Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Drop Soup (Restaurant Style) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Drop Soup (Restaurant Style)

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on January 13, 2011

      I have made this several times and failed to review or rate the recipe. The time has come the walrus said.......This is a wonderful soup. I had to use the billion cubes so I omitted the salt. I also cut back on the number of eggs as I only had two but it was fun watching them cook when they hit the hot broth. I am making this again tonight as I have a cold and it sounds so good. I'm adding shrimp, green onion and the last carrot(shredded). Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      Truly loved the simplicity of this recipe. The whole family loved this. I chose this recipe because of the ginger and was not disappointed, it brought a nice fresh flavor to the soup. I will use this recipe for years to come. Thanks for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      WOW!! This is a great recipe. I did add a few drops of yellow food coloring to it and it looked just like a restaurant version. I also added green onions chopped at the very end. Wonderful recipe. Thanks for sharing. I will never buy egg drop soup again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Well this was a HUGE success! DH said it's the best he's ever had and ate 4 bowls! :) I think 2 eggs would have been plenty (I used 2). I used homemade chicken stock that had some soy sauce in it, and DH really loved that flavor in there as well. Thanks for the awesome recipe! I have a feeling I'll be making this again!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2009

      Easy and good. so much so that I won't pay another $2 for it when I have takeout. Its a lot of egg, maybe a little too much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      I'll throw in my praise for this recipe. We all enjoyed it so much, and egg drop soup is one of my family's favorites. Usually we get big quart containers from a local buffet, but this is just as good, maybe better! I added sesame oil like some of the others just because I love the stuff. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      This soup was spectacular! More refreshing than even a restaurant because it's fresh and bright tasting. I had to use freeze dried chives because that's what I had on hand, and I omitted the extra salt as I figured the canned broth I used had plenty. This was a very simple and quick recipe, but I have one time to make it even easier. Use a glass 4C. measuring cup to whisk the eggs in, then just pour slowly into the broth and whisk to break the eggs up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Very good, though we'll add more ginger next time to add more zing. Thanks for sharing the recipe - it's a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2006

      Yummy! I used scallions instead of chives and added a pinch of white pepper, too. For the ginger I just simmered the broth (extra salt omitted) with a fresh slice of ginger in the beginning and then removed it. I used about 1/2 teaspoon of toasted sesame oil, too. It's a rainy day here and this is a delicious comforting soup. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2005

      When my dear father was suffering from throat cancer two years ago this was the ONLY thing he could eat. I left out the green onions as he could not swallow them. I just found yours posted today but I have used this same recipe and it was both yummy and soothing especially for him. Great protein nurtrion for him also. Wanted to share that for anyone who may need easy recipes for a sick loved one that is also wonderful for those who are not! This recipe is VERY yummy and does taste ike the best rest. egg drop soup. Thanks for posting it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2003

      We all loved this. I got my broth by cooking 3 boneless chicken breasts with about a cup each of celery, onion, and later carrots, then adding the chicken because we like meat, but this was a great basic recipe. Thanks Chippie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I made this for dinner tonight. Next time I may cut back the number of eggs, but other than that, it's an excellent recipe. It was easy to make and tasted delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2014

      Great recipe! In place of the salt, I added a dash or two of soy sauce (I beat that in with the eggs) and used a couple of scallions in place of the chives. I think the sesame oil would be nice too if I had thought to add it and might add twice as much ginger next time. Thanks so much for sharing such a tasty, easy to make recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2013

      Taste-tester approved! We used duck eggs and substituted dried parsley and a dash of garlic powder for the chives.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2012

      I've made this soup twice now so I guess I should review it! The first time I made it as written except that I just added 4 eggs, without the extra egg yolk. I use my own hens eggs and some have double yolks so it seemed like overkill to add an extra. The second time I added some leftover stir-fried, finely chopped baby bok choy. Also, I didn't use powdered ginger, I used about a 1-inch piece of fresh ginger, mashed down a bit and I added that to the broth in the beginning and let it steep a bit, then removed it at the end. We really liked this soup with the added veggie in it and I'll do that again for sure. Also, I added about 1/2 tsp. of white pepper, just because we like that in soups. We thought the amount of egg in this was perfect and made for a really satisfying lunch on a chilly gloomy day. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe Chippie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2012

      Very easy to make and was a hit with the family. Will be making this one again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2011

      and good. so much so that I won't pay another $2 for it when I have takeout. Its a lot of egg, maybe a little too much

      Read more: http://chinese.food.com/recipe/egg-drop-soup-restaurant-style-61070/review#ixzz1MFh69r8w

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2010

      This soup was easy to throw together but wasn't the best we've ever had. We felt that it was really heavy on the eggs. I used dried green onion pieces as I didn't have fresh chives; I'm sure chives would have made it better though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This was my first time ever eating Egg Drop Soup. I loved it! So light, yet filling at the same time. I'll have to try it at a restaurant some time to see how it compares. I also enjoyed making this. It took a little patience when it came to the egg-drop part (not difficult, but a little time consuming), but I feel it made me enjoy the finished product that much more. I also love how simple the ingredients are. I love chives, so I used probably about double the amount listed. I will be making this again and again - thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      My family really loved this soup. I needed something else to go with my "chinese type" meal and this fit the bill perfectly. This is an easy soup to make and I will make this again and again. Thank you for sharing this with us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Drop Soup (Restaurant Style)

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.9
     
    Calories from Fat 64
    47%
    Total Fat 7.1 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 227.5 mg
    75%
    Sodium 965.1 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 11.8 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites