy and good. so much so that I won't pay another $2 for it when I have takeout. Its a lot of egg, maybe a little too much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marshpea May 07, 2009

I'll throw in my praise for this recipe. We all enjoyed it so much, and egg drop soup is one of my family's favorites. Usually we get big quart containers from a local buffet, but this is just as good, maybe better! I added sesame oil like some of the others just because I love the stuff. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denibates January 05, 2007

This soup was spectacular! More refreshing than even a restaurant because it's fresh and bright tasting. I had to use freeze dried chives because that's what I had on hand, and I omitted the extra salt as I figured the canned broth I used had plenty. This was a very simple and quick recipe, but I have one time to make it even easier. Use a glass 4C. measuring cup to whisk the eggs in, then just pour slowly into the broth and whisk to break the eggs up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Three Kids Make Me Crazy November 27, 2006

Very good, though we'll add more ginger next time to add more zing. Thanks for sharing the recipe - it's a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hikerrecycler October 07, 2006

Yummy! I used scallions instead of chives and added a pinch of white pepper, too. For the ginger I just simmered the broth (extra salt omitted) with a fresh slice of ginger in the beginning and then removed it. I used about 1/2 teaspoon of toasted sesame oil, too. It's a rainy day here and this is a delicious comforting soup. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge January 29, 2006

When my dear father was suffering from throat cancer two years ago this was the ONLY thing he could eat. I left out the green onions as he could not swallow them. I just found yours posted today but I have used this same recipe and it was both yummy and soothing especially for him. Great protein nurtrion for him also. Wanted to share that for anyone who may need easy recipes for a sick loved one that is also wonderful for those who are not! This recipe is VERY yummy and does taste ike the best rest. egg drop soup. Thanks for posting it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) August 25, 2005
Egg Drop Soup (Restaurant Style)