Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Bread

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2010

      Very good. Will make again. I used the bread machine to mix, knead and bake it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      This was very good. The texture was just perfect. DH asked me to print out this recipe and put it next to the bread machine so he'll always know where it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      I used the cycle dough. Then I punch the dough and let it rest 10 minutes under a bowl. Then I braided it. Let it rise 40 minutes in a slight warm oven with the light on. I removed it from the oven with something on it while the oven preheated to 350 F. I put an egg wash on the bread and baked it 20 minutes. It's so moist and yummy. It's going to be my favorite. Thanks Bertha :) Made for I recommend tag game

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      Hubby loved this bread. I used the bread machine on dough cycle and then some rolls and one small round loaf of bread. YUMMY!! Thanks so much for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      I also used it as rolls instead of bread. Nice tasty bread recipe that can go with any meal. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      I made the dough in the dough cycle of my bread machine and baked the bread in the oven. Very good, great flavor. I will be making this bread again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2009

      Just bought a Sunbeam bread machine this week. I made this bread and the crust was too tough. So I decided to make it again and used the "sandwich" selection on the machine and it turned out perfect. For a bread machine that costs under $55 (WalMart) and it worked this well...I am most impressed. I will start using the "sandwich" selction when I make the breads in the future so they turn out just right. The one thing I made sure to do was to leave the items out and for them to achieve room temperature. Then I used the 1.5 lb size. The bread rose to the top of the pan and looked like a professional bakery made it. The bread was light and not dry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      Very soft!!! It kinda puffed way out of my breadmachine, so getting it out was a pain!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I made this twice in the last week, both times as rolls, and I have to say, both times they turned out absolutely amazing. This deserves at least 5 stars. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2014

      Wow this a soft but substantial bread. Very nice texture & taste. My hubby said "toss all your other bread recipes, this is it!" I made the dough in my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook attachment. My usual method with the mixer mimics a dough cycle in a bread machine. I mix all the ingredients then let rise for 30 min, "knead" with dough hook for 2-3 min, let rise for 60 min & "knead" again with the dough hook. At this point the dough is ready for rolls, loaves or a braid. I made the braid, let it rise another 30 min until it was almost doubled in size and baked it in a 350 oven for 25 min. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2013

      I just started making my own bread a few months ago. I've made some breads in the machine and some breads by hand. Almost all of them had something a little bit wrong with them--some were too dry, some were too dense, some didn't rise, some rose too much and then collapsed. There were a couple of good loaves but no perfect ones.
      This one came out perfectly! I did the whole thing in my bread machine and followed the instructions exactly. It was soft, but not so soft that it fell apart when I tried to butter it. There was no collapsed area on top--it was smooth and round.
      This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2012

      This is a terrific bread, and held together well for our Monte Cristo sandwiches. I don't own a bread machine, so did the recipe the old fashioned way, by hand. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Only 4 out of 5 because I am new to breadmaking and could not find a "kitchenaid" recipe for this...tried incorporating the Kitchenaid white bread recipe steps with this one and it's only my 3rd loaf of bread (my dog ate the last one, basic white bread for kitchenaid). I am going to work on this recipe and post it as a Kitchenaid recipe as I perfect it. I melted the butter, sugar, and only 1/2 cup milk (used 1/2 cup water to proof the yeast I didn't want to add too much liquid. I put the flour in the kitchenaid and added the melted mixture and the yeast and started mixing it with the spiral hook...it was a gooey mess that didn't mix well because it was so wet. I was concerned. Stopped the mixer many times to scrape bottom and sides...not like my flour-y dough that makes a nice ball in my Kitchenaid Pro 6 qt. Ended up hand mixing it in some more, had to let it rise for about 1 hour 15 first time...it didn't make a nice "ball", finally I just threw it in the greased bowl. Once it rose, it was a little better. I formed it into a sort of loaf best I could, placed it in a greased loaf pan and let it rise for another one and half hours. Anyway, the bread came out good, though a little dark on the crust, perhaps I cooked it too long, maybe 25 minutes would be enough. I was convinced this would be awful and almost threw out the dough before I rose it, but figured I'd done all the work, give it a shot. Nicely surprised, my son and husband loved it for sandwiches!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      I have been trying a lot of different breads and this is by far the best I have ever made. It is so easy to make with the bread maker. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      A very good, easy bread. I made it into rolls as Halcyon Eve suggested. Very good. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Such yummy bread! I made the dough on the dough cycle of my bread machine, then punched it down, shaped it into rolls, let them rise about 20 or so minutes, then baked at 350* F for about 18 minutes. They were so soft and warm and had such a good flavor! I think the dough would be perfect for homemade hamburger/hot dog buns, too. Thanks so much for posting, Bertha! Made for My 3 Chefs Fall 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2004

      This bread is great. I used bread flour and it raised so high in the bread machine, I had to cut it horizontally into two loaves. It sliced without crumbling into perfect sandwich bread. Wonderful

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (788 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2150.0
     
    Calories from Fat 474
    22%
    Total Fat 52.6 g
    81%
    Saturated Fat 29.6 g
    148%
    Cholesterol 311.7 mg
    103%
    Sodium 3996.1 mg
    166%
    Total Carbohydrate 358.7 g
    119%
    Dietary Fiber 12.8 g
    51%
    Sugars 57.8 g
    231%
    Protein 57.4 g
    114%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes