17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Very good. Will make again. I used the bread machine to mix, knead and bake it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon January 30, 2010

This was very good. The texture was just perfect. DH asked me to print out this recipe and put it next to the bread machine so he'll always know where it is.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle December 15, 2009

I used the cycle dough. Then I punch the dough and let it rest 10 minutes under a bowl. Then I braided it. Let it rise 40 minutes in a slight warm oven with the light on. I removed it from the oven with something on it while the oven preheated to 350 F. I put an egg wash on the bread and baked it 20 minutes. It's so moist and yummy. It's going to be my favorite. Thanks Bertha :) Made for I recommend tag game

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette November 15, 2009

Hubby loved this bread. I used the bread machine on dough cycle and then some rolls and one small round loaf of bread. YUMMY!! Thanks so much for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom November 09, 2009

I also used it as rolls instead of bread. Nice tasty bread recipe that can go with any meal. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bittersweetened October 12, 2009

I made the dough in the dough cycle of my bread machine and baked the bread in the oven. Very good, great flavor. I will be making this bread again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4-H Mom April 20, 2009

Just bought a Sunbeam bread machine this week. I made this bread and the crust was too tough. So I decided to make it again and used the "sandwich" selection on the machine and it turned out perfect. For a bread machine that costs under $55 (WalMart) and it worked this well...I am most impressed. I will start using the "sandwich" selction when I make the breads in the future so they turn out just right. The one thing I made sure to do was to leave the items out and for them to achieve room temperature. Then I used the 1.5 lb size. The bread rose to the top of the pan and looked like a professional bakery made it. The bread was light and not dry.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
patykayks February 07, 2009

Very soft!!! It kinda puffed way out of my breadmachine, so getting it out was a pain!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 January 08, 2009

I made this twice in the last week, both times as rolls, and I have to say, both times they turned out absolutely amazing. This deserves at least 5 stars. Thank you for this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 07, 2008

Wow this a soft but substantial bread. Very nice texture & taste. My hubby said "toss all your other bread recipes, this is it!" I made the dough in my KitchenAid mixer with the dough hook attachment. My usual method with the mixer mimics a dough cycle in a bread machine. I mix all the ingredients then let rise for 30 min, "knead" with dough hook for 2-3 min, let rise for 60 min & "knead" again with the dough hook. At this point the dough is ready for rolls, loaves or a braid. I made the braid, let it rise another 30 min until it was almost doubled in size and baked it in a 350 oven for 25 min. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muddydog November 16, 2014
Egg Bread