Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Drop Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Drop Soup

    Average Rating:

    116 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 116

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2004

      Very simple & tasty, my kind of recipe! I used two eggs instead of one, added 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and halved the salt, due to the addition of the soy sauce. I had all the ingredients on hand and will definitely be making this again and again. I also used fat-free chicken broth, which I guess makes it ok that I ate more than half of it in one sitting! lol I'm a soup lover and this is now one of my new favorites! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2010

      So easy! Made this last night and it was really good...I added a few drops of sesame oil and soy sauce like some people had suggested, used green onions instead of scallions, and added an extra egg and thin strips of tofu (grated with a cheese grater). Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2004

      Simple and delicious! I ended up not adding the salt and didn't miss it at all. Threw in lots of black pepper and used 2 eggs instead of one. DH and I had a wonderful dinner of shrimp fried rice, egg rolls and your wonderful soup. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2013

      This was way too salty for the broth I used (Better Than Bouillon) so I would skip the addition of the salt. I also used two eggs based on some comments for this recipe and think that only one egg would have been sufficient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      I made this last night for the family for our special Chinese New Year's Dinner. The reason why I only gave this recipe 3 stars was because I felt it was very plain with the recipe as is and had to doctor it up with low sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, sliced green onion (white and green portion) added during boiling instead of just as a garnish and also used a few more eggs. Recipe came out delicious and everyone liked it with my modifications.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      I love this recipe. I love egg drop soup but sometimes the things people would put in it at restaurants would make me sad so I would avoid ordering it. Well now I don't ever need to order it again because this recipe is exactly what I'm looking for. I also add a couple drops of soy sauce and sesame oil, a little black pepper, and usually add more egg as well. For convenience sake I also usually use water and chicken bouillon instead of chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Fast, easy, and delicious! We didn't have any green onions on hand, so I used about a tablespoon of dried chives instead. This is going in my "keeper" file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Easy, economical, and delicous! I left out the salt and dropped a chicken bouillon cube instead for a little more favor. The first time I made it, I stirred the egg in too much, and although the flavor was good, it didn't look very appetitizing.I poured it in slowly the next time, allowing the egg to "sheet". It turned out great, and looked better, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      I've never ate egg drop soup before but I thought this was good. Instead of a scallion I just added about 1 TB of chopped onions and since the chives are up and thriving I added some finely chopped chives to give it color. I added salt to taste (a couple of shakes, that's all). I also used a fork to stir which shredded the eggs just right. I bet this would be real good with diced shrimp or diced chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2009

      I have a cold...this soup was perfect for me today...not only is it quick to fix when you arent feeling well but so soothing to eat. I did not add the salt...its not needed..i tempered the egg and added slowly into the boiling soup stirring with a fork...turned out perfectly..thank you for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      To make a larger recipe, I use 3 cans (14.5 oz ea.) of chicken broth, 4 T. water. 2 T. cornstarch, and 2 eggs. I also add a few drops each of sesame oil and soy sauce which gives it that authentic Chinese restaurant taste. Wonton wrappers cut into strips and fried in oil make excellent noodles like the ones you get at the restaurant. Thanks for a great recipe, Darlene. My family loves it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2007

      Ohhh My Word.. Seriously- this is the BEST EGG DROP SOUP EVER!!! I did have to double it to feed my brood, but it was soo yummy! Used 6 cups water w/chicken base, no salt, 2 1/2 tbs cornstarch, 3 eggs and 2 scallions. I also had a lot of chicken left over from Funky Chicken With Sesame Noodles so I diced that up and threw it in there as well.. So Good! Keeper 4 Sure! THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2013

      Added soy sauce, sesame oil, and ginger

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      This is my go-to recipe for egg drop soup! My entire family loves this and it is so quick and easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2013

      Easy and delicious, I left out the salt because the broth was already pretty salty. As it is a recipe that I usually have the stuff on hand, I will keep if there is surprise company or if I need a quick snack.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2012

      This was so good and easy. I didn't use the scallions because I dont care for them. I too added an extra egg, sesame oil and soy sauce. Will definitely make this again

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      Delicious and fast! It was exactly what I was looking for and it was ready right on time. I will make this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      I fixed this the other night and really enjoyed it. I did add some diced shrimp along with it. Yum,Yum!! Will make again,next time I may add veggies and other meat also. Thanks for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I made this without the salt, I think next time I will add it though. Even though I used my usual brand of super tasty chicken broth, this seemed kind of bland. I do like it better than the instant powder-type egg drop soup. That stuff is horrible!! I'm glad I found this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Fast, easy, and good! Sure beats the super salty egg drop soup we had the other day at a restaurant. I swear it took me only minutes to make this. I left out the salt because I try to eat low-sodium and the broth has enough in it already. I will be making this again very soon, especially since I've been feeling flu-like lately. This is so good at times like this (or I could imagine any time as well, such as during this harsh winter we're currently experiencing in MN).

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Drop Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (419 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.9
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    36%
    Total Fat 4.4 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 93.0 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1738.8 mg
    72%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.7 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 10.6 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes