60 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night for an event. It was a HUGE success. Every bite was eaten. Thank you!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly H October 22, 2002

This was the most wonderful chocolate chile I have ever tasted. It moved my taste buds to heights of orgasm!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bobbie h February 24, 2002

I make this often for football parties. It's always a hit! I leave out the sweet and sour sauce and I add chili beans (I like 'em, darn it!). My hubby has requested this for our New Years Eve party. What a great flavor to start the new year with. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charity C December 31, 2009

Brought this to our neighbor's for 4th of July and it was a hit! I bought indidual Frito bags and had everyone laddle some chili right in the bag. Great way to have easy clean up. Can't wait to have it again!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReneeT September 23, 2009

This chili was...interesting. I was willing to try it as I recently had an enchilada sauce that had coco and chili powder in it and it turned out delicious. With all the rave reviews I was hopeful. But this actually upset our stomachs a bit. I made it exactly to the recipe's instructions, with only a few minor changes in the chili spice mix (a little less of this and that). I tasted it before we put the spice mix in and it was actually decent tasting, but the coco killed it. Even my chocoholic brother wasn't crazy about this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnoyingRooster March 06, 2011

I've made this recipe for the past few years, and it is always a hit! A lot of my friends don't like the chilis with beans and this is a great alternative. I have made with the soy crumbles as well and the flavorful sauces transfers very well...but it's definitely better with the meat =) A staple for my family - I even passed it along to a new bride (with all due credit!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
solonomac February 07, 2010

I didn't love this. There was just too much going on for my taste, I will probably take elements from the recipe, though, such as the sweet & sour mix and use them in a more basic chili recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandave November 02, 2009

I love this recipe! It is genius!!! My whole family has tried this and rated it a great!!! Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loraloorice October 14, 2009

With all the great reviews, I was really expecting something amazing and it just didn't fo it for me.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fat Doggin' September 29, 2009

I just asked my husband what he would rate this recipe and he said: "Very, very good!" The friends we hosted tonight concurred. What a wonderful blend of ... everything. Next time I will use the two jalapenos as directed (only used one this time for fear it would be too spicy) and keep everything else. Made my own sweet-and-sour mix with equal parts water, sugar, lime and lemon. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful and I'm off for a second bowl!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison Landa August 19, 2009
Ed's Chicago Cocoa Chili