49 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found this recipe tasty, but it needs more. So, I tend to refer to this as my base recipe, I added bacon, green pepper, and a yellow onion, as well as broccoli. Also, I made this for a dinner and not as an actual breakfast. You can add practically anything, and it is yummy. I just found the recipe kind of standard, but ADD veggies and other meats, and tailor it to your taste buds.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buddhasgirl1 March 18, 2012

Great! Instead of putting bread in it, I topped mine with a few tater tots and used extra sharp cheese. I also added a bit of diced green chilies. Thanks for posting!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment November 27, 2010

We had this for dinner last night and it sure hit the spot accompanied by some roasted diced potatoes. I used 100% whole wheat bread as I very rarely ever have white bread in the house and it worked perfectly. The ham was deli sliced Black Forest. This came out at 30 mins fully baked, moist and delicious. This is a "make over and over" for sure.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia May 04, 2011

Great stuff! We had this at brunch - I made this into 4 muffins as opposed to baking in a small tin (as I don't have one!) and it worked perfectly! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee January 08, 2012

Deeelicious! I found that one piece of bread was plenty, and used white cheddar and some Chinese sausage in place of the ham - this is a great way to use up those leftovers! This baked up in no time, and we really enjoyed it. I'm looking forward to playing with the ingredients; thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yamakarasu August 31, 2010

Great easy recipe! I've made this twice now and both times have had fabulous results. As other reviewers have mentioned, this recipe is a great base for several different 'add ins' and spice variations. This morning I used cheese bread, added in red peppers, green onions, mushrooms, and garlic and topped it with thin slices of tomato and shredded cheddar cheese.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Crystal* November 21, 2009

Easy and tasty, I added salt & pepper, increased the cheeese to 1/2 cup, and topped it with sliced tomatoes and another sprinkling of shredded cheddar. Plan to sub out some of the cheddar for american cheese next time. Lots you can do to personalize this one! Thanks Lainey!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeeLawson April 13, 2009

Oh, Lainey, you've got SO many wonderful recipes! This is another keeper for sure. I had everything in the bowl and ready to whisk when my son asked if there'd be enough for him, so I ended up doubling the recipe. Also added salt, pepper and a sprinkle of dry mustard like other reviewers. Baked it in a preheated iron skillet and it was done in 22 minutes. Thanks for posting this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DuChick January 19, 2009

Yummy and easy! I will definatly add some extras next time, like dry mustard.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bethie Crocker December 25, 2008

Yum! I used red onion instead of green, added bell peppers and used sausage instead of ham (didn't have any.) Also added a splash of worchestershire sauce and some dry mustard, salt/pepper. This is a great base recipe...you can add anything you want! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lakerdog2 September 16, 2008
Egg Casserole for Two