15 Reviews

My son has early morning band practices a couple of times per week and he needed something quick to grab and run out the door. These were a huge hit with him. The first time I made them as directed. The second time I added a little finely chopped polish sausage and shredded cheese in the bottom and topped with uncooked scrambled eggs. Six scrambled eggs fit perfectly into 12 muffin tins. Either way these were a great on the go breakfast. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada January 10, 2007

I brought these for a weekend away at a car show. They were a hit, easy to make and you can add your own variations. I scrambled the eggs and then put them in the bread cups. The kids loved them!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang September 24, 2005

I was going to give this 4 stars but have made them twice since then. The second time using green chilies and onions, and the third time I omitted the bacon and used cheese, tomatoes and olives. All three were great. The best thing is you can make several different ones all at one time. Thanks for a great idea and recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Liara August 30, 2005

I loved these--great way to eat bacon, eggs, and toast in a convenient hand-held form. They will be so handy to make ahead for quick breakfasts. I cooked mine 25 minutes as I wanted to make sure the egg was not runny at all. They came out exactly like I wanted and firm enough to eat as a finger food. I used precooked bacon and whole wheat sandwich bread, and I think they would also be good with chopped scallions on top, maybe even some cheese. But they're great just as they are! Thanks for posting the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GaylaJ August 05, 2005

I have made these several time and everyone loves them. I like them because they are so easy to make. Thanks for sharing

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. January 13, 2011

These were great and I plan on making more to keep in the fridge for those hectic mornings. I did change a few things... I used butter spray in the tins, instead of buttering the bread. I also added a bit of shredded cheddar and instead of bacon used some ham. I also didn't have any parsley (as it tends to drive me crazy) so I left that off. Mine took about 25 minutes to cook up. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!! The kids also loved helping out with these!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
C. Taylor January 14, 2008

A hit with everyone.I made them exactly as stated and added a little chesse for 10 minutes at the end of cooking time, and they were universally loved.They travelled well and were just great warm, and then cold the next day! Will be making this again.Thanks yummies

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AussieShay January 05, 2008

Very easy and my husband loved them! Mine also didn't look quite as neat, but I was using a whole grain bread, so it's less "mushy" shall we say. My husband's only complaint was that he likes the yolk runny and I cooked it all the way! The students he was giving lessons to stayed late and started making hints about how hugnry they were when they smelled what was cooking.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laugh2survive November 15, 2007

Mine didn't look nearly so tidy as the ones in the picture, but made these tonight for a snack for DH at work and (as I couldn't resist trying one) they were fantastic! So easy to make, so simple and SO tasty and different! Using the bread as a base really made the bread so tasty - especially considering I used pretty stale stuff! An excellent recipe and a definite keeper. Now lets hope DH likes them as much as I do...!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob March 26, 2007

Really easy to make and a great quick snack meal in itself. I believe that this recipe also lends itself to many possibilities. I followed the recipe exactly as written this time but will try next time with maybe some chopped onion or spring onions and maybe some chopped tomatoes with some freshly ground black pepper & salt to vary the flavour. Thanks for posting this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T August 06, 2005
Egg and Bacon Tarts