117 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very simple & tasty, my kind of recipe! I used two eggs instead of one, added 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and halved the salt, due to the addition of the soy sauce. I had all the ingredients on hand and will definitely be making this again and again. I also used fat-free chicken broth, which I guess makes it ok that I ate more than half of it in one sitting! lol I'm a soup lover and this is now one of my new favorites! Thanks for posting!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Tulip- February 22, 2004

So easy! Made this last night and it was really good...I added a few drops of sesame oil and soy sauce like some people had suggested, used green onions instead of scallions, and added an extra egg and thin strips of tofu (grated with a cheese grater). Will definitely make again!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Absinthe27 August 03, 2010

Simple and delicious! I ended up not adding the salt and didn't miss it at all. Threw in lots of black pepper and used 2 eggs instead of one. DH and I had a wonderful dinner of shrimp fried rice, egg rolls and your wonderful soup. Thanks for sharing!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanette G April 06, 2004

This was way too salty for the broth I used (Better Than Bouillon) so I would skip the addition of the salt. I also used two eggs based on some comments for this recipe and think that only one egg would have been sufficient.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustInTime March 07, 2013

I made this last night for the family for our special Chinese New Year's Dinner. The reason why I only gave this recipe 3 stars was because I felt it was very plain with the recipe as is and had to doctor it up with low sodium soy sauce, sesame oil, sliced green onion (white and green portion) added during boiling instead of just as a garnish and also used a few more eggs. Recipe came out delicious and everyone liked it with my modifications.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meowmix318 February 11, 2013

I love this recipe. I love egg drop soup but sometimes the things people would put in it at restaurants would make me sad so I would avoid ordering it. Well now I don't ever need to order it again because this recipe is exactly what I'm looking for. I also add a couple drops of soy sauce and sesame oil, a little black pepper, and usually add more egg as well. For convenience sake I also usually use water and chicken bouillon instead of chicken broth.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Smarahcakes November 10, 2011

Fast, easy, and delicious! We didn't have any green onions on hand, so I used about a tablespoon of dried chives instead. This is going in my "keeper" file!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katymae16 March 27, 2011

Easy, economical, and delicous! I left out the salt and dropped a chicken bouillon cube instead for a little more favor. The first time I made it, I stirred the egg in too much, and although the flavor was good, it didn't look very appetitizing.I poured it in slowly the next time, allowing the egg to "sheet". It turned out great, and looked better, too!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
weck50 January 09, 2011

I've never ate egg drop soup before but I thought this was good. Instead of a scallion I just added about 1 TB of chopped onions and since the chives are up and thriving I added some finely chopped chives to give it color. I added salt to taste (a couple of shakes, that's all). I also used a fork to stir which shredded the eggs just right. I bet this would be real good with diced shrimp or diced chicken.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 April 27, 2010

I have a cold...this soup was perfect for me today...not only is it quick to fix when you arent feeling well but so soothing to eat. I did not add the salt...its not needed..i tempered the egg and added slowly into the boiling soup stirring with a fork...turned out perfectly..thank you for posting :)

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jan/NE Ohio October 22, 2009
Egg Drop Soup