11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Definitely delicious! Love everything that comes in bundles-ramekins, packets, muffin tins, not just grandbabies.:) I appreciate working with a versatile recipe that also frees me up so I can go do something else! I spread the butter on the outer side of the bread and forgot to grease the pan so am lucky I did it that way. I did roll out the bread, used Swiss cheese, fresh tarragon, and some paprika. Baked ours for 30 minutes at 325 degrees farenheit and moved it to top shelf in oven after first 17 minutes, and then broiled for another 3 minutes. I waited a few minutes before unmolding it. Thank you Tisme for posting. Made for Edition 8-Make My Recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WiGal July 29, 2009

I really liked this, but DH didn't care for the "runny" eggs. I think is is a definite repeat for me - maybe I'll make them again for a brunch I will be heading to on Friday. Thanks for posting! Made for I Recommend Tag Game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom February 27, 2010

So simple, with only a few easy ingredients needed! This is great! I also like that it would be easy to add different toppings for different people, as other reviewers have indicated. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews February 13, 2010

Originally rated on 10/3/09 - This recipe made it into my book#266453. We LOVED these egg and bacon tarts. I had decided to do a breakfast for dinner night and served these. They were a HUGE hit. I used regular muffin tins, 3 T. butter and heated my oven to 350 degrees. I used 100% whole grain bread, crusts cut off. The brushing of butter on the bread is key - don't skip that part. The flavor and texture it adds is mouth-watering. It's hard to explain, you'll just need to try it for yourself! These tarts were surprisingly filling. Notes for next time: I am going to crisp my bacon beforhand, then sprinkle them on during the last 5 minutes or so. (I like super crispy bacon.) Thank you for a keeper of a recipe. My daughter is already asking when I'll be making these again. I'd say today! ~Made for Oct. Aussie/NZ Swap~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood December 31, 2009

Everyone is right - these are quick and delicious. I used regular sized muffin tins and sprayed them with olive oil spray so left out the butter and used the last of the Xmas ham diced up instead of bacon. Great result all round.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew December 30, 2009

The DM and I have just thoroughly enjoyed 2 of these each for breakfast. Quick and simple to make and delicious. I baked mine at 175C fan forced at 15 minutes the yolks were still slightly runny at 20 they were cooked to perfection. Thank you Tisme, made for Edition 7 - Make My Recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat April 15, 2009

We enjoyed these for lunch today. I made as directed but left out the parsley because I was out. I did add salt and pepper to top. I baked mine 25 minutes and it was still a little runny but we like ours like that. Made for Ausie Swap 25. Thanks Tisme for a recipe we will have again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
happynana February 02, 2009

We loved these. So easy to put together. I precooked the bacon some because we like our eggs a little on the runny side and I wanted to make sure the bacon was cooked. I used my big muffin pan for this since I don't know what a deep patty pan is. Just an excellent recipe. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ January 01, 2008

So very easy to make:) I will make these often. I made them in my texas size muffin pans after rolling the bread to make a larger slice. Yummy :) A keeper for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T October 07, 2007

Outrageously delicious and so easy to eat with your hand! Mine turned out exactly like Caroline Cook's photo, too! I used 9 grain bread, ready cooked bacon, cheddar cheese. I cooked in an invid. mini springform pan. Thanks Tisme, for posting a new favorite! Update: I've made this many times now and have even put it in my daughter's lunch bag. Tip: if your bread doesn't fit exact in the pan, just tear off a bit of extra bread to prop it up (to prevent egg from leaking). Roxygirl

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Roxygirl in Colorado September 07, 2007
Egg and Bacon Tarts