Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Egg Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Egg Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on May 12, 2010

      This is really yummy. So quick and easy and you get your "egg on toast" all in the same pan :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      These are delicious as breakfast (or as an energy booster while studying)! I used olive oil and brushed the entire surface of my pan because my mum doesn't have a non-stick one. Honestly, I was too chicken to flip my bread because I was afraid that the egg would spill, so when the bottom was set I stuck it in my toaster for another minute for the top to cook. I'll be making this for breakfast more often! Thanks:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Never had this before so obviously I have been missing out!! Great and easy, thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      I make this all the time! I've always called it "Egg in a hole." Anyhow, on holidays, I use cookie cutters to make fun shapes. I made Christmas trees this past Christmas, and they were so cute!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      I had this recipe for the first time when I lived overseas in the Ukraine. We used really thick bread and rubbed it with a piece of garlic before putting it in the pan. Delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      This was good but it needed some seasonings. I added salt and pepper and they were even better. Thanks for the recipe Chef Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2008

      We call these Bird Nests! Our family has made them for years and love them for breakfast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2008

      I thought this was amazing and simple! Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      we love this recipe and do it offten (my fav is the toasted bread round from the middle) but i love both parts

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2007

      I love this! I just used a regular piece of white bread and it worked great! I scrambled mine a bit in the middle. It flipped great and tasted wonderful. Thanks, I will be making this again for sure. What a neat presentation too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      I love this. My boys love this. Its a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2007

      I make these all the time when I am in a hurry for something quick for breakfast. Even when I haven't gone to the grocery store I always have at least some eggs and bread! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2007

      Grew up eating this dish, only Mom fried it in bacon grease. This is much healthier and even though I had to make it myself it was very good. Thanks for the memories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2006

      I liked it. For anyone who likes toast and fried eggs, this version is a little more fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2006

      Toad in the hole it was called for all of us!. You don't need to cut a hole in the bread, if the bread is fresh, just use your knife after it is buttered on the one side and push the bread to two sides, then drop the egg, in the hole. I put the buttered side down in the pan, drop the egg in and then butter the sides. Then it is ready to flip when you want. Kids love to do this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      Excellent recipe. My son made this as his first cooking experience with his Pappa (my Dad). We have always called it Eggs with a Hat because when my father would serve it to us, he would put the little circle on top of the egg yolk. We also butter the bread on one side before we put it in the pan. Glad to see this is posted! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2005

      Will try this soon....a recipe my dh always made for his turn to cook dinner when he was younger....known to us as "one eyed jacks"! :) Fun! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      I had forgotten how good this is. I always called it Toad in a Hole.. I used a Portuguese bun and served it with mixed peppers, potatoes & mushrooms with a bit of Mexican Chorizo on the side . Thanks Chef Kathy for bringing back memories and a darn good brunch

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Breads Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Egg Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 173.7
     
    Calories from Fat 86
    49%
    Total Fat 9.5 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 211.5 mg
    70%
    Sodium 284.5 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 8.2 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes