8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A wonderful Aussie twist on an old favorite grew up eating soft boiled eggs with buttered soldiers and thoroughly enjoyed the Aussie twist of using Vegemite. Thanks for the post

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl December 11, 2011

Ok,ok I have to hold my hands up and admit that I used Marmite ....but I am a Pom and despite transplanting myself to this wonderful country they call Australia,and embracing everything it has to offer, I can't quite get to grips with Vegemite. Having said that, I thoroughly enjoyed dunking my little Marmite soldiers into beautifully soft boiled yolks, and only wish that I had encountered this years ago!! Please forgive me Tisme!! Made for Oz/NZ Recipe Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Noo June 04, 2010

I grew up with marmite soldiers Tis darlink, but we will pass that by for now! Made with your kind gift of vegemite and 7 cereal bread. A great and classic brekkie for a marmite lover and now a vegemite lover! Malcolm was envious of my little soldiers and insisted I made him some.......being a bit of a Germaine Greer, (not really!) I told him to make his own! He gave them a big thumbs up too! Made for the recipe swap in the Oz/NZ forum and the Home Style cooking event in Photos. Merci, FS :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
French Tart May 14, 2010

Yum! I like my little soldiers with eggs and the Vegemite was a nice variation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peter J January 20, 2009

Glad to have found this as I was looking for some recipes on what to do with vegemite. These soldiers went well with the eggs and would really prefer it with than without. I also like the presentation. Thanks, Tisme! Made for Recipe Swap #20

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma September 13, 2008

I made this for my toddler DD who doesn't usually eat eggs, we have 4 happy chooks who lay lovely fresh eggs for us so this can sometimes be quite frustrating. I showed little miss what to do & she happily dipped her soldiers in the googy and low & behold, ATE THEM!!!!! Thanks Tisme for a great way to get miss DD to eat her eggs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** January 10, 2008

This bought back child hood memories and I loved it then and love it even more now. Also partial to a fried egg on top of the vegemite toast or an hard fried egg between two slices of toast. Thank you Tisme. Made for Edition 3 - Make My Recipe - a game of tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat December 29, 2007

who knew vegemite and eggs went so well never thougt to put them together. fantastic. I will be making this again. thanks tisme made for Edition 3: MAKE MY RECIPE—a game of tag!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sonya01 December 23, 2007
Egg and Vegemite Soldiers